We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Bologna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Bologna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

I stayed one night in July on the way back to the UK with my wife and we loved it. The staff are charming, the hotel is just steps away from Piazza Maggiore (which is breathtakingly beautiful), the rooms have everything you need and more and breakfast is excellent. We are determined to go back and I wish most hotels were like the Cappello Rosso! Superb!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank impavidus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    289
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
80
371
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

We passed through here for a one night stay. This is very much an excellent choice for the area. It is central to all the sights and the core area, wired for the business traveler and very stylish as another reviewer has said. The city was the most Italian of all the major cities we visited-that is to say no maps/tourist books being studied or much English spoken as we walked around the area. Loved that aspect of our too short visit. Very clean city with the youngest demographics we encountered due to the presence of a major university just off the downtown core. The staff was great in helping us get oriented, the breaksfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel for anyone making a visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TQJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

A small charming hotel in the heart of Bologna. The rooms were on the smaller side but the amenities and the convinience the property offers makes up for it. The staff was really helpful and made some excellent recommendations.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlust73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2005

stayed here with a group of friends in october 2004. very modern design in old building. Very central and within 500m of main square and shops. Staff helpful and speak good English. Breakfast was good -although fruit salad out of a tin.
would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claireybelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiera Beach, Fl.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2005

We stayed at this hotel, and in Bologna for just one night. We had a good time there, the staff was very impressive. They were helpful and gave us excellent restaurant suggestions close by. The hotel was in a great location for sight seeing.

The rooms were modernized, with internet access. They were clean, neat and the bathroom was a good size. We had a balcony that was requested and granted, but very small. Beware of the flying pigeons that nest out there. I was not expecting this and got surprised!

I personally did not have breakfast, but our friends who travelled with us said it was very good.

Great hotel for the money- would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryninfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2005

We have just concluded 3 days stay in the wonderful city of Bologna. Our hotel Al Cappello Rosso was perfect for us. Very central and in the heart of the old town. The staff were friendly, the decor is fresh and very clean. The rooms are modern and spacious and we had requested a non-smoking room and it really was non-smoking - no tell tale whiffs of stale smoke in the curtains or bedding. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice for continental style. We would highly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank LondonEscapists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2004

My partner and I spent four days in Bologna during a trip to Italy and stayed at the Al Cappello Rosso. This hotel is in a old building but the rooms (including the bathrooms) are very modern and comfortable and appear to have been very recently renovated.The hotel is less than a block away from the Piazza Maggiore which is probably the best area for a tourist to stay. Though its location is convenient, it is on a very quiet side street.It would be hard for a hotel to offer a breakfast to compete with what the numerous cafes and pastry shops offer within the surrounding area, and this hotel just couldn't compete. However, compared to most hotels, the complementary breakfast was pretty good.If you are looking for a quiet, clean, stylish, small hotel that is centrally located, you should be happy with this hotel.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing