We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but too close to the airport runway”
Review of Flyon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flyon Hotel
Ranked #73 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I've slept in this hotel about ten times and I exprienced always a good service: Room Service, Newspapers out the door. If you end up into the side which's face to the wood you'll be fine, but if your room faces the Airport Runway you won't fall in sleep and feel the good smell of jet aircrafts kerosene. Good breakfast and restaurant.

Be careful and book the southern rooms.

Room Tip: Don't ask for rooms facing the Airport Runway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 629 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

Not very clean; carpets were stained/moldy and I found two bugs in my room. But bed was typical nice Sheraton bed. Still woke up with a bug bite : (. Hotel was way overpriced - I paid approximately € 120 - overpriced because only hotel close to airport (in industrial area, actually). There is nothing nearby or within walking distance (if you don't have a car). Definitely take advantage of their location and catering themselves as a "business travelers hotel/conference center" to charge outrageous prices. I would never hold a conference here due to condition issues with hotel.

Two big pluses were the ample free Internet terminals in the Reception area and the free shuttle to from airport/train station. However, it runs on a limited, set schedule so be sure to check it online or request it from the hotel when planning. A taxi from the train station to the hotel is quite expensive. There was no shuttle at the time I arrived so instead of shelling out for a taxi I took the bus ( € 6) to the airport, did my VAT refunds the night before my early morning flight and then took the free shuttle back to the hotel to check in.

Free breakfast was decent and good selection. Dinner at restaurant average. Not a large selection.

Would only recommend if you have an early flight out of BLQ and want to take advantage of free shuttle. Tip for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italianinformerlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The room was large enough, the bed was cery comfortable, the bathroom was all marble, clean and renewed. But the general decoration of the hotel is old fashioned, like 80's. The breakfast included a variety of cakes, more like a 5 o'clock teatime, than a breakfast. It's close to airport. I would expect the whole decoration to be modern especially the reception and the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YelinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

unless you are out of options never stay in this hotel. Outdated, understaffed, and has no management. do not expect what you would usually see in a starwood property in terms of service or rooms. internet is so slow. Tv System is barely visible dur to bad service and front desk staff will most probably yell at you if you complain. I think this hotel is out of starwood international radar system.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

which is supposed to be 1 of the most efficient cities in Italy. I stayed here w/a combination of SPG points and US$30 because was arriving late. While waiting to check in, clerk took care of a long-legged young Italian who was not waiting in line, delaying me by almost 10 minutes. No apology was offered. Only reason to stay here is proximity to airport -- and as it does provide shuttle from there, it would be great convenience to its guests and make more sense if it could provide shuttle to downtown at other times besides 8am and 3pm! Taxi costs E20 for a 4km ride. Room was just adequate, not particularly spacious. Dinner was overpriced (as you would expect at hotel) and so-so, menu stated "When we run out of fresh ingredients, we serve frozen food." Considering Bologna is one of the greatest places to visit in Italy, this Sheraton has a lot of work to do to get up to standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumpsturdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have pretty low expectations for airport hotels, so I was pleasantly surprised to find this one more than sufficient for what I needed the night before an early flight out of bologna. The service is a little "light" but what was important to me was (a) very quiet and soundproof, (b) nice layout with rooms on the same floor you enter (so easy to get there with luggage), (c) very convenient shuttle to airport every 15 minutes, and (d) BONUS - quite delicious food in the restaurant! I had to have spaghetti bolognese, being in bologna:) And it was wonderfully prepared, our waiter recommended a nice wine, and the meal was definitely far better than the average airport hotel in the US . Oh, forgot to mention the room was a very good size, with a nice bathroom

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveldreams06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel is an odd one. When i first booked I thought being a conference centre i thought it would be used to what that would entail as in efficient and business friendly. i wouldn't have minded if they were just friendly but this was not the case with the exception of the restaurant staff who were great. Do not inconvenience the staff at the front desk mind you if you are in your room and ring down to the front desk they are unlikely to even pick up the phone!!!!! It took me a half an hour to get them to answer the phone. I have travelled the world and have never stayed in a hotel where the front desk don't actually answer the phone. When i questioned them about it when i eventually got them on the line, they informed me that they were probably busy!!!! You would not want to have an emergency here because no-one will come to your aid. You would normally expect a Sheraton to be of a good standard but this one should be embarrassed to call itself a Sheraton. The only good this about it is that it is next door to the Bologna Airport. The rooms are a good size and are clean and tidy but you will not have an iron, or coffee making facilities in your room, apparently this is regulation and they are not allowed to provide these things as it is a safety issue. Does this mean that the rest of the worlds accommodation isn't safe???? Such utter nonsense. Personally I think they want to make more money on drycleaning and restaurant services. As a conference centre they should also have wireless internet for free. I also don't think they know the meaning of air conditioning.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel unless you have an early morning flight out of Bologna Airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbird2631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bologna
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#35 of 102 in Bologna
1,178 reviews
Borgo Panigale
My One Hotel Bologna
My One Hotel Bologna
#30 of 102 in Bologna
476 reviews
Amadeus Hotel
#46 of 102 in Bologna
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Brianza
#2 of 3 in Calderara di Reno
237 reviews
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
Navile
Arcoveggio Hotel
Arcoveggio Hotel
#56 of 102 in Bologna
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flyon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flyon Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Aeroporto 34/36, 40132 Bologna, Italy (Formerly Airport Palace Hotel Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $68 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flyon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flyon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bologna Hotel Bologna
Sheraton Bologna Hotel And Conference Center
Bologna Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing