We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three and a half stars”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Three and a half stars”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a decent hotel fairly centrally located in Bologna. The facilities are a bit better than average. On the plus side: room is clean and of a decent size. Bathroom good, with ceramic marble tiles on the walls. No shelf in the shower to put down soap or shampoo, however. My neighbors were quite inconsiderate, talking loudly in the hallways and laughing at 3:30 in the morning which I did not appreciate. Breakfast is ok, with some ham and bread or cereal or cornettos.

Be careful walking on the Via Indepenza, where a woman seemed to want a cigarette, but then put her hands down my front pocket to steal my wallet. Thankfully I felt her hand and grabbed it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hallway may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsonitsstomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    223
    152
    37
    32
See reviews for
86
222
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We only had one night at this hotel and chose it for its proximity to the city and to the train station for the next days trip to Florence. The guy on duty when we arrived mid afternoon was a real gem with lots of helpful tips and information plus he spoke very good English which was a bonus for us. The room was adequate if a bit small but was sufficient for what we needed. There were loads of places nearby to eat and drink. The bathroom was ok but the shower very small- I wouldn't ant to shower in it every day as it was almost impossible to turn round. Breakfast was very good with a large choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, bread etc etc and as much tea or coffee that you wanted. In all, a good place to break a journey maybe ask for a larger bathroom/shower if you plan to stay longer (or not shower of course!!).

Room Tip: Sall lift to top floors so no problem with any room but check out bathroom size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummybearSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just back from two nights stay at Holiday Hotel Bologna as part of a holiday in Italy.

Can confirm previous reviews. Approach down a side street not promising but Hotel Holiday offers excellent value at about £40 per night for two including breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable with TV and minibar.
Staff were all wonderful and helpful. The concierges recommendations for eating out are a must!
Excellent location for all town centre attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Staff were brilliant, couldnt help you enough. The concierges were brilliant and very friendly. Position is brilliant. Though the first time you go down the back street to the hotel might put you off, you soon get over that. The postion is just off of one of the main streets. Supermarket less than a minutes walk. A selection of amazing restaurants 2 minutes away. Central train station about a 6 euro taxi ride away. Easy to get to the historical sites from here. And like I said main street for shops etc just around the corner. The room was perfect for us massive bed, good bathroom. Breakfast was good selection, and once you mastered the crazy coffee machine, good coffee. Highly recommend this place. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushyboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel worked perfectly for my short stay in Bologna. It is conveniently located just 10 minutes walking from Bologna Centrale train station. The hotel is easy to find on Via Bertiera, which is right off Via Dell'Indipendenza (a large main street). The hotel is very close to the center of the city, just five minutes walking to Piazza Maggiore. Check-in is at 2pm but the hotel will hold your luggage for you if you arrive early (and on your last day after the 11am check-out). You don't have to worry about carrying or losing your key (yes, an actual key...not a key card) because you leave it at the front desk whenever you leave the hotel. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, especially Roberto. He speaks English perfectly (others do as well) and helped me with suggestions and directions to get around the city. He was also very accommodating to explain the Internet options to me to make sure I was getting the best value for what I needed (they have a few different wifi options). The one downside to this hotel is that the wifi is not included and it is particularly slow. Breakfast was included in my rate and was a good assortment: biscotti, cornetti (croissant), cake, hard boiled eggs, cereal, mortadella, ham, juice and coffee. There is a small mini bar/refrigerator in the room. Even better, there is a supermarket down the street so you can stock up on water and snacks.

I paid $75 per night in a double room at the end of August 2013. The room was clean and comfortable with a bed, desk, closet, safe and night table. I had a window facing a courtyard. The room was air conditioned. The bathroom was clean. Although the shower was a bit small, the water pressure was good and I had plenty of hot water. The hotel is not modern but I was only in the room to sleep and it was just fine. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but I still had a nice sleep because I was exhausted from the long day spent touring the city. I think it was good value for the price, location and breakfast included. It is by no means a luxury hotel, but it is a safe, friendly and comfortable place to stay when passing through the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fascias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel offered me the services expected. The personal was very kind and helpfull in every issue we had. The rooms are very clean and confortable, and very important is in center of Bologna which it makes everything much easier. You may visit al most every thing, go to eat, and to came to rest in the hotel in a short time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletaSeretan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel worked out just perfect for us, the reception staff was so useful and friendly, the room was great and spacious with mini bar, A/C, everything always very clean, including the bathroom. One of the best things about Hotel Holiday was breakfast! The coffee machine was amazing, One of the best cappuccinos I had in Italy, there was at least three different kinds of cornetos, pastries and biscuits, bread, ham and cheese, jams, yogurt, cereals, etc. etc. The hotel's location is also worth mentioning, right next to a supermarket for those too cheap to go to the restaurant, it is also right close to the city's historical center and it is not far from the university district, where food is extremely cheap and the night life a lot of fun.

Room Tip: DO not hesitate and book ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Hotel Cavour
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#19 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Property: Holiday Hotel
Address: Via Bertiera 13, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing