We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

A charming hotel with excellent friendly and knowledgeable staff. The garden setting for the unusually lavish breakfast (where else do you get tiramisu at 0700?) is a treat. Rooms while not large were very comfortable (only Italian TV is the only drawback) and clean. (Tip: the restaurant on the corner of the street is excellent and very well priced). The only slight drawback is that it is 10 mins walk to the centre of the city, but after all we ate that is probably not a bad thing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaque G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    372
    68
    17
    8
See reviews for
249
668
90
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I heartily recommend the hotel for its very convenient location from the main city square, helpful and always present staff and mostly, for the incredible design and fitting of the rooms with the inner garden being a paragon of any places I ever had my breakfast in.

Room Tip: Every one is different: enjoy the beauty of the draw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I moved here - from the awful Zanhotel
This place is in a very quiet small side street, with little or now traffic
The staff are super friendly and helpful - nothing is ever too much trouble, they even bought me a free glass of wine, whilst i was waiting from college, who was stuck in traffic !!
The room was nice, open, clean and well designed, the bed was large and comfy
The bathroom was nice, open and airy
There is a small terrance garden and annex where you take breakfast, all the breakfast items where nice and fresh - cake, cheeses, etc

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WardyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you want a chain hotel experience, give this a miss. This is a real Italian gem. The rooms aren’t big, the breakfast is continental and it’s tucked down a backstreet…but it is absolutely charming. Spent 4 nights and wished I had booked the week. The staff and management were very polite and helpful from arrival to departure. If you want a taste of real Italian hospitality look no further than the Porta San Mamolo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Originally we had booked a room at Hotel Touring, but they tolad us that there is overbooking and relocated us to the Mamolo. I fell Mamolo was great - quiet, peaceful, delightful and helpful staff. The cozy little rooms and beautiful garden. Few nice restaurants nearby - ask the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

My only complaint was that it was a little hard to find! Stayed here for two nights and would definitely go back. The room was not fancy but was clean, well kept and comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful and the breakfast was very good. If you are trying to find it the directions in some of the travel books are not quite accurate. I had to ask some locals

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Boutique hotel in a very quiet area of Bologna south of the centre. Large rooms. Breakfasts are good, but no better than you would expect, although the conservatory style breakfast room was very nice, and must be really good in summer when you could sit outside. As ever with a hotel that has a good Trip Advisor rating, the service was first class and personable, and could not be faulted.

Bologna doesn't seem to be particularly touristy, and certainly not on the level of Rome Florence or Venice, and perhaps because of that we found restaurants more difficult to find than we are used to. On this basis we must recommend the one at the end of the the street where the hotel is -Al Sangiovese. Seemed to us that there were only local Italians there, and popular to the extent that you need to book - surely no other recommendation needed. We loved it and ate there 3 times.

The only issue with the hotel is its location. Most hotels will be closer to the centre than this one. The 15 minute walk was not that bad, but we used Bologna as a base to visit Modena (charming) Ravenna (off-the-clock spectacular mosaics both visually and historically) and Ferrara (would have been a lot nicer if it hadn't been raining, which was a shame). The problem is that the station is a 35 minute walk from the hotel, and although we are used to walking, we started to find the distance a bit much come the end of our stay. Taxi was 12 euros each way, which we thought was a bit much.

Would we stay here again? Well, given how much there is to see in the world, we probably won't go back to Bologna, but if we did and if we were going to make regular visits to the station then we would think twice, otherwise, then probably yes!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClunkNebbermorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for dedicating your time to write a review about your stay with us and thank you for your sincere words. Unfortunately for who wants to do daily trips we are not close to the train station but this is a vantage if we consider another aspect, the silence of the small streets of the city center opposite to the traffic and noise of the train station and surroundings.
In any case our door will Always be open for you if you should return to Bologna
Kindest regards,

Roberto.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,369 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
840 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#5 of 103 in Bologna
1,548 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing