We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe what they say about the air con”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Don't believe what they say about the air con”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel, I would suggest that you pay a bit more and stay somewhere else. The receptionist was rude and every day they turned the air con off at a central point for hours When I complained they shrugged their shoulders and said there was nothing they could do about it because it was on an automatic timer. This is a lie. It was funny how it was always freezing in the staff areas! It wasn't until I started speaking and complaining in Italian did they do something about it. From that point on the air con was not turned off 'automatically' and we had great air con all the time. I felt sorry for all the other guests who would have been hot and with no air con.

If you choose to stay here make sure that you get to the breakfast early because they run out of food quickly and do not top up the food very quickly if at all. The breakfast food is average but ok.

The location is ok if you want to be close to the train station but it is about a 15 min walk into the city centre. Don't bother to use the free bikes that they have because they are dangerous, the seats and the bike chains fall off and the brakes didn't work.

The furniture was old and worn but clean enough. The room was big but the shower and bathroom was small. Our room had a ludicrous excercise bike that was made out to be a feature of the room, it was even promoted to be a special bonus. It made a great rack to dry our clothes on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whole-lotta-moxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    141
    196
    68
    75
See reviews for
81
186
57
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

For a short stay in Bologna, and considering day trips into Pisa/Lucca, Venice, or traveling on north it is a great location. Short walk from the station with comfortable spacious rooms, very clean bathrooms, and rooms cleaned daily it is a great option. Few local eats locally but closed on Sunday/Monday, (only pizza places open). Staff are friendly. Breakfast is good and plentiful (breads, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt etc). Highly recommend for couples. Consider booking in advance on trenitalia to get promo fares to Venice if planning day trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was a great pleasure to stay in this hotel which gave us a lot of pleasure during our stay during four nights with a very acceptable price and high quality for a three star hotel. The breakfast was always very good and made a good start of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Antoine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just awful!The rude receptionist,gave our room to a couple that arriverd 20 minutes earlier,despite the fact that we have made a reservation...His excuse was that he wasnt sure if we will finally go,so he prefered to give the room to anyone arriving earlier...We ended up,wandering in the streets of Bologna with our luggages at 10 o clock in the night..So rude and anti-touristic behaviour for the fabulus Bologna!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My friend and I booked for five nights here and although we really enjoyed ourselves, there were just a few small details that bring the overall rating down in my review...

We were informed at check-in that we would be staying in an apartment about 15 min walk from the hotel. We were driven to the apartment block. The place was lovely, with a television and air conditioning. The bed/sleeping space was up a spiral staircase (which could be difficult with big suitcases or a lot of luggage). Got very hot at night, despite the air conditioning, which only ever seemed to reach the lower floor. There was also a kitchenette (with percolator, kettle and basic dining utensils) and circular dining table with four chairs. The mini-fridge kept our things cool but I wouldn't say cold. Bathroom was fine also, towels provided (although our shower water was more lukewarm than anything).

One thing that baffled me and my friend was that there was no couch opposite the tv. We either had to use the dining chairs, or sit on the floor. It would have been nice to have a couch to sit on in the evenings when our sleeping and living spaces were so separated. Another suggestion would be basic dishwashing products- we were really only rinsing our dishes with water and my friend and I both felt that kind of thing should have been provided.

We specifically booked a hotel that had wifi service, as the nature of our stay and activities meant that we wanted internet access when we were in our room in the mornings and nights. The hotel itself had wifi- the apartment did not, which we did not discover until we were actually there and trying to plan our day. We were able to go to the hotel any time we wanted to use the wifi for free, but it was just an additional trip we had to make on the side, which was an inconvenience we had wanted to avoid.

Apart from that, service was good (and room was cleaned daily), the accommodation was good, locations good. Would stay here again, but with a bit more preparation :o)

Room Tip: Just confirm whether you will be in the hotel or an apartment at a separate location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is near the Railway station. which was a plus for us. The staff is very friendly and speak french and english also. The room was okay, clean. There was no shower curtain tho, and some tiny flies in the bathroom's window. There is a little fridge you can use in your room and there is A/C (only working on days - not nights). There is a small breakfast in the lobby in the morning, but when we arrived, there was almost nothing left and they were not filling the plates. This is an hotel I recommend for its location and its nice night of sleep!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The arrival to the hotel went without any problems. The descent to the parking facility is fairly steep, but if you dont have a low rider it should be no problem. There is free wifi in the hotel and when we were there was the password hastoria. You can drive to the hotel without getting into the part of town with limited access for traffic.

The apartment was located in a quiet side street, 10 min walk from the hotel, with a grocery store just 10 meters away and a small restaurant on the other side of the road. The food in the restaurant was maybe a little average, but then it was very cheap to eat there. The flat itself was on the first floor in a backyard, so there was 100% calm and quiet at night, it was nice and pretty, and was cleaned every day. The first night we had problems with the shower, but it was repaired the next day, without we mentioned it to anyone.

Within 10 minutes walk is all that a tourist might need, several merchants, restaurants, a pharmacy (we had big problems with insect bites), and several of the city's main tourist attractions. The train station is also about a 10 minute walk from the apartment, and we used to visit both Ravenna (1 ½ hours) and Modena (½ hour), you should be aware that last trip home from Ravenna is already a little over 20 a clock

Bologna city is very exciting, and the 36 km arcades in the city makes it possible you almost always can go in the shade, which can be advantageous when the temperature is 30 + degrees celcious.

The reason for the 3 stars was all the insect bites we got, I am sure it came from some sort of bed bugs. So remember a insect spray if staying at the appartment. We did tell the hotel manager, but he did not do anything to remedy the situation. But with insect spray you should be fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#66 of 103 in Bologna
717 reviews
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#33 of 103 in Bologna
909 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 103 in Bologna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Bologna Centro
#50 of 103 in Bologna
2,078 reviews
Hotel Il Guercino
#29 of 103 in Bologna
1,500 reviews
Hotel Europa
#53 of 103 in Bologna
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Bologna

Property: Astoria Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 14, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing