We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, well-managed, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, well-managed, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed 2 weeks here, and was very happy with the sizable, clean & quiet room, firm bed, and nice desk clerks. You have to like to walk, as it is 10-12 minutes from the city wall. The neighborhood is historically working class, so it is not elegant but it is quite safe, and people will not stare at you if you are foreign--which they will do in the richer parts of town. There are 2 places nearby to buy very cheap produce, a Pam supermarket 4 blocks away, 2 shopping centers if you want to walk a bit more (ask the desk clerks), and an Internet Point accross the street. For an understated person like me who is not rich but likes comfort, it was ideal.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a mini fridge, I would ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    59
    19
    12
See reviews for
23
50
12
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is ok: good price to quality ratio, average breakfast, ok staff. It's a 10' walk to the train station and a somewhat longer walk (20 - 25') to the city centre. If you are visiting the CNR research centre (like I did), the location is perfect, as it's only 10 - 15' away on foot. As for the area, it looks worse than it really is: I walked back at night many times without any problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolooo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Gutted I saw none of the slightly bad reviews of the hotel when booking it. Really fooled by tripadvisor, I don't know how they got a excellent marks "certificate" year 2011, standing at their reception desk.
Photos look lovely and description is great too. But the hotel does not resemble any of the photos on the website. Hotel Astor might only be a short bus ride away from the center but the area it is in is horrible. I felt very unsafe and did not want to walk or take the bus back at night so I took a taxi.
I booked the more expensive double room with bathrobes, sky, free wifi, mini bar and breakfast included. I expected a romantic night, but got completely disappointed. Room was nothing special, looked like a normal room with two bathrobes and slippers placed on the beds. The bathroom was spacious but not nice, bits missing of the shower head and were obviously not replaced.
Internet needed a code which we weren't given at reception so we had to call and return downstairs.
Service was not efficient nor professional in any way. There was no atmosphere.
The breakfast was appaling. It couldn't have been more basic. Being in Italy you expect some nice italian pastries, ie. bombolone, italian meats, quality coffee.... We got a choice of dry sweet croissants, several types of cereals which you couldn't eat, jam, cheap chocolate spread, butter, bread and cheap ham from aldi or lidl. I would have happily not had breakfast!
For €89 I think I could have booked a hotel with more quality and service.
I don't recommend this hotel as it influences your stay majorly, it's the first impression you get of Bologna and it's not a very nice one.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel altogether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaelC_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

If ur in bologna for business there are better and cheaper hotels try ramada encore

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K-ElShayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

- Quite tricky to find so print out/take a good map
- A rather commercial, unattractive area
- A bit of an unfriendly welcome but we were given a better room than we had booked and we did arrive a little early
- Pleasant room and bathroom
- Easy to get bus into town, even on a Sunday
- Were told that air conditioning does not get turned on in the whole area until June... it was rather hot without it in May! So we had to leave the windows open which meant that it was rather noisy.
- Breakfast OK but a bit limited

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

The hotel is what it is - a fairly decent, inexpensive hotel just outside the centre of town. Don't stay here if you want a romantic night in the beautiful historic town of Bologna, as you'll be disappointed. However, the room and bathroom was absolutely fine and actually a pretty good size. The breakfast was ok, definitely not below average for this type of hotel. You can take a bus into the centre of town really quickly - the bus stop is just around the corner and runs until about 1am. Or you can even walk - it's about 25-30 mins to the historical part of town. Staff were perfectly friendly and it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
227 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

There are no frills at this hotel but it is clean, safe and the staff is courteous. The rooms are not fancy but they are adequately heated for winter. They also have parking space which is rare in Bologna. They even have a covered parking garage that they usually charge for, but in my case they didn't. Breakfast is only 5 Euro per person and it is also adequate. Otherwise they have several parking spots in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#57 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Hotel Imperial
#28 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Navile
Executive Suite Hotel
Executive Suite Hotel
#53 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama Hotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Porto
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Astoria Hotel Bologna
#88 of 104 in Bologna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: Via Aristotile Fioravanti 42/2, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Navile
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astor Hotel, completely renewed, distinguished with a warm and comfortable atmosphere, it lies in aquiet area far from the traffic. 41 rooms recently refurnished, large and welcome reception, TV space, breakfast room and a smoking and relax court. Ten minutes walking from Bologna Trade Fair and Congress Palace, 900 metres far from the Central Railway Station, 15 minutes walking from the historical Centre, very close to the race-course, few minutes from nr°5 and nr°6 Tangenziale gates. In a strategic location it is also well connected with busses, it has a bus stop just outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing