We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Corona d'Oro is a very pleasant hotel situated in a wonderful location right in the heart of the old city. The rooms are bright and clean and those facing the inner courtyard are quiet. The staff are very helpful and give good advice on restaurants and shopping. I phoned the hotel directly and I was offered a very good room rate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    222
    42
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
423
63
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The Art Corona d'Oro is in a perfect spot, close to the center city on a quiet street. The hotel itself is magnificent with a very tasteful lobby and well appointed rooms. The breakfast selection was vast. The staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations. We always take recommendations with a grain of salt but the ones povided by the Corona d'Oro were fine. Around the corner from the holel is the Carlo Rossi restaurant where Robert Grisham wrote part of "The Broker." It is a very good restaurant with a welcoming staff. Bologna itself is a very nice town, albeit with much grafitti. We took the bus tour which lasts an hour and it was very worthwhile. The various museums were quite good and well maintained, something not always the case in Italy. We recommend the hotel and city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2010

Excellent situation within walking distance of all the sights. We arrived in Bologna at 6 am on the overnight sleeper from Paris. We decided to walk into town - just under 15 minutes with our wheelie bags. Our room was immediately available and after unpacking and a bath we were sight seeing by 10.00 am. The room was large and clean and so, so quiet. The air con worked! . The bathroom was large and well appointed.The bed was very comfortable - easily one of the best sleeps I've had in a foreign hotel. Breakfast items were plentiful - but remember, you don't go to Italy for their breakfast- it's not really a meal that they do, so you might be disappointed. We thought it was fine. We went to Italy to enjoy the restaurants. What made this hotel special was the helpfulness of the staff. The early check in; helping us arrange the room for day use on the day we left- the sleeper didn't leave til 10.30pm; putting our foodie souvenir products in the hotel fridge until our departure- their idea , not ours. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Navigating the narrow streets of old Bologna is quite a challenge, but once you arrive at this hotel you will only need comfortable walking shoes as it is in the perfect location in the center of everything. The hotel is quite luxurioius, the bathroom spacious, but the bedroom relatively small. Breakfast was very good too. A bit expensive, but delightful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed8202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Pretty happy with this place - it is expensive for what it is, but this is very central in Bologna.
Room (deluxe double) - high quality, dressing room (small) and nice bathroom. Room could have been bigger for the price.
Very helpful desk with good restaurant reservations, as we had a pretty good idea of where we wanted to eat it was good to get reviews here and elsehwere confirmed by the concierge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dahlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foster city, Californa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This is a beautiful hotel, and in a great location. Parking is convenient although quite expensive ($40/night). I communicated via email about the type of room double vs deluxe and was told that deluxe was bigger with either a view or a balcony. We were told we were in a deluxe room which had neither and they were very unwilling to do anything about it. One of the woman at the front desk was curt and not very helpful at all. The room was nice but the bathroom shower overflowed onto the bathroom floor and we asked them to please fix it but they never did. If they could provide better service and be honest about the type of room you are booking considering the cost of the hotel, I could recommend it, but given our experience, I'd say find another place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimpardini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
We are sorry for this late reply and we apologize if your last experience at Hotel Corona d’Oro did not meet your expectations and did not satisfied you. In any case we would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Located on a narrow street, just off the main drag in Bologna lies this gem of a hotel. At first when the cab pulled up outside we were skeptical but once you enter the lobby, all that vanished. It's absolutely gorgeous and so well-maintained! From check-in to check-out, the hotel staff could not have been more hospitable and friendly. They made restaurant recommendations and reservations as well as provided us with transportation for the train we were taking to Verona.
The room was charming - with a huge bathroom! We had a nice balcony with a table and two chairs which was perfect for catching the late afternoon sun. The room was very well appointed. Loved it!
The breakfast room, though located in the basement was also outstanding! So much detail went into the decor. The food was both pleasing to the eye and delicious!! Molto buono!!
Location was great. Very walkable to most of the major attractions. Highly recommend the free walking tour offered by the hotel on Sundays. It's 2 hours well-spent!
We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele P, Direttore at Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890, responded to this review, January 27, 2017
Thank you for your kind review of the Hotel Corona d’Oro of Bologna.
We would like to inform you that the new Management, since 2015 has renovated part of the Hotel and improved the service.
Therefore we hope to welcome you again for a brand new experience,
My personal best regards

Michele Piazzolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#14 of 103 in Bologna
512 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 103 in Bologna
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890

Property: Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Address: Via Oberdan 12, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#7 Business Hotel in Bologna
#14 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short distance from the two Towers and Piazza Maggiore, in the serene setting of medieval Bologna, you will find the Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890. Its peaceful location, just a hundred meters from the two towers, is the perfect base for your visit to Bologna: its elegant furnishings and magnificent frescoes, together with a staff that is exceptionally attentive to your needs, will make your stay at our Hotel unforgettable. The palazzo, which in the 15th century was the prestigious residence of the noble Azzoguidi family, traces its origins to the 13th century. The hotel takes the visitor on a journey through various stylistic and architectural eras: from the magical art deco in the lobby, back to the frescoes of coats of arms and landscapes from the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries, and back still further to the medieval severity of the coffered ceilings which adorn the Azzoguidi conference hall and the stately portico outside. The thoroughly renovated Hotel Corona d'Oro provides upscale amenities that ensure a luxurious and comfortable stay, fitting for even the most discerning of guests. It also offers first-class suites and spaces for conferences, meetings, and exhibitions, all of which feature independent access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Corona d`Oro Hotel Bologna
Art Corona d Oro Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing