We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisiest hotel in Italy”
Review of University Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
University Hotel
Ranked #48 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Highland Park NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Noisiest hotel in Italy”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

There are 70,000 students in Bologna. This hotel is in the middle of the university area. The students carouse in the streets until 4:00 when the weather is warm. The hotel does not have any internal rooms where you are safe. I have heard that the Accademia is just as bad.

Room Tip: There are no internal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kothar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    119
    82
    11
    4
See reviews for
61
84
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Although this is an older hotel, I found the public spaces and guestrooms to be clean, well maintained, and a great value. The staff is uniformly knowledgeable, helpful, and cheery.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here twice, the first time I extended my booking 1 day, the second time I extended 2 days.... that should say something.
I enjoyed my stay here, the room was nice, both times.
I left behind a valuable item the first time, I rang that day and they kept it at the front counter for me.
The WiFi was reliable right through the hotel.
The Reception staff were always friendly and helpful.
The neighbourhood was interesting and varied, quite safe, of course.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaiDeeHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We chose the University hotel because it was fairly central so we could walk out to the centre + to the restaurants. Reviews on TripAdvisor did mention it could get noisy, because it is in the going out centre (actually our girlie neighbours were more of a nuisance than the people on the street. But compared to other hotels, this was the only one at an affordable rate in the centre. As we drove our a car from Amsterdam, this way we could park the car in a indoor garage on walking distance from the hotel (do not park on the street unless you have a Fiat Punto, we have seen many dents and damages) the hotel staff kindly recommended (Parking Piazza 8 Agosto, 20 Euros per day) while at the same time we didn't have to drive or use public transport to go out for dinner or see the centre and sights. Upon arrival you tell them your license plate number so they can register you (otherwise you'll get a fine since it's restricted to drive by car in the area, cameras registering license plates). WiFi in the rooms, helpful staff, breakfast in the basement typical sober Italian but the lady running it did a very good job (motivated!) which made all the difference. I literally jumped of joy when on the 3rd morning, suddenly rice waffles had appeared and I could tell she was pleased. The room has a safe, proper big cabinet, unfortunately no ''sleep'' setting on the airconditioning. Once upon a time the room was decorated up to date, this has since then seen some hard times (my husband fixed the shower booth system himself) and when we arrived some bulbs were actually missing (stolen, we guess). Nevertheless, if you want to be in the centre, this is a good option. And if you drink enough wine, you'll sleep through the noise on the streets (there's a popular wine bar just down the street)

Room Tip: Our room was not on the street side, but on the alley side. Didn't help, as people walk back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia21Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
329 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel one night, and we chose it 'cause it was near the meeting point with some of our friends. It's near piazza Maggiore (5 min walking) in a quiet location. We didn't try the breakfast, but the room was clean and comfortable, nothing special but ok.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Overall the cleaning could be done a lot better. The table cloths were stained and stayed on the tables on for our entire stay in the breakfast area.
The bed cover was badly stained.
The extra blankets did not look too shabby either and the room was cold at times.
The sheets were changed after 3 days and towels were clean and got changed daily
The cable behind the the TV was covered in dust, so was the hair dryer holder in the bathroom.
The staff are friendly and very helpfull, the breakfast is a soso affair as well.
There is a noise problem in this hotel as I could hear people snoring through the walls.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stains & noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalsuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

A really nice hotel, centrally located, friendly staff, clean, comfotable rooms and a good powerful shower. However the noise from the bar below was terrible and went on until 4:30-5am for the 3 nights we stayed there. We were on the top floor and even at the end of November in the freezing cold the noise of people singing, shouting and chatting in the street was SO LOUD, I didn't get a decent nights sleep for the duration for my stay. A real shame as I liked the hotel, but I value my sleep more so I don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy bar next door
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Accademia
#44 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Hotel Cavour
#37 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama Hotel
#33 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#31 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Holiday Hotel
#58 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Hotel

Property: University Hotel
Address: Via Mentana 7, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — University Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situato nel cuore della cultura Bolognese, a due passi dalla più antica università del mondo, a fianco del teatro comunale e della pinacoteca nazionale, l'Hotel University è un vero e proprio salotto in città per chi cerca un ambiente elegante e la calda atmosfera che solo le piccole strutture sanno dare.A piedi ed in pochi minuti è possibile raggiungere tutti i punti più interessanti della città: le due Torri, le chiese di Santo Stefano e San Francesco, Piazza Maggiore con i suoi palazzi Medievali e la Basilica di San Petronio.Il quartiere ospita numerosi ristoranti osterie e trattorie tipiche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your University Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing