We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have fallen in love with Bologna - a city with character with all of its porticos, and having a university in a city always gives it a buzz. And yet it is a 'real' city with people going about their daily business rather than just falling over other tourists all the time.

This hotel is convenient for the city centre - about 8 minutes walk to the main square, and it is on a very quiet side street so you are unlikely to get any traffic noise.

The room was of a reasonable size, but the windows were internal (facing an internal stairway) so we couldn't even tell what the weather was doing. Breakfast was ok but in a small room, so you had to 'dance' with other guests to get past each other to the breakfast buffet. If they couldn't have used the outside tables, I'm not sure how they would have coped.

There are a couple of good restaurants nearby - al Sangiovese on the same street and just on the parallel street Osteria al 15.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    366
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
243
652
89
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

What you'll immediately notice about the Hotel Porta San Mamolo is just how welcome you'll feel by the superb staff. They were all very friendly and incredibly helpful, giving us more than the usual advice on where to eat and advice on transport as well as other things to do and see around Bologna. The room was very nice and comfortable & very good value. The garden is stunning and a perfect location for breakfast or just relaxing in the day. The location is also very convenient to walk into the city centre and has a couple of very nice restaurants literally within 30 seconds walk from the front door. I can also recommend the very reasonably priced bottles of wine they sell too! I wouldn't hesitate about staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The position
For those coming with a car, the hotel is very conveniently located in the neigborhood of the ring road. I had no experience with the hotel parking, so I cannot say. From the railway station: if you walk, you have to cross all the inner Bologna north to south. Take a taxi, it will run you along the ring road.
The venue
The hotel consists of a number of old low buildings around a court
The garden
The court is in effect a garden, very pleasant and charming to look at; the are chairs to sit in the garden; of course, if people are talking late, you will hear them from your room. Charms have a price to pay.!
The brekfast
Complete and satisfactory. In the garden. You may use some tables in the open air (if you come first). Pleasant setting.
The room
Had a large bed, comfortable. The room was quite large.
The bathroom
Small but.. there is everything, like in the Sputnik. Shower box ample, could accommodate two (just in case).
Kindness
Kind and flexible. Service in the breakfast room
Would come again?
Yes, pretty sure I will manage to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A city hotel with an beautiful internal courtyard garden. Such a lovely surprise. Rooms are charming and full of character and old world charm. All staff were friendly and most helpful. The breakfast room is a conservatory style space with an outdoor terrace under a fig tree- no nicer way to breakfast. Great value and well located with a selection of good restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend it even for a one night stopover which is all we had. Hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alivealiveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have flown into Bologna may times on holidays but only saw the airport so this year we decided to stay for two nights on our way home and are we glad we did. Hotel Porta san Mamolo was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously. What a quirky little hotel fine rooms much bigger than you would think on arrival and a beautiful little courtyard and garden for afternoon drinks. So peaceful and quiet that you would never feel you were so near all the action in the historical city. The main sites are only 10 mins walk. The owner and his staff are so friendly and helpful he is available to his quests at all times. The breakfast was very nice with a good choiceand very fresh. We would certainly return and would recommend this hotel without any doubt.

Room Tip: I feel all rooms would be good certainly no problem with sleep as rooms very quiet we had a lovely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeirdreSkerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were a party of 7 and needed 3 rooms. All three rooms were clean and well appointed. The hotel is charming, the breakfast was delicious and the staff was very nice and helpful. We are already trying to figure out when we can return. Lovely place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A beautiful charming hotel with so much character, it sent me back to a time where life was obviously simple and homey. Located within a 10 minute walk from the action near San Stephano Square and the Tower and lots of shops, restaurants and bars, San Mamolo was the perfect spot. Comfortable rooms with true Italian charm that were clean and comfortable, and a staff of such friendly people who went out of their way to welcome you to Bologna. A garden paradise was what greeted you to morning breakfast with the most beautiful flowers and birds singing. Fresh breads, baked goods, eggs, prosciutto and cheeses along with coffee and juices of your choice was a great way to begin your day. If you are looking for a place that reminds you of home, yet close to everything, this could be a beautiful find. We were with a group of 15, and even the owner, Roberto Condello, sent help and helped us carry our luggage from the main street and back to our bus. Now that's what I call service and hospitality.

Room Tip: The original building has an elevator, the adjacent building is a good hike if you are not on the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
2,291 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
803 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
751 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing