We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Cappello Rosso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Cappello Rosso
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay here. We loved it! We stayed in the SHOCK PINK room, which was really quirky. The hotel is in a great location right next to the square.
All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a bonus to get free wifi in the rooms too.
We didnt'nt eat in the restaurant, however the breakfast choice was good. We will definately be returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had the Shock Pink room and loved it, there are other unusual rooms to.! Makes you intrigued to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    294
    47
    15
    7
See reviews for
80
375
40
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

we booked a family room and only upon checking in found out that the room was actually an apartment to a nearby private building therefore I can't really rate the hotel except for the breakfast which was good.
The apartment itself was nice and clean and even had a kitchen area (who in his sane mind would actually cook in the hotel room while visiting one of the food capitals of the world?), i just think we should have been told beforehand that we were not going to stay within the hotel property.
Location is very good as mentioned in many other reviews. Unless you have a Smart car or any other tiny car I wouldn't recommend using the parking as it is in a basement and parking here would be one of the most challenging parking you have ever attempted.
Staff was nice so overall this property is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locandiera R, Front Office Manager at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Mr Francesco,

thanks for the review and for the compliments to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
As for the fact that you did not know the apartment was in a nearby building, we had clearly stated both during the phone calls and by email (you can also check the email I sent on 5th June) that the apartment was outside the hotel. The reservation was made directly and in Italian and so we never talked about a “family room” (also because we do not have family rooms!)
What you write then is a bit of a disappointment to us because we always take good care to describe our rooms and apartments clearly.
As for the parking, being in the heart of a medieval city almost all of the spaces are in the basement, and some are small, but we all the same consider it a great plus to be able to park in the city centre!
Thanks again and we hope you will come back and stay in the hotel rooms (for families we have intercommunicating rooms – but they were not available during your stay as clearly stated on the phone).
Deborah – Front Office Manager - Hotel Al Cappello Rosso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lovely hotel in the heart of bologna. Helpful reception with nice bar restaurant next door.very close to all major attractions and great restaurants. Free wifi and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms.didnt have breakfast but enjoyed bar next door with good selection of wine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmhMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Matilda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Absolutely wonderful. I felt instantly welcome. Antonella was a huge help even though I had many many questions and was mostly uninformed when I arrived. Diego and George were super helping me store and assemble and pack my bicycle… which they so easily accommodated with pleasure… they treated it gently and carefully too… just like I treat it… something most people don’t do with oddball items. Sergio didn’t even bat an eye when I was up at dawn to ride. Marianna’s morning kindness, helpfulness, friendliness, and smile made me feel at home at solo post bicycle ride breakfasts. Maybe it was my bicycle,, though every single person there recalled my name the second time they saw me. How often does that happen?

It is in a perfect location, just steps away from the Piazza Maggiore. My apartment was spacious enough for a family. The bed and pillows the most comfortable of any in Italy and superior to even some of the best places I’ve stayed in Washington DC and other major metropolitan areas around the world.

Room Tip: The apartment was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is a very good choise for touristic purposes visits. It is located at the corner of the Piazza Maggiore which is the historic centre of the old city. You can take a walk almost everywhere in the old city. Hotel rooms are relatively small but considering that the building is very old construction from historic part of Bologna I didnt expect a bigger areas in the hotel. Generally rooms are well designed , bathroom comfortable . Reception area as a bit small but the staff is very helpful. There is an osteria which I couldnt try this time but it looked nice to me. I was in bologna for business purposes but still happy with this hotel which was easy to reach everywhere in bologna in 20min drive by taxi. Price is not the cheapest, my suggestion is to check other hotel prices around the city. complain is about pillows. They were a bit hard.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atacan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locandiera R, Front Office Manager at Al Cappello Rosso, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mr Atacan,

thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the staff. We really hope next time you will take a try at our Osteria and let us know what you think.

As for the rooms, they are small but very well designed and comfortable (you have certainly been able to appreciate all the facilities in the room and bathroom). If you look for a special room, please check our “theme” rooms on our website: they are especially designed and one of a kind. Maybe next time you can ask for the one you like best.

We are a bit astonished about the pillows: we know it is difficult to sleep when not at home so we take particular attention and in every room there is a pillow menu, so that the guests can choose the one they prefer. It is on the bedside table.

We look forward to meeting you.
Deborah Caprili - Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Terrific place to use as a base to explore Bologna. Centrally located right off the Piazza Maggiore with free wifi, helpful staff, free bikes to use. Comfortable bedding, not cobbled together singles as is the case so often in Italy.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor facing the street may be too noisy for others. Bologna is a lively town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Absolute79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. I visit Bologna every year and I have to say this is my favourite hotel so far... the location is right in the centre and although the building is old, the rooms are clean, modern and quiet. The added advantage of this hotel is that it has a small restaurant - not the typical hotel restaurant - but one that has a street side entrance that is used by the locals too.. this is also used for breakfast. The staff are friendly and the food is excellent, catering also for coeliacs (all meals), which is a find in an Italian city. The only disadvantage is that as you would expect from an old historic building, the rooms can be quite small ...so unless you plan to spend the majority of your stay in the room, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
803 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
2,291 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
468 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#8 of 104 in Bologna
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Cappello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Cappello Rosso

Property: Al Cappello Rosso
Address: Via De' Fusari 9 | Piazza Maggiore, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bologna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Al Cappello Rosso 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Cappello Rosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Cappello Rosso Bologna
Al Cappello Rosso Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing