We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant and relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Internazionale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #26 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Bologna was our stop so we could visit Maranello and the ferrari factory. It turned out to be a fantastic city - gorgeous shopping, lovely buildings, and our hotel was very central. Lovely quality setting. Room was good, and once again we enjoyed wonderful service, especially from Arturo, running the upstairs bar. What a guy!! People like him made our holiday in Italy a joy, and it kept happening to us. Highly recommended stop over a little off the typical tourist stops.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    436
    102
    25
    16
See reviews for
114
338
60
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

5 mins from the station and the square. Traditional, clean, huge room, great breakfast, free wifi..all that you need for a city break. Well above the standard for the price and a real surprise as I was expecting a more basic hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The first good sign was when we ended up being given a deluxe room, having only paid for a standard double! It was a beautiful room, very clean and spacious, odd fabric padded walls though! The hairdryer is pretty dire though, basically just a tiny fan on the end of a long hand-held machine, it took ages to dry hair. We were mostly very disappointed with the lack of a tea/coffee making facility and complimentary biscuits etc. I've never come across a hotel that hasn't offered these in the rooms, but perhaps this is just a UK thing? So the only thing you can do if thirsty/hungry when in your room is to raid the mini-bar, but the prices are obviously very marked-up, and you still can't get a hot drink!

Of course you could use the room service, but we found this to be a bit hit and miss, and unfortunately pretty misleading on once occasion. There is a sheet you can fill in with what breakfast items you'd like for a room service breakfast. It was quite confusing with all the different sections and prices, but we ticked what we wanted and hoped for the best! In the morning we were presented with an utterly groaning table of food, a lot of which we hadn't ordered. I don't know how much extra or not we were charged for that.

Later that night we wanted to order a couple of glasses of champagne and a cheeseboard, as it was my birthday. Room service claimed to be serving until 12am, but when we called around 11.30pm, there was no food left and all we were offered were crisps! And when our 2 glasses of champagne at 8 euros each turned up, it was actually a whole bottle of champagne! It being my birthday my boyfriend said nothing and not to worry about the cost. When it came to paying the final bill the bottle cost 80 euros! This was fine as we could afford it, but I wonder if someone who felt less able to turn down a man turning up with a whole bottle of champagne in a bucket of ice all on a fancy tray could have ended up paying for something they rather they hadn't!?

So, lovely room, just beware of hidden extras and little correlation between what you order and what you get!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pansy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If I could i'd give this 3.5 stars, but didnt think it warranted 4.
Hotel is comfortable and in a good location, price was competitive. Breakfast was good, but in my view not as good a some other reviews say. Room was a very good size (for Italy), though we have some rather funny stains on our fabric wall, and the room just showed a few little signs of being tired.
Would recommend it to others, but nothing overly special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Located on one of the main shopping streets of Bologna and 10 minutes walk from the central station is the Hotel Internazionale. The hotel is very comfortable with nice sized rooms and bathrooms. Importantly the air conditioning worked well, which was important for the daily 90F weather. Via Indipendenza is a nice covered and shaded shopping street, excellent for window-shopping and 15 minutes from the central square. Prices were reasonable and the overall value excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

There was nothing really wrong with this place, location was good, it was mostly clean - a few dodgy grubby marks on the wall - service was fine as much as we asked and breakfast was decent. But...nothing here was great. Nothing would make me say 'you have to stay here'. It was ok, fine etc without ever being more. And the hairdryer in the room is terrible!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank epellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is reasonably well appointed and centrally located, an easy walk from both the train station and central tourist attractions.

However, unlike many other reviewers, I found the service to be offhand and unhelpful. When I arrived with my prepaid voucher organized by my travel agent, the desk clerk could not find my booking, and said I would have to pay for the room again. She said that I had booked it myself via internet, and I told her repeatedly it was booked through an agent (which the voucher clearly stated). I gave her my travel agent's Italian contact number, and while on the phone to them she repeatedly said "booking.com" despite my repeatedly telling her that my booking was not made over the internet. She also said "single room" despite the fact that my voucher stated i had booked a double. Clearly she did not believe me.
Eventually it was sorted out, and with no apology I was given a room key. When I got to the room it was a twin, not a double, so I again had to return to reception and ask for the double I had booked (why a person alone would want 2 single beds is beyond me). This was done somewhat begrudgingly and without apology.

At no stage was I offered a map, or any guidance about bologna. On entering and leaving the hotel during my stay my presence was not even acknowledged. This contrasted starkly with 2 star hotels I have stayed in before and since then.

For me, no amount of marble in the bathroom can make up for the poor service I received from hotel staff. I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#17 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#36 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing