We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cute and romantic boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Beausoleil, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super cute and romantic boutique hotel!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My fiance and I stayed in Porto San Mamolo for just one night and it was really lovely. Close enough to the city center but still quiet and with plenty of space to park around. We slept in too late for breakfast, but they were really kind to make us a coffee and serve us what was left (which was enough!) The owner was very kind and spoke to us personally welcoming us. The only slightly down part was that our room was down a narrow staircase which felt like it was leading down to the servants quarters. It was very quiet inside, but getting there felt a bit strange. I wish that we had been on the main floor near the elevator and carpeted hallway. I highly recommend this hotel as a reasonably priced option for a stay in Bologna!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the main hallway near the elevator, our room felt like it was down the stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinndalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we love very much those "hidden" rooms as they are quiet and spacious but we understand you,so for your next stay we will be more than glad to offer you a room that is easier to reach.
Your opinion means a lot to us and help us to do always better,
Looking forward to welcome you back we send our

Kindest regards,

Roberto-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    376
    69
    18
    8
See reviews for
252
675
92
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel in January. The weather was quite atrocious .. rainy, damp and cold. But the warmth of the hotel hosts vanished the gloom. If there ever was a hotel that genuinely can be described as being in the "hospitality" business, Porta San Mamole is it. The rooms are comfortable and warm, the beds cosy and comfortable, the breakfast excellent (perfcet soft boiled eggs!), the building quirky and oozing charm. But on top of all this, was the warmth of the staff. Everyone went the extra step to make me and my friends feel at home and take care of our needs. I just cannot say enough about how great our stay was. My trip was after another trip to Denamark and Hawaii (Big Island) and San Mamole was the 4th hotel I had stayed in a period of 2 weeks. None of the other hotels came within miles of San Mamole. Bellissimo! Grazie, Monica and co.!

Room Tip: Room 407 comes with a small annex (or a sitting room) with a divan. Rooms 401 and 402 are in a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your kind words towards the Hotel and the staff! It's always a pleasure to know that our guests and their friends felt like at Home here.

We hope to welcome you and your friend in another time. Hotel Porta San Mamolo will be more than happy to be your home in Bologna.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We travelled all around Italy for our honeymoon and Bologna was our favorite part of the trip - in no small part, due to our experience at Hotel Porta San Mamolo. First, our room (one of the apartments), was so amazingly large, which was really welcomed after multiple stays in the typically small European hotel room. It was a great value and we were really happy with the room.

The service, however, is what makes this hotel stand out. The reception we received was so warm and inviting - completely impeccable. At night, we had some trouble finding a restaurant where we could get a reservation (learn from our mistakes, book ahead), so we went to the front desk to ask for tips. The woman at the desk called several places, running into some trouble herself. Ultimately, she found a restaurant for us and made the reservation. Despite her great (and successful - the restaurant was amazing) efforts, she was endlessly apologetic that we would have to wait an hour for dinner. We were immediately ushered to the hotel's garden area where an employee gave us Prosecco and snacks, all on the house.... we were so grateful. Breakfast was served in the same garden area and was beautiful, delicious and, of course, accompanied by beautiful service.

There is really, truly, no reason to stay anywhere but here in Bologna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 25, 2014
Dear Friend Really thanks for your nice review from me and me all staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

In the taxi as I left - after 3 weeks at the Porto San Mamolo in October - I went away with a lump in my throat. When that happens, you know you have not been in any ordinary hotel. Heck, you haven't left a hotel at all - you've left a traveler's amazement-+-joy experience - going from the first "Aha! what a find" moment to the whole "aah" of your total time there.

It's all been described hundreds of times in other reviews, each with fully-deserved 5 stars: the staff [brilliant], the rooms [just lovely, beyond comfortable and clean; super bed], the connected buildings making up the hotel [made me think of illustrations in a children's book], the breakfasts [fantastic and the crew working there all in tune with each other], the quiet oasis-like location [gardens, soft lighting, candles]. And the cats: Porta San Mamolo is currently owned by two molto gentile cats, Matisse and Romeo, apparently from a line of past feline owners, who have duped Roberto Condello into thinking he is in charge, the General Manager, no less. He is a very hands-on GM with the cats overseeing all.

The breakfast room - windowed with a garden surrounding it - is a sort of hub and many, many mornings I watched folks on the pathway leading from the breakfast room to the reception room. Heading to check out, they would stop, pause to look back, and, reluctantly, leave.

I brought home one of the hotel's thick full-photo brochures, looked through it a few weeks later and thought - as I did with all the photos on TA, that this wonderful hotel cannot be captured in photographs, in a video, or in words. Ya gotta be there.

[Oh, and for those who are concerned about a bit of a walk to the tourist areas: I had my 70th birthday while there and walked the walk multiple times each day. It's an easy walk with different routes. Bring a small/pocket flashlight for evening walks; Bologna has decent lighting, but with enough wine, a rain-slicked paved section or an uneven one will make that flashlight a bright idea.]
.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what your needs are - trust that they will do everything possible to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rexaroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Dear Guest!

We thank you for your marvelous comment and for the precious time you spent to write it.

We thank you for the nice words for the Hotel and its staff (cats included).

We will be more than happy to welcome you for any future visit in Bologna.

Thank you again!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a quietneighbourhood, a nice walk to thecenter takes around 15 minutes. We were given a very nice room, large, confortable, with a huge balcony which must be very nice at warmer times. Bathroom small but well laid out, impeccably clean with nice products.
Overall atmosphere is cosy, it feels like an apartment, nota hotel. Breakfast is served in a nice veranda, great selection of food.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, Direttore at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this review, December 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice words! We will be more than happy to welcome you and your friends at Hotel Porta San Mamolo!

Hope to see you again!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Reasonable cost. 20 min walk to the city center. Wonderful restaurant down the street. Rooms were clean and a fair size. Had internet issues tho was there to be on vacation. Breakfast was great. Cereals, fruit, coffee and lattes. Eggs, pastries, and juice. Thought Bologna was a nice city yo visit. A bit quiet over Xmas.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaska90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,496 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,434 reviews
Hotel Touring
#6 of 103 in Bologna
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
869 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#5 of 103 in Bologna
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing