We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a charming and comfortable hotel to stay on a trip to Italy. The reception and breakfast staff are friendly and helpful. Always willing to answer your questions and give you tips to enjoy your visit to their lovely city, Bologna. The rooms are basic but comfortable and quaint and have the charm of Italian culture. What more do you want on a trip to explore the culture and friendliness of the Italians. It was centrally located and close to good restaurants. Lots of walking but that's what we enjoy on our trips to Italy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bologna. We were here in December and felt very comfortable and warm in the hotel. The gardens are very relaxing after a day in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noreenz_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    367
    66
    16
    8
See reviews for
243
653
89
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Full praise for the staff, they were so welcoming, helpful and professional.
Thank you to Paula for her wonderful cakes, home made daily, we looked forward to them for breakfast each morning
The staff at the reception desk couldn't have been more helpful, especially Elisa for helping us choose restaurants, which were excellent on each occasion.
Roberto, the owner deserves great praise for running such an excellent establishment.
Thank you from PJ and Mary MacGabhann, Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Do not miss this hotel in Bologna. Being innkeepers ourselves, we can appreciate the cozy accommodations, the refreshing personalities of the staff, and of course, its location. Stayed 4 nights in February where we met our daughter and her family who flew in. Our room had a balcony overlooking the common courtyard. Let the staff recommend you restaurants and their favourite gelateria. Ah, the wine! Try the Sangiovese, their own brand (Conde).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melange8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel our last night in Italy. We were staying with relatives in Monte San Giusto but wanted to be closer to the Venice Airport our last day. We blindly chose Bologna (another wonderful surprise) as being halfway to the airport and my husband chose the Porta San Manolo for accommodations. GPS got us to the front door of the hotel without any major problems. From the minute we arrived, we felt at home. The Hotel management spoke english and (I believe it was Roberto) who helped my husband find a parking spot. We were led thru a beautiful outside garden to our room. Once we got to our room (myself, husband and two daughters) we were completely impressed. We had a suite (pull-out couch for girls in sitting room) and bedroom for husband and myself. It was large and spacious and decorated beautifully. The bathroom was large and very nice. The hotel management gave us directions to the Square and later that evening, suggested a local restaurant for us (they even called the restaurant!). The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel and it was a wonderful experience. We ate in a room that is in the center of the outside garden. It was cozy and beautiful and the food was delicious. It was a buffet, but still exceptional. The only one item that I did not like was that the cleaning staff used a perfumed cleaning powder in the rooms. It was a little overpowering when we entered our room. this was not a big deal and what I would like to stress to travelers is how friendly and accommodating the management of the hotel was to us. They treated us like family. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and we wish we had booked more time in Bologna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Graye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel late November 2012. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It's located outside the main square... less than 15 minute-walk. Breakfast was good. The staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful. There are some really good restaurants nearby. Also close to bus stops. Internet works well. The only complaint I had was the thin walls. We could hear people next door very well. Overall, our stay was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christinep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I feel terrible not writing a review sooner as this hotel deserves a great write up. I stayed here in June for a few days with friends as I had a wedding to go to in the city.

I have stayed in many, many hotels round the world (mostly 5 star), and this one is in my top 3 for service. So, the hotel isn't particularly glamorous and needs a total refurbishment - the decoration is dreadful but it is very clean and tidy. The main attraction here is that the hotel is small and cosy and the staff and the service was TOP class - the sort of standard you get at a 5 star hotel.

My friends car broke down and the hotel staff arranged a garage to come and help them pick the car up and get it fixed, my dress had got dirty in transit on the plane and they managed to locate a dry cleaner last minute. I needed hair pins half an hour before the wedding and no shops had them so they sent me to a hairdressers round the corner who gave me some for free. They arranged transport for us throughout our stay, basically, I felt I was quite demanding as I had got to the city totally disorganised and the staff here did all they could to make my stay as relaxing as possible. Nothing I asked was too dramatic but I felt like I was asking them for things every two minutes and felt a bit bad about disturbing them all the time, but they were only too happy to help and were absolutely charming.

I would reccommend this hotel to anyone. It is central, perfect location, small, clean with great staff. Who cares about decoration...you just need good service.

Thank you for making my stay so relaxing.

Room Tip: Get a room over looking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Porta San Mamolo for a second time in October and I`ve again enjoyed my stay. Everyone was friendly and helpful again so it felt a bit like coming home.
The days started with a lovely breakfast in the garden under a big tree.
It´s only a short but nice walk to the city centre and there are some really good Italian restaurants nearby.
I hope to come back in May - Bologna is a fantastic city for a short weekend getaway ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing