We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a strange take on a Caffe Marocchino”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Eataly

Eataly
Ranked #474 of 1,808 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a strange take on a Caffe Marocchino”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

These folk have a strange take on a Caffe Marocchino. Having had many lovely ones all over Roma, Firenze, Bologna and other places I have a pretty good idea what it should look like.

These folks use a large glass cylinder for the glass, use a running chocolate tap for the lining, a very bitter coffee, them squirty whipped cream topped with powdered cocoa. Interesting but weird.

Service staff, both the lady at the cash register and the man behind the bar, would not win any prizes for pleasantness or helpfulness.

Our visit was on a reasonably busy Monday evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    572
    361
    163
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Every time I go to Bologna I have lunch there.
Great quality of food. Good wine.
The staff usually is nice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eldag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, not very nice service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We went out for light dinner and wine. We are trying different restaurants here in Bologna and so far this one we are putting on the bottom of our rating. The restaurant concept and the food itself are great. The service is not very nice - the waiter was asking my husband two times to change the seat and table, as he was 'sitting uncomfortably on his way'. This is fine, but the tonality was not the most hospitable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
504 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A restaurant inside a library? Eating surrounded by customers looking for a book or a jam? An interesting experience; the first time.
The menu is fine, the crowd international, the prices all rights, but I personally need to sit more comfortably and taste the food in a more homey atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thombly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a tad pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

It’s in a bookshop and that’s fun but don’t expect it to be great. There are a mass of good ingredients on the shelves and in the chilled display cabinets. However it takes more than careful foraging to make great dishes. There is no great skill in the preparation or the presentation here, my guest’s vegetable plate had one cabbage leaf which was yellow with black spots (and that was one of only four!). It’s not entirely the fault of the kitchen – they have to work in a space that’s ill equipped to be a resturant. But, having said that, a fun place for an (expensive) snack or light lunch. The coffee bar does serve some very decent coffee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesA4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Eataly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing