We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in the heart of Bologna”
Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in the heart of Bologna”
Reviewed July 16, 2005

A small charming hotel in the heart of Bologna. The rooms were on the smaller side but the amenities and the convinience the property offers makes up for it. The staff was really helpful and made some excellent recommendations.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlust73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    301
    51
    15
    7
See reviews for
84
388
40
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2005

stayed here with a group of friends in october 2004. very modern design in old building. Very central and within 500m of main square and shops. Staff helpful and speak good English. Breakfast was good -although fruit salad out of a tin.
would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claireybelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madiera Beach, Fl.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2005

We stayed at this hotel, and in Bologna for just one night. We had a good time there, the staff was very impressive. They were helpful and gave us excellent restaurant suggestions close by. The hotel was in a great location for sight seeing.

The rooms were modernized, with internet access. They were clean, neat and the bathroom was a good size. We had a balcony that was requested and granted, but very small. Beware of the flying pigeons that nest out there. I was not expecting this and got surprised!

I personally did not have breakfast, but our friends who travelled with us said it was very good.

Great hotel for the money- would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryninfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2005

We have just concluded 3 days stay in the wonderful city of Bologna. Our hotel Al Cappello Rosso was perfect for us. Very central and in the heart of the old town. The staff were friendly, the decor is fresh and very clean. The rooms are modern and spacious and we had requested a non-smoking room and it really was non-smoking - no tell tale whiffs of stale smoke in the curtains or bedding. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice for continental style. We would highly recommend this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank LondonEscapists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 28, 2004

My partner and I spent four days in Bologna during a trip to Italy and stayed at the Al Cappello Rosso. This hotel is in a old building but the rooms (including the bathrooms) are very modern and comfortable and appear to have been very recently renovated.The hotel is less than a block away from the Piazza Maggiore which is probably the best area for a tourist to stay. Though its location is convenient, it is on a very quiet side street.It would be hard for a hotel to offer a breakfast to compete with what the numerous cafes and pastry shops offer within the surrounding area, and this hotel just couldn't compete. However, compared to most hotels, the complementary breakfast was pretty good.If you are looking for a quiet, clean, stylish, small hotel that is centrally located, you should be happy with this hotel.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2004

Stayed 2 nights in a double--paid more than 150 euro/night in Feb.--a bit pricey. Room was small, and predominant color theme was red, even the carpet was a red, white, and beige pattern. They had slippers, and a fax machine for the guest. The heating system was a bit old and made some noises--but not so noisy that you can't sleep. Our room faced the street, and you can hear people and trucks outside the window in the morning. The plus side is that the hotel is in the old part of Bologna so there is little traffic up and down the street. Another plus side is the walls aren't thin--unlike some of the later hotels we would stay in in Italy. A final plus is the hotel is very central--it's two blocks from the P. Maggiore and the Fountain of Neptune.

The predominant clientele appears to be business people, although we did see some German tourists there on our last day. The service was good, and the staff very helpful.

The breakfast was great--best food we've had in italy. There was a plentiful supply of cold cuts--salami and prosciutto, hardboiled eggs, rolls, yogurts, cereal, granola, dried and fresh fruits, fresh baked pastries--croissants (3 types), cream puffs one morning and carrot cake the next, blood orange juice, pineapple juice, and most impressive of all made-to-order expresso, cappuccino, or whatever the guest fancies.

Bottom line: I would stay at the hotel again if I'm in Bologna.

Helpful?
11 Thank sflil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
841 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#9 of 103 in Bologna
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing