We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel il Guercino”
Review of Hotel Il Guercino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Guercino
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Well situated within Bologna and not too far from the main railway station and about a 10minute taxi ride from the airport. The staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a reasonable size. The only down side is that there is no laundry service although an iron and ironing board is available to press or iron clothes. Free wifi but connecting was sometimes a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAPZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I do not know whom to blame for spoiled vacation, but certainly not me. After all, I believe that what I saw in the photos. I arrived at the hotel is not for one night, but for 9 nights, and staff would pay attention to it. But they gave me the room with no windows, or rather window opened into a well. It looked like prison. There always was a disgusting smell, never was fresh air. Cigarette smoke enters the room through the ventilation, even though I requested non-smoking room, I'm allergic to cigarette smoke. Wallpaper old, dirty, they had marks of shoes. A blanket covering was old, 20 years old probably. The air conditioning does not work! Internet in the room did not work! Although the site states that the Internet throughout the hotel works. In addition, there was no insulation, walls made of cardboard. In addition, from the well every day could be heard loud music from the barred window. When I asked to change room, the hotel staff went “to solve problem”, the music stopped, but the next days the same thing happened. The breakfasts are very meager and sameley. The area where the hotel is located, just awful, it is dangerous to walk late at night on the street. At least, the hotel is very overpriced. That is exactly not Monaco, even not Paris, but they think that’s it.
What to say good: in the bathroom a more or less normal plumbing and hot water. It's close to train station but not on the right side.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Runedance15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Cosy and hospitable hotel with pleasant and sympathetic personnel and very interesting interior. The only minus - we were there only one night :O). So, next our visit to Bologna we'll stay in Guercino

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Il Guercino is a lovely hotel, 5-10 minutes walk from the train station, in the opposite direction to the old town centre. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. Just a bit of a hike into town.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Last week we returned from a long weekend in Bologna. This hotel booked through AA was just perfect for a short break. It is 5 minutes walk from the main station and has good restaurants (recommended by the hotel) and shops also within a 5 minute walk. It is not a fashionable part of town but we felt very safe. It's a good 25 min walk to the centre but there is a good bus service - note that the bus stops move on a Saturday afternoon as the centre becomes a pedestrian precinct.

The rooms were clean and comfortable - we found no English speaking TV - and there was a safe in the wardrobe. Staff were extremely helpful in every way. Just close your eyes to the quirky wallpapers! Breakfast was self service with a very good choice of and good quality of breads, pastries, fresh and canned fruits, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses and cold and cooked meats.

A very good reason to stay here is the excellent next door restaurant -Trattoria di Via Serra. It opened the week we were there and the food was fantastic. The owners have a passion for locally sourced well prepared food and the service is exceptional. Despite it's position in Bologna and it being newly opened we could not get a table on the Saturday night and only just managed to book for the Sunday night. Wines and dishes are not expensive. Make sure you go at least once!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ros s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The great thing about this hotel is its location - about 10 minutes from the railway station and 30 minutes from Piazza Maggiore (depending on your speed of walkign and how crowded the pavements are). It's secure and it's clean. The bath/shower rooms can be very cramped. The hotel is generally quiet, although insulation between rooms is not so good if you have a noisy neighbour. The buffet-style breakfast is 7 euros and is quite good. The coffee (from a machine) is poor. The staff in the breakfast room are jolly and welcoming; the staff on reception are variable - some helpful, others offhand and unhelpful. The rooms are often not made up until 4pm, which makes an afternoon siesta difficult. There's a mini-gym and spa. So, some criticisms and room for improvement but I would recommend it and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was my second stay at Il Guercino. Close to train station and a nice enjoyable walk to Piazza Maggiore. Did not have break fast in the hotel, however there are some good cafeterias in the nearby. Very clean rooms, maybe showers a bit small but nothing to complaint about. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HIBS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,260 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,470 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 102 in Bologna
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,573 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#16 of 102 in Bologna
1,805 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Guercino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Guercino

Address: Via Luigi Serra 7, 40129 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#27 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $71 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Guercino 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Guercino is a 4 stars Hotel in Bologna, only 250 mt far from Centrale Train Station (high speed terminal - Carracci exit The hotel is divided into 5 types of rooms: Standard rooms, Superior, Superior Jacuzzi rooms, Junior Suite , Family Room, Flower Room, all carefully equipped with minibar, free WiFi, air conditioning, LCD Satellite TV, telephone, Kettle, Fitness Club and bike's use are free of charge. Many of our rooms have private terraces suitable for smokers, or owners of small pets. Its eclectic environment is a perfect combination of old and new and its position allows to reach easily Bologna Fiera, the Historical Centre, the Airport, the Central train Station and the city points of interest. The Hotel offerts a Solarium, an inside private SPA with Jacuzzi, Finnish sauna, Turkish bath with chromo therapy, a relaxation area with music and herbal teas, and a charming Breakfast room where is posssible to taste the morning buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Il Guercino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guercino Hotel
Minotel Bologna
Il Guercino Bologna
Bologna Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing