We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Choice”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Well situated between the main rail station and the historic city centre of Bologna, the Internazionale is a very convenient base for tourism and sampling local gastronomy. In fact the airport BLQ Aerobus shuttle (5€ e/w) passes the door, and if you are able to spot or ask for the stop before the final one at the rail station- Arena del Sole Theatre- you will be dropped almost across the street.(Via Independenzia) The walk from the station is only 7-8 mins though, and it's a slightly shorter walk to the impressive main squares of the city centre. So location is a big plus factor with this hotel.

There was a very friendly and efficient front desk and check in, and the room - double for single occupancy- was very comfortable and well appointed. Free Wi Fi in the rooms. However, it was unseasonably hot in Bologna, and the a/c was best described as feeble. I note other reviewers commenting on this so it was not just an issue with my room. The hotel is at a busy intersection, so opening the window, even with a 4th floor room, led to quite loud traffic noise. If this troubles you, ask for an inside room- there is no great street view anyway. The bathroom was on the small side but again well appointed. The bath tub was quite narrow and deep- that might be uncomfortable for more broader built guests! There was no internal noise at all from other rooms- the walls well covered in padded fabric material so it was very pleasant in that respect. A flat screen TV with some free channels (though no operational English speaking ones) plus a pay-per-view Sky box. The room was clean and well maintained.

Breakfast (included) was served from 7am - 10am and was very comprehensive and service was good- used tables cleared quickly and the buffet replenished regularly.

There is a lounge and a bar but with so many excellent options for eating in the vicinity they didn't seem to get much business and there was no atmosphere. Internet access at 30 cents per minute wasn't in demand either.

This is a nice hotel, well located for tourists, and especially if you can get a discounted online deal, a very good four star choice for visiting this interesting historic city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    459
    112
    26
    16
See reviews for
119
366
67
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

The Internazionale is a classic, beautiful hotel - chandeliers in the lobby and lovely furnishings throughout. We found the staff delightful, with good English. The rooms are beautiful - ours had a flat screen tv, sofa, comfortable beds and a spacious marble bathroom. It was also absolutely spotless. The only problem we found was the air conditioning was not very effective, it was still rather warm at night. Our room faced onto the main road but we didn't find traffic noise to be a problem unless we opened the windows. A nice touch is that common areas through the hotel have bowls of (delicious) sweets!

The breakfast is plentiful and delicious - hot and cold - with lovely, efficient staff. Excellent location, less than 10 mins walk to station & about the same into Bologna old town down a great shopping street! A wonderful stay - I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We spent four nights at the Internazionale and cannot say enough good things about it. The room was very nice - spacious and the bath very nice and modern. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel provided a very nice breakfast each day.

The location is terrfic - on the main street through town and a five minute walk from the train station. We thought that this was one of the better values in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This hotel I recomend to everybody. My husband and I were there with our 9 months old baby. We got a big room, beautiful decorated and with a baby crib. The staff were all very helpful and we could at any time have hot water for the baby food, even when the restaurant was closed. Super location with the aerobus stop close to the hotel (Arena del sole). The main street were noisy, but from the room we had, we could not hear any noise at all - even with the window open. That amazed me. Good beds.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norwegian391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

This hotel is a gem. A 10-12 minute walk to train station (at a 47 and 58 year old pace). On one of the main streets through downtown Bologna. Great staff, friendly, courteous and spoke enough English to be very helpful. Room was very very spacious with separate sitting area, huge closet with walled mirrors. Huge marble bath, double sink with jacuzzi tub and enclosed shower. Clean linens daily. 42" new flat screen with the US equivalent of direct TV. Great breakfast daily (including eggs and bacon). We were quite shocked upon entering our room in seeing how large and spacious it wasfor our 5 day stay. Very clean and elegant. Internet was available for a fee.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backpackit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

fantastic, elegant, first class service.
large bathroom, huge bath, very elegant furniture, quiet, soft lights, big flat screen tv with Sky, breakfast with quality food and very attentive and professional waiters.
booking on hotel .com very, very good value for 120€ one room 3 people

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randaragna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

A comfortable, traditionally elegantly (some may say old-fashioned) furnished hotel. Well situated with easy walk to either the railway station or the old city centre. Comfortable beds - linen changed daily - not too green but a nice holiday luxury. Less traffic noise that I would have expected given that we were right on the corner of the two main roads so we were ot disturbed.
Breakfast 6/10 - sadly no panini for most of the time as either public holiday or weekend - do not care for sweet pastries so can not share previous enthusiastic reviews of breakfast although very reasonable orange and grapefruit juices.
Only sllght disadvantage was we found the aircon inadequate but maybe because we were at the end of the line - another couple we spoke to found it too fierce!
All in all though we were very satisfied overall and would use this hotel again if we were to return to the city.

  • Liked — spacious comfortable rooms with good seating area
  • Disliked — Aircon could have been a little more effective
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
758 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,393 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,537 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,476 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing