We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a business trip in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Carlton
Ranked #19 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel looks to be in a very good condition despite the fact that it was built in 1965.
Also it is well positioned in the center of town nearby shooping areas and also close to some good restaurants ; here , I can recommend ristorante Montegrappa ( da Nello )

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deary2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 796 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed for business in this bolognese hotel just 2 blocks away from via della Indiependenza, the main street in Bologna. Clean and well maintained rooms in a modern building with a Clarins Spa in the hotel. Definitely recommend, excellent value, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Smith_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Everything was perfect starting from my room till breakfast (big variety - Good quality foods) - The dinner at the Restaurant was nice and there is a huge gamma of drinks and wines to select.
I would like to note that the Wi-Fi internet connection is not free of charge even for the guests of teh hotel. You should buy a voucher at least for 1 hour at 5 euros!!!

Room Tip: I stay there only for 1 night but from my short experience, i suggest to ask for a room close to ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgos1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is very ok, but what is lacking are international TV channels My room (634) only had Italian channels, not even one English or other foreign language channel. In addition internet connection is charged at 10 € per day. These should not be issues for a 4**** hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kphammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Clean room but no free Internet acces in 4 stars hotel? Poor free tv programs, nice stuff

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mircapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our superior room (549) was clean, spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom wasn't as big as I expected to be in a 4 stars hotel but anyhow it was ok.
The hotel has a huge lobby, a bar, a restaurant and a dedicated breakfast area, it is located near the railway station and the historic center of Bologna (piazza Maggiore is 5 minutes by foot), a bliss if you want to visit the town.

We had a nice dinner at the hotel's restaurant (called NeoClassico), the staff has been very nice and caring, the food was delicious and the wine lists (they have two of them) were wide and included half bottles, even though they do not have any wine by the glass.

The breakfast buffet has a great variety of choices, includes three fresh juices (orange, grapefruit and pineapple), fresh fruit and the usual sweet and salty stuff, remarkable.

The only spot I have to report is about the parking, I discovered during the check out that I had to pay 18 euros for leaving my car less than 24 hours in the hotel parking. Being a four stars hotel I expected this service to be included in the cost of the room, at least I would have appreciated to be informed beforehand about this additional fee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed 1 night for business. No iron in rooms and no iron in hotel ! Only option to send out to laundry service - bit hard if you arrive late in the evening after 30 hours of travel.
Room was clean, well appointed and good size.
Paid for the internet ! - very slow in foyer, intermittantly poor in rooms.
If staying in Bologna - would try another hotel first.

Room Tip: Suggest bring your own iron
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,465 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Excelsior
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,699 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
909 reviews
Hotel Internazionale
#27 of 102 in Bologna
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Carlton

Address: Via Montebello 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#13 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Business Hotel in Bologna
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $144 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing