We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has to be the best B'n'B in Bologna”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

OMG I cant write highly enough of this most amazing place.
Lisa and her mum were fabulous hosts and we will definitely return and would recomend this to anyone wanting to stay in Bologna.
After having been to the University of Bologna 20 years ago this was a nostalgic trip to my university days and I took along my mother and auntie.
We shared a lovely room on the second floor which was very spacious and grandure.
We had our own private bathroom that was big enough to have been another bedroom!
I have to say the cleanliness of the place is immaculate and the firmness of the beds a great tonic.
The breakfast was delicious and the hot drink machine a rarity to find in europe as they dont have facilities to have hot drinks in general in the mediterrean.
That really was the icing on the cake.
The locality of the hotel was spot on for travelling around, a stones throw from the piazza and Via Dell Independenza but obviously its a busy part of the city so I would recommend ear plugs.
It wasnt a problem for myself but I know my mother is a light sleeper so I came prepared and gave her ear plugs.
I cant wait to go back, credit to Lisa and her wonderful staff to keeping this hotel as immaculate as it is and the homemade cake was truly scrumptios
Lisa was very helpful with directions and what attractions were being held there.
Saluti
Angela

Room Tip: I only saw the rooms on the 2nd floor and they all looked great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaDambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 292 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is in the central area of Bologne, although the small road it's situated on is a bit hard to find. It's on the top floor of a residence building, and the hotel itself is very beautiful, just as the pictures show. The room is spacious and beautiful too, overlooking city sceneries. Bathroom is spacious, spotlessly clean, even the curtain is pretty. In the morning, you can have a tray of breakfast in your room. Everything is great but...seems the people are a bit distant. I'm not sure if that's because I'm Asian, they showed that kind of look as if I were from another planet, or maybe I don't speak Italien like all other guests do? I encountered several women living in this building when I tried to open the elevator, the look on their face was definitely alarming and not a bit friendly...It's really a pity because I like the Toscany area a lot...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great experience- We stayed 1 night at the hotel Panorama in a big double room with a wonderful view of the "Colli Bolognesi". The hotel is equipped with wi-fi and ac though has only 3 bathroom for all the guests. Sharing bathrooms wasn't a problem at all because they were perfectly clean and fresh. The staff is the value-added component of the hotel, they are super friendly and always ready to satisfy any request therefore making your stay at the hotel a enjoyable experience. The breakfast is served every morning in the lobby and is very rich, different kinds of fruits are served as well as croissants, orange juice, youghurts, nutella, tea and coffee. I would stay in this hotel again. A+

Room Tip: Central, value for money, friendly staff, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great value of this place just off of the main street and walking distance to Piazza Maggiore. Sort of tough to locate, even though it is right 'downtown'. The hosts do not speak English and occasionally you can hear them arguing in Italian to each other; however, it is somewhat charming. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had 4 nights at Hotel Panorama in a massive 4 bed family room. The staff are lovely, the hotel is spotless and even though there was no bathroom in our room (there was a sink) we never had to wait to use one of the 3 communal bathrooms which were always perfectly clean. Our room faced towards the road so was a little noisy but the location of the hotel, the helpfulness of the staff and our overall experience at Hotel Panorama made up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a spacious double room. Sharing a Bathroom is never a hassle -- the facility is really really clean. Thank you so much for the house-cleaning/maintenance team and the decency of all fellow travelers. Breakfast was great -- Fuji Apple, Banana, Croissant and other Pastries, yogurt are the staples. There is a machine that can make caffe, cappuccino, and caffe lungo and the like at your service. I tried the host Lisa's mama home-made cake one morning -- it was delizioso.

Our room offers a nice view of the city -- we saw birds hovering around and a colorful garden downstairs. It was quite most of the time -- only occasional loud bang of door and walking down the common corridor by some absent-minded guests.

Our host, Lisa, was warm, friendly and very helpful. Her tips on where to eat were spot-on. All ladies at this fine hotel were really friendly and nice -- despite I basically have no command of Italian language, only able to recognize a limited set of expressions, we chatted with an old lady in Italian and she spoke to us. (I finally realized my class of Latin roots in English Vocabs class paid off.) I wish it would have offered free wifi at the hotel, it would have made the trip easier. But the upside was I enjoyed my vacation even more without surfing in the cyberspace. Did I mention the hotel is off the main streets Via Ugo Bassi and Via Dell' Indipendenza? Ugo Bassi which becomes Via Rizzoli is a nice pedestrian only zone on the weekend that I stayed at Bologna (I suspected it would restrict car traffic on special occasions, weekends, or both.) That is a nice place for sauntering. I would recommend you visit the local library at Piazza Maggiore, which is sitting on top of an ancient roman ruins where you can visit on a voluntary donation. I love it there -- some reading in solitude and quietness after fun exploring of the city. All in all it was a wonderful stay and great value for money. Thank you so much for Lisa, Lisa's mama, Mei Ling (I apologize if I get your name wrong), and the sweet old lady who chats with us -- you made our time at Bologna memorable and fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksumserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I had to stay in Bologna an extra day because my bags didn't make it on the same plane as me. The tourist information desk at the Bologna airport recommended this hotel and I was more than pleased. The location was excellent - in the middle of the old town and you can walk to everything. The room was spacious and even had a sink. The shared bathrooms were very clean and the staff was excellent. My only complaint was the noise from the street and early morning construction, but it wasn't too bad. If I go back to Bologna I will most certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 102 in Bologna
772 reviews
San Vitale
Il Canale Hotel
Il Canale Hotel
#7 of 102 in Bologna
541 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,598 reviews
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#61 of 102 in Bologna
216 reviews
Grand Hotel Elite
#49 of 102 in Bologna
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: Via Giovanni Livraghi 1 | Adiacente Piazza Maggiore centro storico artistico, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range: $63 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Panorama Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi and rooms with an LCD TV, Hotel Panorama with only 10 rooms and family run but Multilingual occupies a central position, just 2 streets from Piazza Maggiore. Rooms have a classic design and feature parquet floors and a private bathroom or shared. Some are equipped with air conditioning and views of the hills. The Hotel Panorama is located in a restricted traffic zone and offers discounts for a nearby car park. The hotel is also 500 meters from the Basilica of San Petronio and the Two Towers, the symbol of the City. We are four bus stops (line 25) from the train station, it stops just by our building as well as the Aerobus runs every 15 minutes from the airport to the city center. All lines of City bus have a stop in Via Ugo Bassi, adjacent to the hotel. We remind you that Bologna is a city of arcades, in the center there are 40 km and give you opportunities for walking even in bad weather. Centrally in the city, just 300 meters from Piazza Maggiore and the Two Towers, the symbol of our city. We are in the museum area, some even in the open, spread throughout the center. Within a radius of five hundred meters away we can count more than 40 restaurants, to suit all needs, as well as some cheap fast food, more elegant. There are also two distinctive markets. Movies, local entertainment and shopping area are all around us. The oldest university in Europe is just 600 meters away Check-in is from 7 to 21 and check-out from 7 to 11am , the input and the output from the hotel is free at any time of the day or night. It offered customers a free catering is available 24 hours where you can enjoy hot drinks such as coffee, tea, hot chocolate, served also dry biscuits and fruit. The rooms are cleaned daily as well as the change of towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing