We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flyon Hotel
Ranked #68 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Relatively nice hotel near the airport. The rates are rather high and the Internet is slow and expensive. The best part of this hotel is its convenience to the airport. The shuttle is also not so obvious to find at the airport, which is under construction. Perhaps all will be simpler after the construction.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Erinmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your comments.
We have just improved the internet connection speed.
Sorry for the airport shuttle stop as you will understand because of the construction work, it is out of our hands
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    190
    188
    74
    48
See reviews for
43
112
50
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Speed internet you have to pay for but which is slow and into which you have to reconnect all the time.
Free shuttle from the airport with a very precise timetable published, but no bus stop or information at the airport and no sign of the shuttle at the published time.
Building an airport hotel you would think someone might have taken potential noise from planes into consideration but no so better to bring earplugs if intending to sleep past 6am.

Room Tip: request room facing away from airport landing strip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your comments.
Due to the current construction work at the airport the bus stop has been temporarily moved.
This situation unfortunately is out of our hands.
regarding the interneet connection we have just upgraded the system to offer a better service.
Sorry but i find the noise from the airport very strange because all the hotel is soundproofed and we haven't received any complaints before.
please let me know details about which room you stayed in in order for me to investigate further.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bologna hotels

London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Got a great deal here last week €120 at the last minute. Very nice rooms and very comfortable bed. Decent shuttle service to the airport and an excellent restaurant next door (Nonno Rossi - nothing to do with the hotel tho). If you need a hotel close to Bologna airport this is worth a visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIREZIONESHERATON, Direttore at Flyon Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your comments.
I would like to invite you to dine at hotel's restaurant the next time I'm sure you'll find the food and service to your satisfaction.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Anyone who arrives, as I did, at the Bologna airport Sheraton expecting it to be like an American Mariott/Radisson/Sheraton is bound to be disappointed, as I was. I only stayed overnight, so I can't comment on the conference facilities. But here are the shortcomings that are likely to disappoint the weary traveler:
1) Wifi internet is 10€ per 12 hours. Granted, many hotels in Italy still make you pay for internet, but it's becoming more and more annoying as it becomes less and less the rule.
2) The TV in my room was a 32" LCD (good), but the channel offerings are pathetic. Mostly just standard Italian TV plus CNN, TVE (Spain) and a couple of other international channels. There are a couple of Sky movie channels, but in Italian. No premium movie service whatsoever.
3) Rooms are spacious and the beds are comfy - that's the 4-star touch. But there's no way to iron your clothes in the room (if you brought a travel iron, tough, there's a sign telling you not to use an iron under any circumstances!), no coffee maker, no mini bar, and only basic bathroom amenities (shampoo, shower gel, that's it.)
4) I arrived on a Sunday evening and the bar was closed (apparently it's closed all Sunday). The restaurant was open and the food was good, though not inexpensive.
5) In the spacious lobby there are just a few newspapers locked onto long sticks, all in Italian.
6) The breakfast buffet is merely OK, with nothing hot unless you count toast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHFels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with everything you need to make your stay productive. Large rooms with king size beds, flat screen TV and nice marble bathroom. Hotel was clean and well staffed. Several lounge areas for meeting business associates and a nice patio when the weather cooperates. Breakfast is overpriced as is typical in european hotels, so go into town if you can. The plus is that this hotel is 2 minutes from the airport, the minus is that this hotel is 2 minutes from the airport and 20 from downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel, which is tucked away behind the airport in a convenient place. The room was very comfortable and clean. Great customer service was provided by Anna at Front office, while a gentleman who served me dinner on Saturday night (27th) at the restaurant, whose name I do not know, was very professional. The hotel may need a little loving and attention in terms of its decòr, however the stay was rather pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel is very old and is not at the quality level of starwood group. The number of staff at front desk is not enough and we had to wait a lot for all process at reception. For example we have waited around 15 minutes for check in. Hotel is far away from city center and the number of shutlle to city center is very limited. There are only 3 shutlle from hotel to city center at 08.00 am, 3 .00pm and 08.00 pm. There should be some more service during the day. WiFi doesn't work at first and second floor.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are better and at the level of standart rooms comparing the other sheraton hotels. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamerpIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bologna
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Hotel Brianza
#2 of 3 in Calderara di Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Amadeus Hotel
#44 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Del Borgo
Hotel Del Borgo
#55 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#27 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Savena
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tower Hotel Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flyon Hotel

Property: Flyon Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Aeroporto 34/36, 40132 Bologna, Italy (Formerly Airport Palace Hotel Hotel & Conference Center)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Flyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bologna Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Bologna Hotel Bologna
Bologna Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing