We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tad pretentious”
Review of Eataly

Eataly
Ranked #471 of 1,835 Restaurants in Bologna
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a tad pretentious”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It’s in a bookshop and that’s fun but don’t expect it to be great. There are a mass of good ingredients on the shelves and in the chilled display cabinets. However it takes more than careful foraging to make great dishes. There is no great skill in the preparation or the presentation here, my guest’s vegetable plate had one cabbage leaf which was yellow with black spots (and that was one of only four!). It’s not entirely the fault of the kitchen – they have to work in a space that’s ill equipped to be a resturant. But, having said that, a fun place for an (expensive) snack or light lunch. The coffee bar does serve some very decent coffee.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesA4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    586
    370
    169
    100
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ate here twice”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is the first time I have eaten here. Strange sitting eating meals in a bookshop! Quite unique. After an inspiring delicious and simple lunch we were so impressed that we returned that same evening for dinner. Lunch on the second floor was much nicer than the very limited choice available for dinner (third floor). The staff at lunchtime were fantastic, charming, helpful, smiley. Maybe they were tired but the staff at dinner, on the top floor, were devoid of any character, personality or customer service... very un-Italian. Very busy, and long queues, so they must be doing something right.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal_J_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Bologna!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Two friends and I were in Bologna for the weekend and went to Eataly Bologna for lunch. Be sure and get there at noon, because by 1 pm the place was packed! Great food and wine!!! A true must do experience in Bologna. I cannot wait for the Eataly to open in Chicago in September. I have great friends in Chicago and it will be one of the first places that I want to go. They just moved there from where else......... Italy?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Mixed experience here. My partner had the minestrone which he thought was the best he had ever eaten. My salad was basic as was my main course which as I write this, I don't remember what it was so it was evidently forgettable! Atmosphere is busy at lunch time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like others, we knew about Eataly in NY, and like others, we found it fabulous but overwhelming. We were in Bologna looking for a good plate of taglierini Bolognese and found it here. We ate upstairs (hurry! it fills up fast) among the bottles of balsamic vinegar and packages of pasta and I had one of the best meals of my trip. The dish was ample and delicious and it was just what we needed before heading back out into Touristing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Letterpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Eataly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing