We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sanctuary”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Super nice staff, beautiful garden, quiet and lovely. Even resident cat is friendly. Located at south end of Bologna, 5 minute walk to center, best part of town. If driving, ask for specific directions as hotel is on a one way street, a bit hard to find even with gps.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderSpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    375
    69
    18
    8
See reviews for
251
673
92
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed here for a week and had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant recommendations given to us by Agostino were very helpful! He even phoned a series of restaurants on the Sunday night to check whether they were open. The breakfast was typical of Italian hotels and constantly refilled with lovely pastries. We had a room with a balcony which was a very nice addition and a good size and helped the holiday to be even more relaxing. The room was a good size and the memory foam pillows were excellent! The location of the hotel is good, it is very quiet with two fantastic restaurants in the same road and only a 10 minute walk to the main square. The hotel at the end of the road serves the wine from the hotel's family vineyard which we very much enjoyed and took some home with us, would be lovely to drink it in Bologna though!! If we went to Bologna again we would definitely stay here mainly due to the staff. I have never stayed somewhere where the receptionists walk you out to the taxi to say goodbye and wish you a good journey home. Nothing was ever too much trouble! Their position as number one on trip advisor is well deserved.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anon756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff were extremely kind and helpful: the owner even parked our Land Rover for us because the garage is difficult to access. The location is ideal. The rooms (in the building next to the hotel) are comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Porta San Mamolo. It was just perfect. The staff was SO friendly and helpful. The space was gorgeous, it felt more like a B&B than a hotel.. but with all the privacy one would get in a hotel. The rooms were clean, big, comfortable. Great bathrooms. A charming courtyard. A lovely breakfast, with proper italian coffee. The location is central. I really can't find any criticisms at all. If I go back to Bologna, I won't stay anywhere else. Thanks to the staff for a wonderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My partner and I had a spare night in Bologna before my family arrived the following day. We had read lots of wonderful reviews about Porta San Mamolo and when we arrived, we immediately understood why. We had issues with our sat nav charger in our hire car. The man there (sorry, I can't remember his name) was so helpful. He tried to fix it in my car, but couldn't. So, he then said he would charge it for me with their in-house charger and return it to me later. Room was clean and big enough. Wi-fi was very handy, but what was a real godsend was the air-con in the 40 degree heat. All the staff were super friendly, area was great (only a short walk from the centre), breakfast was nice and some great recommendations for restaurants. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davide F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A completely delightful hotel just inside the city walls and a ten minute walk from the main square. The room we had overlooking the garden was very comfortable, the staff incredibly welcoming and couldn't be more helpful, the breakfast in the garden room was superb. A lovely friendly small hotel in a quiet backstreet within a stone's throw of a couple of good restauarants - and reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel! I have now used this hotel for over 10 years and it is a unique hotel. The most freindly staff, nice original Italian style, quiet, relaxed, close to the main plaza.....just exceptional! The only thing on my mind when leaving this hotel is; when I can get back! Christian Hartmann.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,411 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,482 reviews
Hotel Touring
#5 of 103 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
863 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,173 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#6 of 103 in Bologna
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta San Mamolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta San Mamolo

Property: Hotel Porta San Mamolo
Address: Vicolo del Falcone 6/8, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#3 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porta San Mamolo 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is located in the heart of Bologna, few steps away from the beautiful Piazza Maggiore and the famous Two Towers.Recently renovated it has maintained the typical Bolognese atmosphere while making the most of the courtyard garden that houses our sunny breakfast room in an oasis of green. Your welfare and attention to detail are our daily care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porta San Mamolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta San Mamolo Hotel
Porta San Mamolo Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing