We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good location and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Pitesti, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good location and services”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spend 2 days in Bologna in our summer holiday in Italia.

We have stay in Hotel Internzaionale in Bologna and I recommend this hotel.

The hotel is very well located on Via Independenza which is very colse to historic centere and main atraction of Bologna.

The rooms have a very nice desingn was and very confortable, having an excelent bed and plenty on utilities

The breakfast was very rich and the staff was very porfessional.

Only one MINUS: The underground parking of the hotel was expensive - between 15 to 21 euro/day/car - depending of the size of the car.

Nice trip.

Radu Cataniciu -Romania

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radu_cataniciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    460
    113
    27
    16
See reviews for
120
367
68
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent a night at the Internazionale Hotel, choosing it primarily on its location (reasonably near the train station yet within walking distance from the ciy centre). The hotel was absolutely fine - friendly service, comfortable (but a bit old-fashioned) bedroom & decent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is well located, very clean and the breakfast is good. The reception staff are helpful, but not intrusive. There are very few amenities at this hotel. There is only a very small secluded garden at the back of the hotel if you wish to sit outside and there is a bar available, though we never used it and it always seemed to be closed when we passed it. In many 4* hotels we have stayed in, there have been books available that have been left by previous visitors. This is not the case at the Internazionale. There are no fitness/swimming pool available at this hotel, although you can get a free pass from reception to get you into its sister hotel the Royal Carlton, which is situated about a 5 min walk away from town. When we were there, the outside swimming pool was being repaired, so was not available. So the only available facitilty at the Royal Carlton, was the gym suite - which according to our daughter was very good and not used very much.

We got the hotel via Trivago, so we got it for a very competitive price for a triple room .breakfast. The breakfast is good with a variety of fresh fruit, fresh coffee, fresh orange juice, cold meat/cheeses and bacon and scrambled eggs or hard boiled eggs. We found that it was odd that a 4* hotel did not have normal hotel information available - ie breakfast timings (which whilst we stayed there was 7-11 am), emergency information and general information about Bologna. There is no free wifi at the hotel. However our daughter managed to find out that at the Sala Borsa you can use the free wifi for up to 3 hours a day free of charge. There you can also find the wifi hotspots around town - so you can avoid the 5 Euro per hour charge at the hotel.

Places we would recommend worth a visit apart from the usual sites of Bologna, is the church on the Piazza Santo Stefano and the History of Bologna museum which is free to enter and is absolutely fascinating. Another truely lovely place to visit is the Sanctuary of Corpus Domini also known as "Church of the Saint". After you enter the church, half-way down the church on your left hand side there is a door which leads into a inner room which houses the near perfect remains of St Catherine (you may need to ring a bell to enter). There are specific visiting times so you need to check with the Tourist Information Office. The Friday and Saturday market that takes place on the Piazza opposite the hotel is really good.

On eating in Bologna, you need to be weary of the fact that your bill will include an automatic service charge, but in some restaurants they also automatically slap on a service charge. In our case, we got caught once and the two amounted to nearly 15 Euros on top of our food bill which was about 40 Euros. Needless-to-say we did not return to this restaurant which is a pizza restaurant called Victoria situated on Via Righi Augusto. Restaurants we went to which were really good are called Re Enzo and La Mela. Re Enzo is situated on the Via Riva di Reno, which is a 5 min walk away from the hotel and the proprietor is extremely friendly and attentive. Another one is La Mela which is situated off the Piazza Maggiori on the Via de Fusari 5. Tambourini of course is also a favourite for lunch with half portions of pasta for 4.50 Euro and a quarter litre of wine for 2.20 Euros.

One interesting observation is that the people of Bologna actually walk into you on the street, rather than avoid you. We found this unbelieveable at first but you get use to avoidance of body crashes after a while!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 108 which was set up as a triple room, though normally is a twin room. This is ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie24Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The rooms were ok, a bit beaten down, the bathroom was good. The air conditioner did not work 100 per cent, but the staff was very nice. Not sure if i woukd stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ana_and_pedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed there for two nights when on a business trip to the area. The company I visited had booked the hotel, and I found it quite good. It is a bit like so many hotels in Italy, with a décor which is like from a bygone era and an atmosphere like described in A Room with a View.
That being said, the room was very clean and the bed offered excellent sleeping quality. The water has to be turned on in ample time in the morning, as it takes some time for the hot water to reach the shower head.
The room I got faced the garden and was very quiet - but the afternoon sun is straight on that side of the building - so I would guess that during summer the air con will be of good use.
The breakfast is good and varied and the breakfast room is large enough to accommodate many guests. In the evening there is a small bar at the same florr - not very well visitet - which is a shame as the bartender was both knowledgeable and helpful (and could mix a decent Aperol Spritz).
As usual in many countries in Europe the wifi is not free, 10€ for a full day is what you would expect in such a place.
Both check-in and checkout was fast and efficient and the concierge was very helpful in getting me a taxi for the airport (16€ from the hotel).
I liked the place and I would like to stay there again.
You are only 5 minutes walk from the famous towers, the city hall square (which is a lovely place to do crowd watching and enjoy another Aperol Spritz).
There is also an abundance of small restaurants in the vicinity, and as Bologna is a huge university city (actually a very old of the kind) there are many with both excellent food and decent prices. If it looks like the locals go there - this will not be a bad choise.
All in all the stay at Internazionale

Room Tip: Rooms facing south-west takes the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I chose this hotel for a weekend break after reading reviews of other travellers. I'm glad I did. Well located for exploring the historic centre of Bologna as well as other parts of the city, it is on the bus route from the airport and a short walk from the main train and bus station. It was easy to walk to most places of interest in the city.
Our room faced the road but noise wasn't a problem being on the fourth floor. The room and bathroom were clean and the beds very comfortable. The friendly reception staff were helpful with our questions. The inclusive breakfast was good with lots of choice. Plenty of restaurants and shops all within easy walking distance.
I would definitely use it again for a next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flytnyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I found my room spacious, very comfortable and clean. Staff were always courteous and helpful. Breakfast was amazing. I never expected the variety of food on offer and of course I loved being able to start the day with a bit of prosciutto. The garden was also lovely. And it was easy to get around from here; not far from the train station and definitely walkable to downtown (and I get tired easily).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Commercianti
Art Hotel Commercianti
#10 of 103 in Bologna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing