We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business and vacation option in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Hotel Carlton
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed for business in this bolognese hotel just 2 blocks away from via della Indiependenza, the main street in Bologna. Clean and well maintained rooms in a modern building with a Clarins Spa in the hotel. Definitely recommend, excellent value, breakfast included.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Smith_2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 825 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2011

Everything was perfect starting from my room till breakfast (big variety - Good quality foods) - The dinner at the Restaurant was nice and there is a huge gamma of drinks and wines to select.
I would like to note that the Wi-Fi internet connection is not free of charge even for the guests of teh hotel. You should buy a voucher at least for 1 hour at 5 euros!!!

Room Tip: I stay there only for 1 night but from my short experience, i suggest to ask for a room close to ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giorgos1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is very ok, but what is lacking are international TV channels My room (634) only had Italian channels, not even one English or other foreign language channel. In addition internet connection is charged at 10 € per day. These should not be issues for a 4**** hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kphammes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Clean room but no free Internet acces in 4 stars hotel? Poor free tv programs, nice stuff

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mircapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our superior room (549) was clean, spacious and nicely decorated, the bathroom wasn't as big as I expected to be in a 4 stars hotel but anyhow it was ok.
The hotel has a huge lobby, a bar, a restaurant and a dedicated breakfast area, it is located near the railway station and the historic center of Bologna (piazza Maggiore is 5 minutes by foot), a bliss if you want to visit the town.

We had a nice dinner at the hotel's restaurant (called NeoClassico), the staff has been very nice and caring, the food was delicious and the wine lists (they have two of them) were wide and included half bottles, even though they do not have any wine by the glass.

The breakfast buffet has a great variety of choices, includes three fresh juices (orange, grapefruit and pineapple), fresh fruit and the usual sweet and salty stuff, remarkable.

The only spot I have to report is about the parking, I discovered during the check out that I had to pay 18 euros for leaving my car less than 24 hours in the hotel parking. Being a four stars hotel I expected this service to be included in the cost of the room, at least I would have appreciated to be informed beforehand about this additional fee.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceccoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed 1 night for business. No iron in rooms and no iron in hotel ! Only option to send out to laundry service - bit hard if you arrive late in the evening after 30 hours of travel.
Room was clean, well appointed and good size.
Paid for the internet ! - very slow in foyer, intermittantly poor in rooms.
If staying in Bologna - would try another hotel first.

Room Tip: Suggest bring your own iron
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This seems to be a conference hotel as there are many conferences and expos in Bologna. We stayed for a couple nights just to see the city on the way to Florence. The hotel was very nice. From what I can tell, the prices fluctuate quite a bit with conferences in town. We got what I thought was an excellent rate at 134 euro (even though there seemed to be a big conference at the hotel). For this price I would not hesitate to book. The room itself was very lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was also excellent and included in the rate. The only large negative I would say would be the front desk staff. They were both unfriendly and bordering on rude (I would note that this does not apply for the breakfast staff or bell staff). They seemed as if they were doing me a favour to check me in or answer questions. However, the location is a five minute walk from the train station and 10-12 minutes from the main square. I would recommend this hotel provided you found a decent rate and didn't spend too much time at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.3 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#25 of 102 in Bologna
1,507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Majestic "Gia Baglioni"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#26 of 102 in Bologna
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,754 reviews
1 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Carlton

Address: Via Montebello 8, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#14 Business Hotel in Bologna
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $156 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing