We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Option in Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel Carlton
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Option in Convenient Location”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at the Royal Carlton in March and overall had a nice stay. The hotel itself is clean, well-maintained and has a friendly, helpful staff. There is a huge lobby area with nice bar. The rooms are spacious enough (some with a balcony), clean and have comfortable beds. Location is good and within a 5 minute walk of the train terminal. The only downside is the expensive WiFi charge. During this trip to Italy we stayed in three other hotels and Royal Carlton was the only one charging for WiFi - I do think the hotel should reconsider this especially since it's frequented by business travelers who expect and need access in this day and age. Overall, would stay again gladly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    333
    77
    19
    15
See reviews for
55
164
34
407
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here with my Husband last Summer whilst he was visiting Bologna for business. First impressions of the hotel were very good. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the bar staff. I didn't feel that the reception staff were 'snobish' as previous visitor found and were very patient with my apallingly limited Italian :)

Our room was well appointed, with a balcony looking out over the front of the hotel. The air conditioning was very welcome! The room was a good size and had an additional small seating area (as well as the usual desk area).

Breakfast was buffet style and provided a very wide choice. The bar area was very pleasant for drink before going out and their snack platters were very good indeed.

The hotel is within easy walking distance to the shopping area and close to the bus route that takes you to the airport. All in all very good and we would stay again if returning to Bologna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
286 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by a company I was visiting. There are a couple of the Monrif Hotels in Bologna (Hotel Internazionale is also a Monrif Hotel).
The reception is discreet and effective on the verge of being slightly snobbish, but none the less very helpful. The hotel is large, with a large lobby, combined with the decor in the corridors made you think of past glory of imperial hotels in the late thirties.
The room had a fair size, which is uncommon in city centers in Italy, unless you go for an American chain hotel. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was big and with all necessary amenities.
The location is conveniently located quite near the city center and the railway station, it'll be only 6-7 minutes before you're on the town hall square and can enjoy the busy Bologna.
At first I thought there were only italian TV-channels, but the sky remote gave you access to an abundance of english language channels.
Wifi was redicously expensive, so I ended of just syncing my e-mails on my laptop using my cellphone as a hot spot - and from the bill received back home I could see that this was indeed cheaper.
Shops are just round the corner in about every direction, so you'll not miss anything. Jjust out of the hotel to the right and cross the next street is a ell-stocked Coop, if you need something to drink and eat. An bear in mind that the minibar is the self-controlling type. I shifted a can of chips to make room for a beer, and was asked the following morning if I really had it or just had shifted it.
Breakfast is fine with a lot of different selections and can make you go almost through until dinnertime.
All in all I will recommend this hotel, since the rooms are fairly large and well designed, and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is a four star hotel with a good location for walking to the main street of Bologna. We could walk from the hotel to the shopping street (Inependency Street) where many stores and tourist sites are located. The breakfast was good and had a nice assortment. Front staff is abit snobish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longnor UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good slightly old fashioned hotel with excellent standards and comforts. Location is very convenient both for the railway station and central Bologna - almost everything can be done on foot. We ended up with an upgrade but twin beds - which was fine.
2 negatives the wifi is expensive and the restaurant overpriced

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AileeLongnoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A great location and decor. Easy walking distance from the Via indipendenza and the major piazze. A really good feature for English speakers is the TV system where for most of the US programmes, you can press "i" on the sky remote then select original language. I've not seen this feature before.

Restaurant exceptional but very rich food in opulent settings. Great breakfast buffet

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_Travelling117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just slightly off the beaten track, this is a nice quiet hotel with old fashioned standards. All the staff were polite and helpful and you had everything you needed. Our room was a twin room where both beds were a decent size and comfortable. The room was large and airy with armchairs, desk and large tv. We had a large balcony overlooking the front of the hotel which was ideal. The buffet breakfast was reasonable and fresh, and you could find more than enough to eat and drink. The hotel was all armchairs, sofas and thick carpet which just made you feel at home. The price was reasonable for our stay over New Year 2012/13. The drinks in the bar were expensive but you did get very good measures, so we always started our night out with a couple of "stiff" ones before we left.
If you want a decent hotel with a bit of comfort and are willing to pay for it - look no further.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeP290550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Starhotels Excelsior
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,600 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
839 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,366 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Carlton

Property: Royal Hotel Carlton
Address: Via Montebello 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#13 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Business Hotel in Bologna
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing