We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location! Accommodating staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location! Accommodating staff!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

This staff handled everything from room change to umbrellas to wheelchair for my elderly father with care.

Great location steps from piazza maggiore.

Not for people looking for nice lobby and front desk. This is slightly awkward space with odd contemporary furnishings.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoMarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    294
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
80
375
40
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very central, convenient location, everything you'd need within easy walking distance. My "room" turned out to be a whole apartment, larger than my California home! Large bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen, 2 dining spaces, large living room. Pay the extra 10 euros for lovely hot breakfast buffet in hotel cafe! Staff extremely helpful & multilingual. Hotel was closing for week of remodeling last week of July...didn't see much need for remodel of my space! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingoink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We found The Al Cappello Rosso whilst searching for a hotel in Bologna, for our Honeymoon. Not knowing anything about Bologna beyond the Tourist information, we chose the hotel based on it's vicinity to the main square (Piazza Maggiore) and the themed bedrooms/suites.
When we arrived in Bololgna we immediately had 'lost' luggage issues. The staff at the hotel helped us resolve this and had out luggage to us within 12 hours. Our bedroom was based on a typewriter (to my knowledge it was designed by local artists to coincide with a festival, that had passed by the time we arrived.)
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant which was located just to the right of reception. The food was entirely continental, with no hint of British influence (not a complaint, I was happy for the change!) coffee was made fresh to order; including the beans being ground FRESHLY. The serving staff were brilliant and although very professional, they gave a warm, personal service; like you were a regular.
What was quite novel is the elevator floor changed daily and the fresh floor mat had the day printed on it.
All in all, my wife and I were very happy. The service, the location & the memories made.

On a side note, the restaurant of an evening is also open. The food is fresh and packed with those authentic flavours that the restaurants in the UK can only dream about recreating. They also serve Birra Ronzani. A locally brewed blonde beer, in a tall brown bottle. By far, the single greatest italian beer.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in the Olivetti room and it was much better that the one which we had been booked in at a greater price as although smaller it had natural light, rather than being under the eaves.
Staff were helpful but one did not like the comments I made about our difficulties getting there by car from the airport as directions on the website did not start so far away and city centre driving is highly regulated. Hopefully directions from the airport will now be included on the website, or advice given to go by taxi and then go back to the airport if necessary to pick up a car rental and continue trip around Italy. Altogether the cost may work out as garage cost would be saved too.
Nice breakfast and helpful staff, but some international newspapers rather than purely italian one would be welcome for this quality of hotel.

Room Tip: wifi is rather erratic and not readily available in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrigitteM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked for a night in the apartment from Expedia. No info provided when booking to advise that the apartment is actually in separate building to the hotel - until we receive the email confirmation (after paying) Very disappointed upon arrival to find that the apartment is quite a walk away from the main hotel, in a totally separate building where you feel completely stripped away of any luxury atmosphere that a four star hotel is meant to offer. Poorly lit staircase and elevator, then greeted by an underwhelming apartment equipped with cheap furnitures, dusty thick curtains and a mouldy smelling poorly lit bathroom.
Did I mention wifi password provided is 30 characters long of impossible string of upper/lower case alphabets and numbers?
Reception was helpful in swapping us to a room in the main hotel at a cost for the junior suite.
We settled in quickly until the bath started leaking and water pressure playing up.
All in all, hotel staff resolved the issues efficiently but the quality of room is definitely NOT four star quality.
The apartment advertised is misleading and definitely should not be the same price as a room in the hotel.



Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locandiera R, Direttore at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr Paplow,

first of all thank you for the review.
We are sorry that you did not have all the infos upon reservation. We have already asked Expedia to solve the problem with the apartments' descriptions: they have some setting problems that they will try to overcome so as to make the description more complete. We really care about giving all the infos and if you check our website you can see that everything is stated very clearly.
The password was very long because we had just changed the wifi system. We changed all the passwords since then so that now they all are more simple.
As for the rooms in the hotel, we showed you both a Theme room and a junior suite. To overcome the fact that you did not like the apartment we did not charge you the full price for the junior suite.
We hope you will come back and see you soon to leave you a better memory of the hotel.

Kind regards
Marianna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Each room in this hotel has a different theme and design. We stayed in one that decorated by graphic novel artists. Not only were there framed illustrations but there were also illustrations on the walls. It was quite neat. There was a "Click" drawn next to the light switch. The bed was comfortable, The bathroom was quite nice and the safe was big enough to fit our iPad. The front desk people were nice and quite helpful. The location was just off one of the main squares and near the main street running through Bologna. It was a nice place to stay and worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinghusband2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely hotel ,all the staff were friendly and helpful ,the room was clean and comfortable.It is really well placed to all the places of interest and some great restaurants not to mention there own .brilliant breakfast would stay again no probs

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
803 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
2,291 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
468 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#8 of 104 in Bologna
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing