We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Friendly and Caring Hotel in the Centre of Bologna”
Review of Art Hotel Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Orologio
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Very Friendly and Caring Hotel in the Centre of Bologna”
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Having stayed in this hotel every time we visit Bologna since 2001, the friendly service, and care and attention to detail has not changed. As a great value for money hotel located in the centre of Bologna it comes with our recommendation

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    196
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
223
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Booked through Booking.com for 99 euros a night for three nights. We were upgraded to a de-luxe with a beautiful view over the rooftops, lots of room space a very large comfortable bed on the fourth floor. and a well appointed bathroom. The staff were friendly and helpful, eg the restaurant recommendation was excellent value in an atmospheric wood panelled early 2oth century room. The breakfasts had a wide range of choices particularly for sweet and savoury items.
The location could not be closer to the centre of the medieval city. Two bells tolled on the hour from 6am in nearby church towers, but you sleep through the first one or two in the morning depending on how good the night before was enjoying the local food and wines.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EffieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

After spending a week at the Art Hotel Orologio in June, I think it deserves better than its 3-star rating, to me it's much more like a 4-star with great rooms, wonderful service, a fantastic location and one of biggest breakfasts I've seen in an Italian hotel!

I was upgraded to a deluxe room, likely because I was staying for a full week, and was really impressed with the size of the room, which had lovely hardwood floors, pretty fabric covering the walls and a large marble bathroom with the biggest shower I have ever seen in a hotel room anywhere! Lots of power outlets, a large closet with plenty of hangers and a good TV set made the room really comfortable. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch, although I could have done without the bathroom scale! (I learned to ignore it)

Staff were very helpful, especially Sara (one of the managers) who was delightful to deal with. I also appreciated the fact the hotel has a great sitting area with newspapers (including English-language papers) and free Internet, via a very good computer and printer for guest use. Breakfast was very large and varied.

The location is really wonderful, just off of Bologna's main square, Piazza Maggiore. My room looked towards the main square, which is really lively, and the windows are very well -- but not completely -- sound-proofed. My one complaint is that a couple of nights I could hear a bit of noise seeping in from the Piazza Maggiore, but that was easily dealt with by using ear plugs. And when there are large events in the square, the city closes things down by midnight. Anyone as noise-sensitive as me could request a room not facing the front to avoid the issue entirely.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sancee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This is right in the center of the old town. Great location just off the main plaza, near shopping and restaurants. You have to climb up one flight of stairs to get to the elevator, but they will carry your luggage for you. A very nice breakfast room, and good selection of food. We had a really nice room at the hotel, and enjoyed our stay there. The taxi service that they use is very nice--more like a car service, and not anymore expensive than the regular taxi service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We were really looking forwards to staying here. It was described as a boutique hotel. I would say this is an average hotel. The decor is average, acceptable just not very imaginative. The bedroom was acceptable but nothing special (be aware that the clock in the piazza chimes loudly every hour from 6am!!). The breakfast was below average...some of the savoury items looked stale, like they have been wheeled out day after day.
What was not average was the PRICE! We were charged €320 per room (luxury room apparently) per night and I think this is unacceptable for the quality of hotel. There wasn't even a bath in the room. For this price I expect a 5 star hotel not a very average 3 star hotel. So, in summary it was ok but definitely not worth the price!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bearfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My wife and I were traveling by train from Venice on our way to see Florence, but we stopped for an afternoon in Bologna. We liked the city so much, we asked the travel office at the train station to recommend a hotel for one night. They had several suggestions, but we settled on the Orologio.

What a find! We never made it to Florence because we loved the Orologio so much. The room was like a stage set or a painting, everything in perfect taste and proportion, the art works, the furniture, everything. There is an elegant lounge on the first floor, offering local and international newspapers plus an internet-connected computer for residents. Breakfast is not only delicious and varied, it is magnificently presented and the service is both friendly and absolutely correct.

The Orologio is just off the old central square, which contains the magnificent Cathedral, lots of restaurants and shops, plus the city tourist center. We found out about and took advantage of a free english language tour of the city starting from the tourist center.

The price was a little above our budget, but more than worth it. We had to leave to get back to Venice for New Year, but saw them preparing a wonderful celebration in the square. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Its perfect elegance
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tommo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

My husband and I looked long and hard to find a good hotel in Bologna, and decided to splurge on this as we fell in love with the Art Nouveau clock in the pictures! We were so glad we did, as we arrived and were offered an upgrade to a light airy suite with fabulous views of the Square.
The staff were helpful and kind, made fabulous recommendations on restaurants to aid us on our "taste buds on tour", and phoned up reservations for us.
Breakfast was served daily in a delightful salon by helpful and accommodating staff. There was free internet in the lounge off the salon, and a plentiful supply of little snacks to keep you going if another guest was on the computer.
We could not fault this hotel, they even did some laundry for us! Bologna is a fascinating city, and we felt all the more at home with Art Hotel Orologio as our base.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VJCAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
842 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 103 in Bologna
779 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,458 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Property: Art Hotel Orologio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 10, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing