We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely welcoming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with the most welcoming and attentive staff and owner. They went out of their way on a number of occasions to accommodate myself and 2 sisters. The rooms were clean and elegant, the breakfast buffet was excellent and the location was just a short walk from the center of town. It was also excellent value. Overall, it is highly recommended as a perfect place to stay in Bologna. Thank you Roberto and all your kind staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eavan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Porta San Mamolo however I could have happilt stayed at week. We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is 3 star hotel and it is run by some of the most welcoming and friendliest people I have ever had the good fortune to meet on my travels. All the staff were excellent with our children - charming and entertaining. They just couldn't do enough to help.

It's a small family-run place - basic but great as a city base. It's in a quiet neighbourhood, about 10mins walk out of the main city. It's quiet tucked away and hard to find, I was glad we had an Italian driver to ask for directions!

Breakfast was included and was delicious with a good range and choice.

If I ever return to Bologna, I would book this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bodiddly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a whim we decided to split our holiday between Florence and Bologna and we are so pleased we followed this idea through! Late August and this lovely and fascinating city was relatively quiet, with some shops and restaurants closed. Yet there were still plenty to choose from and the recommendations from the hotel were excellent.
The hotel was fabulous. Small, intimate and friendly - words that don't do justice to the pretty room we were given and the garden where we breakfasted and the staff who we met. The staff couldn't do enough for us, genuinely wanting to help and to talk to us about themselves, our visit and the city. The staff at reception directed us to the city- 10 minute walk to the centre; to restaurants for wonderful food - Columbina was our favouite for vegetarian options and to the best sights. We cannot wait to return to Bologna and this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bow021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in Italy. During those two weeks, we stayed at a handful of hotels, all chosen with the use of TA and were not disappointed. This hotel, however, was our favorite! The service was second to none. The decor was absolutely charming. The location was great. We arrived on a Sunday night and were provided options of nearby restaurants that would be open for Sunday dinner, which was very helpful. I loved this hote.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hfavazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel Porta San Mamolo was an excellent choice for a city break in Bologna. Close to the centre of town but in a quiet neighbourhood, there were 2 excellent restaurants nearby and the hotel breakfast was very good.
The manager was exceptionally helpful and made the stay even more enjoyable, we would wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear friend
really thank you for your nice review,me and my staff work everyday to make our guests happy, and when we do that we are happy.
my best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a wonderful gem of a hotel! Great location within walking distance of anything you could desire in Bologna. The staff makes this Ah-Mazing! Their attention to detail was outstanding and over the top. For example. one of the ladies from the front desk was heading out of the hotel when we were approaching and about a half block away...the rain had started. She hustled to us, shared her umbrella and walked us back to the door. Very nice touch! The breakfast was delicious with lovely pastries made there. The owners actually have a winery as well and I was lucky enough to try a bottle (tasty!). I'd recommend this place to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gr8grapes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear friend, what more can I say except thank you for the nice review, this gives us so much satisfaction and motivates us to do better work
my Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The location was perfect, inside the old center of Bologna, but easy to get to with parking on site, the room itself was great, the breakfast buffet was better than it needed to be, and the staff was amazing. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
condelloroberto, General Manager at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear friend thank you for taking the time to write a review on us, I hope to have you back soon in bologna
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,598 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,591 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Touring
#6 of 102 in Bologna
1,678 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
954 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $116 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing