We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel was ok. The location was good. The interior could do with updating. Main issues were no free internet access after 1 hour (and even the paid internet had very low signal in my room meaning it took ages to do anything, including taking 3 attempts and 15 minutes to post this review! Frustrating). There was also no room service available, according to the receptionist, even though in the hotel guide there is a (albeit very restricted) menu. There is no gym either. The room was also quite small.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillyecl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 705 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

As I put three stars, I was quite generous to this hotel, maybe because I stay there often during my business trips. The best is its location right in the heart of all Bologna´s arcades in centre. And I also like the style of this hotel the typical italian look. The rooms are allright although the hotel definitely needs a renovation. Also the breakfest offers a satysfying choice. But I must say that what is really poor about this hotel is the service provided by the staff. During the breakfest you can´t find clean plates, nobody´s on the bar if you wish to take something to drink in the hotel and they should care more about the hotel in general. Eg a very inconvenient problem was that the lock from my room didn´t work, I had problems everytime when I wanted to open the room and as I saw I wasn´t the only one in the hotel because my neighour had the same problem to open the door from his room with the card.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had previously stayed at the Regina next door, but wanted to try a four star in the Zanhotel chain. BIG MISTAKE. Although the Tre Vecchi is a four star hotel, the experience was not up to the level you would expect. We had to change rooms three times before we could get the accommodations we had requested. Because of the time of the year (autumn), the air conditioning was turned off and the heat was on, so the only way to keep cool on 70 degrees days was to open your window. If you were on the main street side, there was noise 24 hours a day. The internet connection was weak and spotty, you had to renew every hour. The hotel was in need of some repairs, but it looked as if those repairs would take place next year. Parking was 20 euro per day, but that was not in/out; if you went somewhere during the day, you paid for each in/out. The breakfast menu was somewhat limited compared to other hotels I have stayed in over the past few years in the same area. When I return, I will not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't go in autumn. Noisy rooms if you have to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Except for the location on the Main Street and walking distance to the train station and there is not much value in staying here. Rather the adjacent sister hotels are cheaper
Not much variety in breakfast either
Rooms are small but ok.
Not recommended to spend the same amount elsewhere for more value in return

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Besanc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had been staying in this hotel for the 2nd time. Main reason for selecting this hotel was its central position and the fact that through Internet I found quite a good deal. My single room was small and probably needed renovation however both the bed and the bathroom reasonably confortable. Since I spent only the one night the quality of the room was not essential. Be aware that rooms facing "piazza 8 agosto" may be noisy at night particularly during the week-ends. Breakfast is not particularly rich however you can ask for a coffee or a cappucino at the counter (included). Wifi worked well in my room however apparently only 1 hour per day is allowed. It is not very clear how to disconnect in case you wish to use your hour not in a single shot, however at the front desk I was told that in case I could get another hour for free( this was not my case anyway). Last note about the parking (if you come by car). The underground parking piazza 8 agosto is very close however it is expensive and tends to be completely full on week-end. I normally choose parking "via Riva Reno: it is still at a reasonably walking distance but is much less crowded and much cheaper

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank maury001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I booked 2 single rooms online (there was no other rooms available) for a 2 night stay at a horrific cost of €246 per night per person. Given that it claimed to be a 4 star hotel (I always stay at 4 stars) I thought it would be of an exceptional standard given the tariff. On arrival we were greeted by an unfriendly receptionist who just checked us in and issued the keys and said nothing else. One would expect at least a few directions, perhaps to your room!!! And perhaps about breakfast etc but no, nothing. We found our rooms and were horrified to find damp walls with stains, unsightly hairs in the bathroom, dated decor with mismatched furniture, extremely basic standard, minimal towels, nothing to put on the floor after a shower, and a tea towel for the face. Having always stayed in a minimum rating of 4 star hotels including Bologna, this was beyond acceptable. We went down to complain and were told no other rooms were available until perhaps the next day and the receptionist kept avoiding my comments about the room and continued to say " but you booked a single room" yes, but not one that is if a 2 stat standard. We were told to enquire the next day. The following day I reminded them for a change of our rooms and that I was not happy paying €500 for the 2 single rooms and that I wanted them to address it with the manager whom incidentally was never available. When we returned to the hotel that evening we had new rooms which were doubles but if the same standard, and I reminded the receptionist that when I come to check out the next morning I did not want confusion at the desk about the fees for the single rooms because they were of a very low standard with a 4-5 star price tag. The receptionist assured me that he would address it with the manager. Sure enough the next morning upon check out I was asked to pay the tax fees and I kept asking to see the total to which the receptionist would yes, I will give you the total but there is a fee to pay for the tax. I paid this and he then presented me with the bill. The bill was unchanged and when I questioned it he simply said " you booked online, the fee was already paid , we can't do anything about it" absolute robbery, dishonest, no care for customer compliant and rude. Being a regular traveller booking online or not, money is taken out upon your check out and not before. Having complained again he got his colleague to come whom just said " well , they booked single rooms" i asked him " who rated this hotel 4 star"? and he said " i don't know" !!!completely ignorant, unfriendly and in denial about the points I had made. I left the hotel disgusted and asked for the managers name to whom I will write to but first I thought a trip advisor honest & truthful comment was well deserved to stop others from visiting this hotel. If you are a regular traveller and are used to 4 star standards AVOID this hotel. There is nothing about it other than location but then there are plenty other great hotels in the same and better location. I paid €1000 for a 2 night stay I should not have paid more than half this. Never again and to the Manager Mr Tinarelli who never came to speak to me and ignored my complaints, I will be writing to you soon as you did not address the issues.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonHighstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stay 5 nights at Tre Vecchi in Bologna - wonderfully located to enjoy a great 'walking' city. Staff and very helpful and friendly. Décor is gorgeous, breakfasts are good. In all can highly recommend this boutique hotel for his location and ambience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 102 in Bologna
953 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,464 reviews
Hotel Europa
#55 of 102 in Bologna
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 102 in Bologna
766 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,565 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanhotel Tre Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanhotel Tre Vecchi

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 47, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $102 - $509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanhotel Tre Vecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanhotel Tre Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Vecchi Hotel
Tre Vecchi Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing