We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you want a Motel 6 with worse services and dirtier carpets.”
Review of Flyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flyon Hotel
Ranked #73 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

No Internet, no services, three people on staff, beat up facilities...better than a Motel 6 for airport overnight.

I stay in SPG hotels monthly. This is the worst one ever that I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world.

Simple suggestion: fire everyone. Gut the pig. Start over. Do better. This is a mess.

If you want to wallow in guano, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDaveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 629 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you need to fly out early from Bologna this is your hotel. Shuttle service to & from the airport plus limited shuttle service into the center of the city. Perfect property with super great rates if you are willing to pre-pay your room. Have stayed here several times when the only connections leaving early were out of Bologna. The airport is also recently remodeled and runs very efficiently. Have also eaten at the hotel; food was very good. Will use this hotel again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this is a property ripe for redevelopment.

It is very close to the airport (pick the shuttle bus up just outside arrivals) and this is a good factor. The bathroom was clean, but just had that feel of an old place in need of a deep clean (tired flooring, mould stains on the ceiling)

Shower pressure was ok, but nothing amazing.

Staff were very helpful for a couple of requests and spoke and understood English well (phew!)

Note that the shuttle bus is likely to be full if you are on the first flight out. Taxi to the airport at 04:45 was €15.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iksloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

As the only real option near the airport for an early flight, I stayed there for one night. The best of all is their staff: professional, friendly and willing to help you; 10/10 for them. But the facilities are in desperate need of some investment: dirty old carpets in the halls, walls in need of some painting, dirty and old bathtubs. The breakfast was good, slightly above the average for this type of hotels. One more thing: if you want internet in your room it will cost you $19 Eur!!! The free wifi in the lobby works very well. My guess is that they are too complacent with themselves as there are not many options for someone who needs to be sleep close to the airport and the hotel seems to have high occupancy even with its problems.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dera Guest,
thank you for your comments.
As I already mention on this site we are in the process of refurbishing the hotel.
I hope during your next stay everything will be 10/10.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked a stay here for one night given my late arrival (after midnight) at Bologna airport. Unfortunately, the last hotel shuttle picks up at the airport around 11:30pm. Fortunately, it's a relatively quick taxi ride to the hotel, but cost me 11 euro.

There's nothing wrong with the hotel per se, it simply feels like it could use a bit of a refresh. The carpet in my room was frayed in multiple places. The fitness room did not have any towels or water available. The computers downstairs had such an old version of Internet Explorer installed that Gmail refused to load. And so on.

If you're looking for a convenient hotel by the airport, the Sheraton will certainly suffice. Just expect average.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank lunpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments.
As a direct result the computer will be checked and upgraded as necessary.
we look forward to welcoming you back
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I just needed one night, in transit. I checked taxi drivers, the "around me" app, and this was the only "real" hotel near the airport. And it isn't all that near. You need a taxi to get there.

The place itself is ok. Rooms are fine. Decor is dated, but not run down. Free breakfast and wifi if you ask nicely.

Not a place to look forward to, but not one you'll regret either!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments.
You have summed up the hotel in balanced way.
Sheraton Bologna is a hotel for business and majority of our guests are coorporate.
it is also convenient for travellers who use the airport.
we look forward to welcoming you back
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Italy and needed a hotel close to the Bologna airport. It is a 3 mins ride in the hotel shuttle to the airport which runs every 15 mins. The check in was quick and easy. The rooms were spacious and clean along with the bathrooms. We really were not here for long as we got in around 730pm and left the next morning around 615am for the airport. The staff was friendly and helpful. They provide a local restaurant suggestion that was within walking distance and it turned out to be a very good place to eat. I would stay here again if I needed an airport hotel. It is not an ideal location if you are visiting the tourist areas of Bologna but it is ideal for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dellosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments.
You have summed up the hotel in balanced way.
we look forward to welcoming you back
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#35 of 102 in Bologna
1,178 reviews
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#30 of 102 in Bologna
477 reviews
Amadeus Hotel
#46 of 102 in Bologna
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#58 of 102 in Bologna
214 reviews
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Del Borgo
Hotel Del Borgo
#57 of 102 in Bologna
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flyon Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Aeroporto 34/36, 40132 Bologna, Italy (Formerly Airport Palace Hotel Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bologna Hotel Bologna
Sheraton Bologna Hotel And Conference Center
Bologna Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing