We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Bologna”
Review of Hotel Il Guercino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Guercino
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in Bologna, hotel was well maintained, staff helpful & friendly. Room was what I expected, good bathroom facilities. Staff recommended an excellent restaurant within a few blocks, La Corte dei Ghiottoni. Only drawback was the location, quite a walk to the city center. Having said that, it is quite convenient to the train station which is what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is good, but the bathroom is not. Despite beeing a renovated bathroom, the shower stall is very small and the water was never really hot.The breakfast is very good, worth the money. The hotel is very close to the train station but outside the city center. There aren't many options of restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for my Mum's 50th birthday.

The triple room was a good size, very clean and had a small mini bar/teas/coffees and a safe. It also had a window overlooking a lovely little courtyard. Beds were really comfortable.

Staff in the hotel were so helpful and friendly at all times making the hotel a real pleasure to stay in.

Breakfast which was included in the room cost was excellent and had a wide variety of delicious foods in a beautiful setting.

We also booked the spa facilities which was a real treat and perfect way to spend couple of hours after walking around the city.

Great location too.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the Il Guercino from April 8-10 and really couldn't fault this hotel. It is set in a secluded courtyard yet still just a very easy walk to Bologna Central station. It took us around 15 minutes to walk to the Piazza Maggiore and the Two Towers.
Our room was very well maintained and nicely decorated (we were upgraded to a suite when our room wasn't ready at the time of our agreed early check-in) and the staff were without exception friendly, helpful and professional.
Breakfast choice was substantial with a choice of sweet, savoury and hot and cold items.
Bologna itself is well worth a visit and if we ever return we would certainly stay at the Il Guercino.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms would be fine. We found the hotel website photographs to be completely repres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazydays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I needed a break from my busy life in London, this hotel was perfect calm and relaxing environment. The staffs are great too considering I don't know a word in Italian, they helped me find good restaurant, shopping centres. It was absolutely great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 103Stella1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is one of the cosiest hotel in Bologna, very appealing from the outside unlike most other hotels which look very severe and unappealing.
This is a hotel run with love, the interior is very homely, the breakfast room just lovely and cute, very clean and delicious breakfast.
We had booked a superior room but it happened to be less superior than we expected and there were problems with leaking water.
But when we reported this to the staff, we got an excellent room, a suite, and a free drink while we were waiting.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.
The location is great if you travel by train to other cities in Italy and it's only 20 minutes'walk from the centre.

All in all, thanks everybody from Guercino for our nice stay with you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snezhana v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Reading some of the other reviews, I thought that this would have been a decent hotel. Unfortunately I think the hotel is a story of two halves. The front end appears to look out on a courtyard and has a lift. The second half where we stayed, looks onto other apartments and you have to use stairs which just meant it was a bit of a pain with my overfilled suitcase. However, upon entering the room, we found it very small, a type of room that once you put the suitcase on the floor unopened, you must climb onto the foot of the bed to get into bed. The bathroom was newly remodeled and it had a lighting feature coming through the shower head that, if you turned it to green could make you look like shrek. Very romantic. The down side of the bathroom was the sliding glass door that did not close fully. On the up side it did allow you to have a conversation with your spouse while doing your business.
As far as traffic noise, there was none, which was unfortunate as it might have drowned out the rhythmic groans that were coming through the paper thin walls to the adjoining room.
Other issues with the room, no hanging space for the clothes and no place to put toiletries.
Breakfast that was included with the room was poor and the coffee, how could you fail in Italy, but they did. Staff seemed pleasant enough except the one that worked the later shift.
The one pleasant aspect was the restaurant next to the hotel which was not associated with the hotel but served fantastic regional cuisine.
Maybe the other half of the hotel was better and that is what some people have written about but it may be a coin toss as to whether you get there.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucdc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,465 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#11 of 102 in Bologna
1,434 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,567 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guercino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guercino

Address: Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#20 Family Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $73 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Guercino 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Guercino is a 4 stars Hotel in Bologna, only 250 mt far from Centrale Train Station (high speed terminal - Carracci exit The hotel is divided into 5 types of rooms: Standard rooms, Superior, Superior Jacuzzi rooms, Junior Suite , Family Room, Flower Room, all carefully equipped with minibar, free WiFi, air conditioning, LCD Satellite TV, telephone, Kettle, Fitness Club and bike's use are free of charge. Many of our rooms have private terraces suitable for smokers, or owners of small pets. Its eclectic environment is a perfect combination of old and new and its position allows to reach easily Bologna Fiera, the Historical Centre, the Airport, the Central train Station and the city points of interest. The Hotel offerts a Solarium, an inside private SPA with Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath with chromo therapy, a relaxation area with music and herbal teas, and a charming Breakfast room where is posssible to taste the morning buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Guercino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guercino Hotel
Minotel Bologna
Il Guercino Bologna
Bologna Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing