We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION ONLY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
Ranked #59 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights to attend a Fair. The only good thing about this hotel is the location, that cannot be better; close to city centre, high street shops and a short ride to the Fair too. Bathroom very small and with very ordinary toiletries, not the usual ones you find in all 4 star hotels around the world. TV has BBC but the Internet was free for just 1 hour each day. I really do not recommend this hotel if not for its position

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ItalyFrancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Zanhotel Tre Vecchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 694 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights in the Tre Vecchi, Bologna. Lovely location - between the station and the Place Maggiore. Air con, decent breakfast, clean room. Bathroom small but smart and clean (no bath, just shower - this was the 'standard' room). Maid failed to replenish loo paper, soaps etc and we had to go off in search of some. TV has CNN and BBC News but no other English channels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a city centre hotel that ticks most of the boxes. The staff are very helpful, if sometimes a little surprised by the eccentricities of the British traveller, whilst the hotel is perfectly situated on the via dell'Indepenza and just a short walk from the main square. The theme of the hotel is a little strange - sort of Art Decour - and not quite getting there, but the rooms are clean with linen changed daily and the breakfast is more than adequate.

The only downside is that some of the rooms need some tlc and the single rooms are generally dingy and small, but if you are in Bologna to see the sights and not stay in bed all day this hotel really is a good choice.

The hotel boasts two lifts but both are very small - holding either 4 medium sized people or 1 big person with suitcase so be prepared for a longish wait at busy times.

Room Tip: Dont worry about having a room on the front - it is very quiet at night usually.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geebee9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We found this to be a comfortable and convenient hotel on the main street half way between the station and the City Centre. We spent three nights there and would use it again. we were at the front of the hotel which meant there was a bit of street noise but room had good air con. We found breakfast ok and staff were pretty friendly. I tend to agree that by UK expectations this is probably 3 star. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a wonderful location and a stunning city , but for the life of me I dont understand the stars system, that said if this hotel claims to be a 4 star then i wonder if they can explain the following .
1. Unable to cope with breakfast , the only hot option was pretty much always cold and was never anything left after 9am
2.The absence of plates spoons etc at breakfast
3.Staff outside the front of the hotel smoking
4Cleaners leaving rubbish bags and vaccum cleaners blocking the corridors so the guest have to basically climb over them,
5 The mini bar not being re stocked.

Now I know this sounds picky and Id usually over look this but the claim of being a 4 star hotel is a big one and as I mentioned earlier this is a good a clean hotel in a fantasic location.

On the plus side

1 asked for a quiet room and got one ( no sound proofing could hear conversations in next room )
2 very helpful front desk staff
3 clean with good air con
4 room safe

All in all we got a great deal from a well know web site so didnt mind the negatives, that said though I would have been mighty cheesed off if Id paid full price for a stay in a 4 star that isnt .
The city is beautiful and there are lots of things to see and do

Room Tip: theer is no sound proofing so it wont matter , the rooms at the back wont get traffic noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After arriving in Bologna without accomodation, I stayed here for one night during ferr'agosto, when the city was largely deserted. I paid 50 euro for a single with breakfast, which seemed pretty normal for this period. The room was spazious, comfortable, with a clean bathroom however, I did view several rooms before selecting this one, as the others smelled of smoked and seemed much older. The TV also had a range of channels however, the hotel states that you must pay if you use the internet for more than 1 hour. Unlike the other reviewers, I had no issues accessing it in my room.

I missed breakfast in the morning however, the breakfast room seemed fine and my understanding was that the had a buffet breakfast. Staff also seemed curteous and would no doubt assist if you needed help. The male staff member in the morning had a particularily good sense of humour. Prehaps I had a newer room than some of the other viewers, as I found this hotel comfortable, although given the limited internet, probably wouldn't stay if the price was any higher.

All in all, although I would prefer a more 'cultured B&B' to a hotel, I had a comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Average hotel right at Via de la Indiependenza, 3 blocks fro Piazza Majore. Renovated rooms, small, TV only in Italian and FORGET Internet access, regardless of the one hour a day free or paid... Actuality I don't understand European stinginess over Internet acces..... Breakfast is under the average, definitely ... Look around, you will get better for the same price but it's not unbearable.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Paul_Smith_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 102 in Bologna
927 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,440 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 102 in Bologna
470 reviews
San Vitale
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Porto
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#84 of 102 in Bologna
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanhotel Tre Vecchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanhotel Tre Vecchi

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 47, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $116 - $704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zanhotel Tre Vecchi 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Zanhotel Tre Vecchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre Vecchi Hotel
Tre Vecchi Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing