We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly budget hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our first impression wasn't great as the building was covered in scaffolding when we were there in July. Once we got in however we found the hotel was fine. The hotel is outside of Bologna hence the price but regular buses run from the end of the street. Others have said it wasn't in a very nice area but we (2 women) felt perfectly safe. Our room was really clean and comfortable a good size. The breakfast was ok, nothing flash, but more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we found it good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLouNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    76
    62
    19
    12
See reviews for
27
57
13
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

+: Very kind, even had a covered, closed place to park our motorcycle. The room was great, especially the bathtub with the hydro massage. Also the location is quite good, close to the center.

-: The breakfast was not very convincing, and there was a lady who was loudly placing things while we were having breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamergirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed 2 weeks here, and was very happy with the sizable, clean & quiet room, firm bed, and nice desk clerks. You have to like to walk, as it is 10-12 minutes from the city wall. The neighborhood is historically working class, so it is not elegant but it is quite safe, and people will not stare at you if you are foreign--which they will do in the richer parts of town. There are 2 places nearby to buy very cheap produce, a Pam supermarket 4 blocks away, 2 shopping centers if you want to walk a bit more (ask the desk clerks), and an Internet Point accross the street. For an understated person like me who is not rich but likes comfort, it was ideal.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a mini fridge, I would ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is ok: good price to quality ratio, average breakfast, ok staff. It's a 10' walk to the train station and a somewhat longer walk (20 - 25') to the city centre. If you are visiting the CNR research centre (like I did), the location is perfect, as it's only 10 - 15' away on foot. As for the area, it looks worse than it really is: I walked back at night many times without any problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paolooo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Gutted I saw none of the slightly bad reviews of the hotel when booking it. Really fooled by tripadvisor, I don't know how they got a excellent marks "certificate" year 2011, standing at their reception desk.
Photos look lovely and description is great too. But the hotel does not resemble any of the photos on the website. Hotel Astor might only be a short bus ride away from the center but the area it is in is horrible. I felt very unsafe and did not want to walk or take the bus back at night so I took a taxi.
I booked the more expensive double room with bathrobes, sky, free wifi, mini bar and breakfast included. I expected a romantic night, but got completely disappointed. Room was nothing special, looked like a normal room with two bathrobes and slippers placed on the beds. The bathroom was spacious but not nice, bits missing of the shower head and were obviously not replaced.
Internet needed a code which we weren't given at reception so we had to call and return downstairs.
Service was not efficient nor professional in any way. There was no atmosphere.
The breakfast was appaling. It couldn't have been more basic. Being in Italy you expect some nice italian pastries, ie. bombolone, italian meats, quality coffee.... We got a choice of dry sweet croissants, several types of cereals which you couldn't eat, jam, cheap chocolate spread, butter, bread and cheap ham from aldi or lidl. I would have happily not had breakfast!
For €89 I think I could have booked a hotel with more quality and service.
I don't recommend this hotel as it influences your stay majorly, it's the first impression you get of Bologna and it's not a very nice one.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel altogether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaelC_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

If ur in bologna for business there are better and cheaper hotels try ramada encore

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-ElShayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

- Quite tricky to find so print out/take a good map
- A rather commercial, unattractive area
- A bit of an unfriendly welcome but we were given a better room than we had booked and we did arrive a little early
- Pleasant room and bathroom
- Easy to get bus into town, even on a Sunday
- Were told that air conditioning does not get turned on in the whole area until June... it was rather hot without it in May! So we had to leave the windows open which meant that it was rather noisy.
- Breakfast OK but a bit limited

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#58 of 103 in Bologna
203 reviews
Porto
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Astoria Hotel Bologna
#84 of 103 in Bologna
527 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Hotel
#44 of 103 in Bologna
632 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 103 in Bologna
259 reviews
Navile
HC3 Hotel
HC3 Hotel
#64 of 103 in Bologna
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: Via Aristotile Fioravanti 42/2, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Hotel, completely renewed, distinguished with a warm and comfortable atmosphere, it lies in aquiet area far from the traffic. 41 rooms recently refurnished, large and welcome reception, TV space, breakfast room and a smoking and relax court. Ten minutes walking from Bologna Trade Fair and Congress Palace, 900 metres far from the Central Railway Station, 15 minutes walking from the historical Centre, very close to the race-course, few minutes from nr°5 and nr°6 Tangenziale gates. In a strategic location it is also well connected with busses, it has a bus stop just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing