We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed three nights in room 305, which is a deluxe room with the view of the back courtyard and our room was very quiet for such a central hotel. The hotel is a short four block walk from the train station and about double that to the central piazza (Maggiore).

Our room was large and very comfortable. There was a sitting area, a small desk and chair as well as the sleeping area, with comfortable beds. Many hotels we have stayed in would have classified the room as a 'suite'. The bathroom was a decent size, with a full size bath and nice amenities - shame about the old style box hairdryer, which is one of my pet dislikes. The room was clean with fresh huge towels and sheets daily. Bathrobes and slippers were provided. We were delighted that the windows opened, as we prefer fresh air to having the air conditioning on.

Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. Plenty of choice of cereal, yoghurts, juices, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheeses, hard boiled and hot eggs. Coffee/tea was served to order by the friendly staff. The hours of service from 07:00-11:00 were also good.

Staff at the reception and breakfast room were friendly and helpful: Roberto was particularly helpful with restaurant recommendations.

Be aware that wifi is not free: the charge for our three day stay was 24 Euro. Also, the mini bar charges automatically if something is moved, so know what you want if you open the fridge.

We recommend the hotel as it was excellent value, well located and ours was very comfortable, large room.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is very spacious and worth the small additional cost
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Internazionale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 929 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very nice hotel a short way from the train station on via Indepenzia. This is the main street for Central Bologna. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was clean and comfortable. The elevator is a bit small, but this is common in Italy. The location is great for getting to and from the sites of Bologna. I would recommend the hotel. The main drawback is the internet is not free. Only 2 devices per day can hook up to a given number. Get the number and passcode from the front desk. They charge hourly or by the day. Each day you get another number unless stayng more than 3 days. A minor hassle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skidocchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although we originally had a one-night reservation the hotel was able to add an additional night with no problem. We appreciated that service, as well as, the service performed throughout our stay. The room was comfortable with all the amenities. If we had any complaint it would be the shower, which was difficult to control while keeping the water from flooding the bathroom. Of course, since the hotel is located on a busy street, the Via Indipenza, there is street noise. If you are sensitive to night-time noise ask for a quiter room or look elsewhere. The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of pastries, meats, cheeses, breads etc. The hotel location is a short walk from the railway station and in the middle of central Bologna. I would stay at this hotel if ever in Bologna.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scats36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Compared to staff at other hotels we stayed at in Italy, the staff at this hotel were polite but not that friendly. Our bedroom was very basic and sparsely furnished. We even had to request a second bedside table. There was an automatic air freshner dispenser dispensing a light fragrance every 15mins. into our bedroom (uch); we had to request for it to be turned off. Overall, the hotel seemed a little tired, with carpets becoming very worn down, especially on the stairs. There was a daily charge for wifi -that really annoys me. Breafkast was surprisingly good. The best thing about this hotel is its location - a 10 minute walk from the train station, right on the main street of the old town. The hotel was clean and tidy but definitely needs some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Internazionale is easy to locate as a pedestrian with a suitcase, a short walk from the train station. It's near many attractions. Staff is multi-lingual, so American English was not a problem: they were able to point me in the right direction for the University and other places. The room was large, clean, and with a large bathroom. It was serviced promptly no matter when I left and returned. (How do they know?) Excellent array of fresh and cooked items at the breakfast buffet. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Kathy Noltze

Room Tip: Courtyard garden is a good place to meet up with friends or enjoy a quiet moment after an active day...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N0ltze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel was in a good location around a lot of great sights. It was also very clean, but was in need of updating. The thin mattress was not great, nor was the wi-fi. Breakfast was good and the staff at the front desk was very nice and professional.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhsmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,442 reviews
Royal Hotel Carlton
#19 of 102 in Bologna
769 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,655 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#39 of 102 in Bologna
1,598 reviews
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#21 of 102 in Bologna
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $122 - $636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing