We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Building”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This place is located on a tiny street inside the city circle, so it's a great location but can be touch to find. The room was very spacious and the bathroom was really nice! Id stay here again but make sure your ac is working properly. It's a wonderful old building- but with that comes some maintainance. No big deal. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina-G78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    265
    71
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
205
85
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Close to train station, not a lot of space in the room. Plan on getting breakfast somewhere else, and they will give you an ethernet cable to connect to the wall for internet, no wifi. Thin walls as we heard too much of the neighbors activities one night.
We stayed here for 2 nights, but only because we went to Venice for one of the days. In my opinion one day is plenty to see Bologna. There is a little family run pizza shop, Pizza Cose, across the street that we ordered from and brought back to he room. They were very kind and it was good. Also dined at Trattoria del Rosso on Via Augusto Righi 30 that we enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etejoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Very clean hotel and good value. My room had a slightly odd layout with the bed up steps from the door area but not a problem. The breakfast was good with fruit offered as well as bread,croissants. The only problem is that the breakfast room does not have many tables and is not large so if you came down when a lot of other guests did you might have to wait for a table. The staff on reception were very friendly and took a lot of trouble answering questions and giving directions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbjme19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is fine if breakfast is not important to you. The rooms are adequate and clean and the location is good (less than ten minutes' walk from train station and then about ten minutes up to Piazza Maggiore).

'Breakfast' is comprised of stale-looking pastries (I'm pretty sure the ones that aren't eaten are put out again the next morning), a few slices of bread, some Nutella and preserves, some water, some sickly-sweet juices, awful coffee, and a limited supply of yogurts. (One good thing are the selection of teas). There was not even any fresh fruit put out unless you asked for it and then a big deal is made.

One could say, well, you get what you pay for, but, you don't in this case. The place isn't cheap at about €65 a night (I stayed at Hotel Nuovo Del Porto for one night-- a 3 star around the corner--the same week for €42 and had a bigger room and a solid breakfast that included scrambled eggs, toast, coffee, and... fruit)!

Go elsewhere if possible.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed two nights at this comfortable, clean and reasonably priced hotel. Easy walk to train station and to Piazza Maggiore. No wifi but there is internet access from the hotel's computer and ethernet access in the rooms via a cable that can be borrowed from reception. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The Argentinian receptionist (who is studying to become a tenor) made great recommendations for local restaurants and we felt very welcome. Great coffee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights in mid-April. It is a good hotel at a convenient location (about 10 minutes’ walk from the train station). The room was clean and adequate. The price was reasonable (60 euros/night average). The free in-room internet was good and reliable.

I was not completely happy with my stay, though. I stayed in room 122 and the room is on two levels, the bed is on the upper level and the bathroom the lower. The two levels are joined by a staircase. I am not particularly fond of climbing stairs and they were my major complaint. I asked for another room but was told that there was not a room left the first night (I have no idea if it was true or just their usual tactic). I did not want to repack to move to another room on the second day so I did not pursue it. I think some people might find the room attractive as it was quite nice (quiet, clean). But not me. I had to plan how to do things in the room so as to reduce going up and down the stairs. And there were no clothes hooks in the room at all so there was no way to hang your towels or jacket. If I had another room I might find the hotel more agreeable.

And the breakfast was disappointing. I think it is all right to serve a simple breakfast with mainly bread/pastries. But that doesn’t mean that the bread/pastries should be hard and cold, tasting like leftover from the previous day. There has been plenty of feedback on the relatively weak breakfast on this site and I think the hotel management just doesn’t care much. And I guess Italians don’t mind hard and cold bread/pastries. Luckily they also served corn flakes, yogurt and fruit.

I didn’t find the staff extra helpful/warm (but they were friendly and polite) but this was probably because I didn’t ask for anything special apart from another room which was turned down.

Bologna is great, with a very busy train station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyskylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Per recommendations of TripAdvisors I stayed my one night in Bologna at this close to train station hotel. Carlos not only made recommendation for dinner he booked the reservation and told me what to order! He sent me for wonderful gelato nearby by at Stefoni (spelling?) He also gave me the important sites to see and how to get there - when you only have one day this was very helpful. Thank you so much Carlos!!
Loved the Bologna library; they had a fun Mona Lisa exhibit and everyplace else you sent me. I really enjoyed Bologna and a big part of this was due to the location and friendly staff at this bargain hotel! The room was small but bathroom good size, bed comfortable and location quiet. Breakfast was typical but nice for the price.
Use of the internet at downstairs computer room also very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#6 of 103 in Bologna
432 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 103 in Bologna
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,374 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,601 reviews
Hotel Internazionale
#28 of 103 in Bologna
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergo Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergo Atlantic

Property: Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Address: Via Galliera 46, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bologna
#21 Business Hotel in Bologna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albergo Atlantic 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Albergo Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Atlantic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing