We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
Ranked #60 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed May 31, 2009

tre vecchi lacks real charm or character ( lots of romanesque statues and long corridors lined with mirrors where you are half expecting to come across a boy riding a bike) and i would be hard-pushed to write anything particularly exciting about the place but, that said, would have no qualms going back there again or recommending it. rooms a decent size, clean and very quiet (even though we were on the main road) and expectations met with regards hotel freebies. yes, not much to get worked up about but then nothing to moan about either.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massiRovereto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 714 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed here for three nights during Easter. Our room was small and quite worn, and the bed was too hard for a comfortable night's sleep. The bathroom was very small and not exactly practical. The breakfast buffet was good and varied. The staff were professional, but not being especially friendly. The best thing with this hotel is the position. Centrally positioned on the main shopping street, all attractions in the old city are within walking distance. If you do not want to walk, there is a taxi stop in front of the hotel. All in all a very average hotel, not really deserving four stars. And overpriced as well.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Quite bizarre - we'd booked into Il Canale based on some fairly good reviews on here and paid £300 for two nights; quite expensive we thought, but it looked a good place and people made some good comments on it.

We arrived by taxi around 11pm and someone from the hotel walked out to meet us with our names highlighted on a piece of paper. He said to the taxi driver "Tre Vecchi, Tre Vecchi" and the taxi driver gestured to us to get back in. There was no explanation as to what was going on.

We arrived at Tre Vecchi (just around the corner) and checked in not hugely sure why we had moved, but its clear that the hotel is owned with others under the same group so Il Canale must have been over-booked.

As Tre Vecchi was a 4 star, we hoped that we'd been "bumped up", but the hotel really wasn't that special. Room was OK, if pretty dated and the en-suite was tiny with a shower that didn't drain properly. The A/C was pretty ineffective, but not awful. The windows had enormous shutters over (seems normal in Bologna, if not more of Italy), which were reluctant to stay up so the room was very dark and without a proper view.

Breakfast was pretty good, and the reception staff were actually pretty helpful when we wanted to change a car hire booking by calling the firm for us and discussing on our behalf.

Overall I'd say we were fairly happy - but not wowed. I would have liked an explanation as to the move, not a magical mystery ride in the taxi & I would have prefered to stay in the hotel I'd actually booked which is rated considerably higher than Tre Vecchi on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123brad-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Fair location in Bologna, on the road in from the railway station. But the hotel seemed a bit run down, and our room was small, and with a tiny shower. There was no internet service. Breakfast was very crowded (the hotel seemed to be full) but the buffet was fairly good.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Te Vecchi is located in a wonderful part of old town Bologna, and is a perfect location for seeing the old sights, churches, shopping, and restaurants. However do not expect anything above average from the hotel.
It may be that the front desk just does not like anyone who cannot speak Italian, but they are a most unfriendly group. They answer questions in a most perfunctory way and do all they can to tell you you are bothering them without telling you.
The rooms are on the small side. We had a deluxe room, which was still very small. No view at all, but quiet. The room was clean and well kept. No laundry bag ever appeared, after many requests. But we used an old Hilton one, and somehow the front desk managed to get the laundry done.
Breakfast is very basic, served in the cellar. It is a bit on the claustrophobic side but tolerable.
Wifi was ok.
Parking was difficult, as we parked in a municipal lot around the corner. The real problem is finding the way to the hotel. Warning to all, the navigation system takes you through some very narrow alleys and at times confuses you and one wrong turn and you are 3 km. away. You think it is easy to find but it is very hard unless you are a taxi and can make uturns.
There are better places to stay, but for the price this is ok. And it puts you down in the middle of gorgeous Bologna the moment you step out the front door.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I have just returned from an Italian holiday which was ruined by my stay at the Hotel Tre Vecchi. The horrible experience began when my family and I were kept waiting and standing at the Reception Desk for 25 minutes whilst another person was trying to resolve a mistake with their reservation. Having patiently waited to be served, my bag was stolen as soon as I put it down right beside me at the Reception desk having pulled out my passport to provide check in details. This all happenend in full view of staff standing around who hadn't offered to help us with our bags, or in full view of security cameras in this 4 star hotel! There was no manager on site who could assist us. Other clients staying at the hotel walked past and stopped to comment they were sure their bags had been opened. The staff were extremely unhelpful in an emergency when my bag, phone, wallet, camera had been stolen at their Reception desk! I was told that no manager was onsite to speak to. Under no circumstances would I ever recommend you stay at this hotel that should definitely hold its 4 stars. Bologna is a beatuiful place, just don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bk260977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I did not personaly stayed there. A friend was unfortunately booked there.
I visited the room they wanted to give him first, wich he refused, and the one he finaly accepted.
The Hotel itself is very old and poorly censervated after you pass the lobby. The ceiling and walls of the stairway could use a remodeling and paint job.
The first room presented looked something like an ovesised broom closet, smeling like it had been closed moisty for centuaries. Basic old and spent furniture. Ceiling matching the stairway. very small TV available high up on the closet top.
After refusing this one, my friend took a similar, sized and furnitured room that did not smell.
The rest of the hotel was OK, good breakfeast.
What amazes me is that it is rated a 4 star hotel recomended on the michlin guide (our so they say), and was recomended after a previous visit by the congress organization commitee.
For the same price you can do a lot better. Try the mercure or the Europa near the train station.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinatavira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Internazionale
#28 of 102 in Bologna
963 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#14 of 102 in Bologna
772 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
Hotel Europa
#55 of 102 in Bologna
551 reviews
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanhotel Tre Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanhotel Tre Vecchi

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 47, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $98 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanhotel Tre Vecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zanhotel Tre Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Vecchi Hotel
Tre Vecchi Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing