We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Cappello Rosso
Nearby Hotels
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savhotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aemilia Hotel(Bologna)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Touring(Bologna)
$182
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$416
$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$406
$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
456
343
53
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
343
53
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza maggioregreat locationthemed roomspillow menuthe main squarestone's throwquirky hotelturn down servicequiet streetcentre of bolognaside streetthe main hotelweekend breakjust round the cornerwould highly recommend this hoteltop floorwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 876 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We spent three nights in this hotel. It was an excellent introduction both to Italy and to Bologna. The room was very comfortable and with lots of extras provided, though a little dark and occasionally subject to some noise from the nearby Piazza Maggiore. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and answered our many questions in a very useful manner. The location is ideal - a very short stroll from the centre. The hotel operates an exchange of book service for avid readers which saves having to buy new books. The breakfast was pleasant with plenty of hot and cold choices though served in a slightly frenetic manner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which looks away from the square
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ColinLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Ok, it might not be the cheapest hotel and the breakfast can do with a little more variety and abundance, but this does not dent the overall good feeling about our 3 night weekend stay in this small hotel at the very centre of Bologna. The decor is cosy and modern, and impeccably clean. Our room (matrimoniale standard) was nicely furnished and the linen and bathroom were always tidy.
The two biggest pluses for this hotel are its location and very helpful and friendly staff. As for the former, the hotel is just off Piazza Maggiore and within a few minutes walk from the major attractions in Bologna, which is quite helpful in uncertain February weather.
Moreover the people at the reception desk, especially Antonella, were very helpful with all our needs - especially in suggesting and booking for us places where to eat. Such attidude really makes you feel welcome, and was the cherry on the cake for our short but very satisfying stay in Bologna.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexGFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

What can I say about this hotel..

Excellent staff, very helpfull and pleasant. They treated my friend and I very well, either in reception, helping us finding a place to have dinner or in the bar/restaurant.

Large variety to choose for breakfast, from cook things to cereals, fruit, cookies, yogurts, etc

The room was very clean, with tea and coffee facilities. We had a problem with the heating in the bathroom which they fixed in the day.

Another possitive thing about the hotel is the location, right in the centre of Bolgna, close to everything within a short walk.

I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estherilla76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

we stayed for two nights at al cappello rosso bologna for how the website looked, and it's location. It was a great choice. The room was lovely and spacious enough for an extra bed for our daughter.
wonderful bathroom...best bath and shower in 8 months travelling in italy.
all the little extras.
good sheets, towels etc
fantastic bed, really large, very comfortable.
very quiet with double glazing.
the location is 2 mins walk to piazza maggiore. Perfect.

the breakfast was one of the best we've had, and the great thing was it wasn't an ordinary hotel breakfast room, it was a real cafe as well which gave it that lovely real feel...locals walking in one door and guests approaching from within the hotel - this was perfect....nothing worse than a totally internal drab breakfast room with guests only.

great espresso coffee and great service.

we were supplied with a cable for internet which was free and very fast internet.

good heating in the room (it was very cold in bologna when we were there).

they helped show us where the parkng was by actually going in the car with my husband both when we arrived, and when he went to pick up the car when we left, in case he had forgotten the way back! parking was 25 euros a day on top of the room and very close to the hotel.

would definitely stay there agan, and would definitely reccommend this hotel, it was perfect for the price.

only suggestion: satellite tv would be good with english movie channells and BBC....fior non italian guests

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharonafraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hotel Albergo Al Cappello Rosso was a true gem. The walk from the train station to the hotel was relatively easy to navigate. The hotel was in close proximity to all the sites and the full breakfast that was offered was exceptional. They even put chocolates on our pillow! The hotel and staff were very accommodating and we would not hesitate to stay there again when we return to Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews