We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central position”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Accademia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Accademia
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Cuneo
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Central position”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The hotel is located in the historical centre of Bologna. All the most important sites are in a walk's distance. The nearest is the wonderful Pinacoteca Nazionale.
If you come by car don't worry for the ZTL because the staff will notify the municipal police with your number plate. They have a garage for 15 €. It may seems a lot but the parking toll outside is usually 1.80 or 2.10 € per hour.
The rooms are clean and quiet.
The staff is very friendly and can give you many useful information.
Breakfast is very rich.
The hotel has no lift.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albyboetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acca10, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank You for Your positive feedback and for describing so well our position and service. As reported, we are in Ztl area and we offer private parking and permission to circulate at 15,00€ per night. We will be glad to give You any directions and assistance and hope to host You soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    186
    90
    17
    7
See reviews for
78
126
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is nice but new AC system was poorly/cheaply designed so that 3-4 rooms share an AC unit that would usually serve a single one or two at most. This as far as I could tell is a problem unrelated to our specific room. Dowstairs in the lobby the AC is also rather poor. So, rooms are like saunas despite the AC working full blast. Thus, enjoy this hotel in the winter in the winter but avoid it in the summer...

Room Tip: If you must sleep in this hotel, lower rooms only, perhaps they are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acca10, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
we thank you for your overall appreciation of our hotel and we feel sorry about the heat but we should mention that this year we experienced the hottest temperatures in the last 50 years. Moreover, the day of Your stay was the hottest of the season with 38 degrees and we understand the inconvenience but any air conditioning would seem poor. We are certain that if you stayed in any other day, you would have enjoyed. However, we are working to renovate the system in order to guarantee the best quality of our service as ever. We wait to to host You in the future for your next stay in our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

A delightful little hotel that was perfectly located for exploring Bologna! You never quite know what area to plump for when you visit somewhere for the first time and I think we lucked out with Hotel Accademia. Having seen the whole city I believe it was probably the best spot for what we wanted on our long weekend away as a pair of 30-something girls looking for a cultural break with nice food and drink experiences in the evening (bearing in mind we couldn’t afford the astronomical prices of the actual centre). Ultimately, from the hotel you are a 10 min walk from the towers and Piazza Maggiore which are both in the heart of the city. In addition, if you want to experience some nice Italian bars you are perfectly placed for Zabano Street which is one of the liveliest areas, probably because it is very near the university (but don’t let that put you off as they were not typical studenty bars as you might expect in this area).

The hotel breakfast is very good and typical of Italian hotels: there was a good selection of fruit, cereals, pastries, breads, ham and cheese. All was very fresh and served alongside fruit juice and good strong Italian coffee.

Our room was basic, but clean with an en suite toilet and proper walk-in shower. All standard rooms face onto the main street, for a little extra I think you can have a room at the back of the hotel. The only disruption we found at the front was church bells which seemed to ring early most mornings, but I expect you may hear these from the upgraded rooms as well, although I’m not sure on this point.

The hotel had free wifi which worked in the bedroom, but was quite slow. There were sofas near reception and the signal was stronger and quicker there. There was also a pc near reception that could be used for free for the internet.

On food and drink, we took a recommendation on our first night from hotel staff for a little area nicknamed ‘jazz street’ where as the name suggests there is live jazz while you eat al fresco in your choice of about 4 different restaurants – this was really lovely and well worth a visit. We also liked Lime Bar on Zabano Street as the cocktails were good value here, we found some of the bars nearer Piazza Maggiore quite expensive. One thing you really must try is the pizza from ‘Dua Torre’ (Two Towers) which is a takeaway tucked just around the corner from the towers themselves. All the locals rave about the pizza from here and it was busy every time we walked past which speaks volumes in my opinion. The slices are huge and tasty and cost less than 2 Euros! Great for when you are sight-seeing and don’t want to sit down for a long lunch!

Finally, on travel, as the hotel website suggests the BLQ bus service from the airport is very easy. It costs 6 Euros per person and as long as you haven’t got loads of luggage is an easy walk from where you get dropped off to the hotel. It takes about 30 minutes and the service runs every 15 mins.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend Hotel Accademia, we had a fantastic experience right through from the quick response emails prior to arrival to the very helpful, friendly and efficient service received at all times during the stay. As stated earlier in the review, we really did feel that the location was great for what we paid and we had everything we needed during our stay.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are all facing onto the main road, this didn't seem to be a problem to me, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstieyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acca10, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank You for your time in reviewing the hotel and for having so well described the location and our service.We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to meet You again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with five friends a few weeks ago. Rooms were clean and hotel is very central to restaurants, museums and shops. It is in the University quarter and the area has a wonderful atmosphere. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and did all they could to help when one member of our group lost money and credit cards. Breakfast was good in comparison with other places where I have stayed. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GObnait28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acca10, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are sincerely grateful for your kind feedback. Our staff is glad to be at disposal for any need and makes all efforts to help the clients in case of necessity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in bologna in this hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, rooms were clean and quite spacious and the continental breakfast was good.

I would really recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere relatively cheap. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caomhinstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acca10, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank You for Your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Bologna and in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good central location in the university area of Bologna. We were welcomed by a lovely English-speaking man on reception who could not have done anymore to help us during our stay. Breakfast was a basic affair, fresh coffees, pastry selection, yoghurts etc-typical of Italy so to be expected. Nothing too fancy!

As it is located in the university area it can be quite noisy if you have a room on the wrong side but cannot say we were bothered by noise at all during the ten days we were here.

Clean, friendly, modern and a great place to explore a fantastic city!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 878Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guests,
we are sincerely grateful for your kind and careful feedback. Our staff is always happy to know that the guests feel comfortable and satisfied during their stay in Hotel Accademia.
For most sensitive guests who could suffer any noise from the University "movida", we will be glad to reserve our most quite rooms facing the inside courtyard and I will be happy to reserve you one of these rooms for your next stay in Bologna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

A very pleasant hotel, maybe 10 minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore. Close to the university, so there are plenty of cheapish eating and drinking places nearby...or you can join the students and sit on the pavement with a bottle of beer ! The hotel is about a mile from the train station, and wasn't difficult to find. The reception staff were really helpful, quick to offer a map of the city and directions to the sights (very good English spoken). The room was pleasant and very clean. Breakfast was fine, with a choice of coffee provided. There is a lounge with free access to a PC; there is no lift however. I thought the hotel was good value, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentwoman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direttore generale at Hotel Accademia, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, thanks for such a nice feedback and I hope to welcome you again in Bologna in Hotel Accademia, where I sincerely hope that You will feel "at home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
University Hotel
#49 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
San Vitale
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#13 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cavour
#30 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Porto
BuonHotel
BuonHotel
#35 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
San Vitale
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Accademia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Accademia

Property: Hotel Accademia
Address: Via delle Belle Arti 6, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Accademia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia is located in the heart of the historical centre town, a few meters from Piazza Maggiore, the main square, and the central rail way station. Nearby the University area and a few kilometers far from the Fiera District and from the Guglielmo Marconi Airport (BLQ).Provided with 28 comfortable rooms, all of them equipped with air conditioner, satellite television, mini-bar, telephone, hairdryer, noiseless double glasses windows and wifi. At disposal of our guests our private car parking and the possibility to access to the ZTL (limited traffic area). Our 24 hour staff will be glad to satisfy all your requests to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Accademia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accademia Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing