We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
83
254
184
45
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
254
184
45
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationpiazza maggiorehammini barthe breakfast areaminute walk to the main squarehotel is in a great locationcroissantsshort breakhotel staffbreakfast was includedthe heart of the citysupermarketcheeseeuros
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 603 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bologna is a great place as a base to visit other towns in the area and with the train station just a ten minute walk away this was easy. The hotel is what I would call pretty average, staff were quite helpful and breakfast was sufficient. I was charged extra for a towel to dry my hair, which annoyed me, however small the charge was. The hotel is very well positioned vis a vis the city centre. Bologna itself is gorgeous, so full of charm, love the porticoes everywhere. We found that many places offer an aperitivo early evening where you pay a little bit extra for a drink and they serve you free nibbles. There seems to be a rubbish collection very early morning so I would suggest you ask for a room away from the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Reviews like this are always subjective and should be treated as such. That said, I would recommend The Holiday Hotel to anyone who is planning a short break in Bologna. Right in the heart of the city, it is an ideal base to work from. Although central, the hotel is very quiet at night so sleeping was not a problem. Our group had three rooms all of which were clean, tidy, comfortable, and importantly, bearing in mind it was FREEZING COLD, lovely and warm. Price was very reasonable. Ok, it didn't have a restaurant, but that is not a problem in Bologna. 2 minutes in ANY direction from the hotel and you will be eating some truely fanatastic food. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. It is not the largest or grandest hotel in town, but value for money, you will be hard pressed to beat it. We will certainly be using it again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

First, the positives:
1. Location is a couple minute walk from the main shopping street in Bologna.
2. Clean room, comfortable bed ( though a single, I was given a double room).
3. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
4. Hotel's three-car parking garage across the small street from the entrance was quite affordable.
Second, the negatives:
1. Room 307 was cold the first night but adjusted it to 25C (72F), but could not lower it to 22-23C from in the room or their console at the front desk.
2. The shower drain slowly to the point that water flowed out of the shower tray onto the bathroom floor.
3. American students attending the University of Bologna coordianted by Indiana University stay there the last two weeks of January and some treat the hotel as more of a dormitory- loud talking and laughing in the hallways into the wee hours.
4. The sounds and voices (clear words from the speakers and the voices on there cell-phone speaker phone) came clearly through the wall between my room and number 305. It provided unwelcome clear sounds of intimate personal hygiene functions of the guests in the the room's bathroom!

Room Tip: I have mixed feelings about staying there again leaning toward probably not. If you are a sound sleeper and noise is not an issue, they you would probably be okay. Two nights of interrupted sleep cause me to less enthusastic than I might otherwise be about staying there again.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoGuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed in Bologna for one night with the purpose of just walking around and seeing the sights. The hotel and room were very standard with wifi, a tv, and typical Italian breakfast. The room was semi-clean as well as the bathroom but overall the hotel just seemed worn and tired. The staff was friendly and helpful when we needed recommendations but the best part was that it was in a perfect central location.
It's an okay hotel for just one night but I have stayed in better 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Frequent_Flyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

good room, good buffet breadfast nice with a wide choice, friendly and english speaking staff, very helpful with information. hotel is centrally located midway between train station and main station but slightly nearer to Piazza Maggiore. Room is spacious comfortable and with a good shower room with very adequate space. Pity the street wasn't too welcoming but there are two other hotels in same street and a pub and trattoria, perfectly safe to walk in. would go stay again in same hotel and recomend it to everyone.

Room Tip: room had air condition and central heating, overlooked picturesque roofs with terracotta tiles.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews