We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel but too small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but too small rooms”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Nuovo Hotel Del Porto during 5 nights. Bologna is a good strategic point for travelling around Emilia-Romagna. We made one-day-trips to Ferrara, Rimini and Brisighella. Nuovo Hotel Del Porto is situated not far from the train station (only 10 minutes by foot), but also near the old town center (5-10 minutes by foot). If you need to buy some food there is a very good supermarket COOP near the hotel. Area around the hotel isn’t dangerous, but in general you should be alert as in other big cities. Nuovo Hotel Del Porto is a very nice, not small and I even can say that it's a business hotel. 24-hour reception, free Wi-Fi and laptop in the hall with leather sofas, very good breakfast (not only yogurts, cheese, ham, but also fresh fruits and a lot of different cakes and sweets). Staff is helpful and friendly, always ready to give you any advices or simply to talk. We were a little bit disappointed in our room: it was dark (without enough electric light in the evening) and small (but with a huge bed which took all space of the room). Although the bathroom was enough spacious. Anyway everything was clean and almost comfortable. And the breakfast room was also small for this big hotel, sometimes we have to eat breakfast in the reception hall. In the end I should say that I liked this place and I can recommend it to other travelers.

Room Tip: Ask about not too small room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaSPb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    423
    203
    41
    12
See reviews for
125
361
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked a "superior double" room and was given a studio apartment in a building next to the actual hotel building. It was huge by European hotel standards, and clean. The breakfast was very good, and the staff were very kind and friendly. When I lost my luggage key the manager walked with me several blocks to a locksmith to have the problem resolved.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
695 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I suppose this hotel to be a great choice for the cost-conscious but loving comfort tourist. It is located just in between the Central station and the sights of the historical Center (not more than then 10 minutes walk both directions). Main shopping street via dell'Independenza is very close as well as one of few in number budget places to eat in Bologna (self-service C'entro). You can also find a supermarket in the immediate vicinity.
Rooms are pretty cramped, but it's not a problem if you are not going to spend much time there. We liked the hotel's staff (they speak English well), and didn't like the tasteless breakfast at all.
Remember the rather late check-in hour (3 p.m.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good start !. We found a deal so only paid £36 per night for a double ensuite room with breakfast. Hotel is easy to find being only 5 minutes walk from main shopping roads and 10 mins from Piazza Maggioire. Staff excellent with good english if your italian isn't so good. Breakfast was help yourself so no need to go hungry with plenty of cold choices.
Some of you may find the rooms a bit small, but ours had a king sized double bed. Although the decor is starting to show evidence of wear and tear, this hotel is good value for money in Bologna.

Room Tip: The hotel and surrounding area is quiet and higher floors will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were very happy staying at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious for European standards and clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was pleasant and the breakfast was nice. They do have a tiny lift. The location was good for us- quite close to the train station and the historic area. The bathroom was sufficient for our needs.

Room Tip: We were given a room with a balcony which was a nice bonus. It's on a noisy street but they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nani54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay for four nights at this Hotel and were offered the Apartment, a very short walk from the Hotel.
The Apartment was very spacious and comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome by everyone at the Hotel.
The breakfast was also excellent and plentiful and once again all the staff were more than helpful.
We returned for a single night the following week and stayed in the Hotel, this again was very pleasant and the added bonus of Free Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel and Appt. was an excellent added extra.
I would recommend the Hotel to anyone for Business or pleasure..and Bologna is wonderful !

Room Tip: If you can get the Apartments you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a vert effective, no thrills hotel. I can't speak for the bedrooms in the main building but our bedroom in the annexe was spacious and spotless with a very comfortable bed. It was about 30metres round the corner so whilst thi sis ok in fine weather I can imagine you wouldn't be best pleased having to walk to the hotel for breakfast through wind and rain!

Having said that, the reception area was clean and tidy and staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was small but tables cleared promptly as and when peole finished. Breakfast itself was perfectably acceptable without being anythig special.

The good thing about the hotel was secure on site parking easily accessible without having to drive too far into the old centre and at a reasonable rate of €12 overnight (as an indication, parking in the street nearby was €0.80 an hour) - and they were quite happy with us leaving the car for a few hours after checking out to enable us to continue exploring for a little longer.

To stroll to Piazza Maggiore takes about 10 - 15mins direct but Bologna is a nice enough city that you're better off meandering in that general direction and seeing what happens!

All in all a very acceptable, reasonably priced hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#19 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#32 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nuovo Hotel del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuovo Hotel del Porto

Property: Nuovo Hotel del Porto
Address: Via del Porto 6, 40122 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nuovo Hotel del Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nuovo Hotel del Porto is in the center of Bologna near the train station. It's the ideal hotel to stay when you plan a trip in major Italian cities of central and northern. The hotel has a large enclosed parking in front of the building. You can reach the center and Piazza Maggiore easily in a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nuovo Hotel del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing