We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now our new favorite hotel in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Orologio to your Saves list
Art Hotel Orologio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre 10, 40126 Bologna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Now our new favorite hotel in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Orologio at the end of February. Our room was charming, had an absolutely beautiful bathroom (with a window!). The bedroom window opened onto the side street, not the little public square, so it was quiet at night even though I always leave the window open a bit. The staff was friendly, breakfast great... and the location absolutely perfect for walking around the historic center of Bologna. We can't wait to stay again... and we hope we can get the same room!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pediatriciancellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima recensione! Certamente, quando tornerete faremo in modo di offrirvi nuovamente la camera in cui avete soggiornato se lo specificate alla Reception al momento della prenotazione. Siamo molto orgogliosi del titolo che avete dato alla vostra recensione: "Ora il nostro nuovo hotel preferito in Italia" ... Un saluto da Piazza Maggiore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    161
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
173
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I lived in Italy and Sicily for five and a half years but that was a long time ago and we always wanted to return for a visit. We had the opportunity to return in May 2014 with our friends and wanted to show them something special. I contacted my friend Sybil Haynes of Dolce Vita Adventures (http://www.dolcevitaadventures.com) and she was able to arrange the accommodations for us at the hotel

From our check-in on the first day of our stay to our final check-out, the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that we would always remember our visit. We had a 7 am tour departure the day after our arrival and the staff provided us with a full buffet breakfast prior to our departure. The breakfast was normally served at 7:00 am but they cheerfully honored our request.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

We would not hesitate to book the hotel for future visits

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima Recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e un ringraziamento anche al Sig. Sybil per averci consigliati! Torni presto a trovarci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

With only one night in which to maximise our time in Bologna we needed somewhere central to stay. We lucked out with a relatively low rate as we were booking quite late and this hotel was perfect location; only a few metres away from Piazza Maggiore and the small streets full of fresh food shops, and a couple of minutes walk to the Two Towers (I recommend climbing the tower for good views of Bologna - there are 400 steps, of which the first 20 or so are quite enclosed and claustrophobic but it opens out after that.)
Everything about the hotel was fine (the room, the breakfast, the staff) but nothing exceptional as such - it's the location that makes this hotel stand out.
If you're going to be in Bologna a while and aren't in such a rush or if you're looking at the full rate, perhaps stay a little further out for a lower cost. Though I would be happy to stay here again and I would recommend it to friends.
The only disappointment was that the hotel used my card to hold the amount of the room, and then charged me when I checked out. But this had the same effect on my card as if they had charged me twice and then refunded one amount 5 days later. Fine in theory but it left me short of Euro in the meantime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPhileasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la sua cortese recensione. Il nostro hotel oltre ad avere una posizione centralissima è anche un hotel molto elegante e con servizi di alto livello. Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square. The breakfast was one of the most amazing speads I've ever seen. Unfortunately we had to leave early for the second night and didn't get to eat it. Definitely try the croissant with pistachio cream! It was nice to have a shared sitting and dining room as my husband was unable to tour the city and I could bring food back for him.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square (we liked r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per il bellissimo commento che ha scritto sull'Art Hotel Orologio e sulla nostra prima colazione a buffet. La prossima volta provi anche la brioche alla crema di nocciola, è squisita!
Un saluto da Piazza Maggiore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Orologico from May 12-15 after I returned from a cruise to Rome. The hotel could not be more central to all the sights in Bologna and is very reasonably priced. I appreciated the fact that the room was very clean and a nice size. Best of all was the view from my window to Piazza Maggiore. The rooms are very colorful but tasteful and they are painted in bright colors. Mine was lime green. The rooms have beautiful wooden floors and marble bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent with cappuccino and multiple choices of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, cereals and delicious cakes and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel and also would encourage a visit to Bologna which is a charming city not yet overrun with tourists, but with great food and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima recensione che ha scritto sul nostro Hotel e anche su Bologna: la nostra città è davvero ricca di storia e piena di bellissimi scorci da scoprire. Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ideally situated just off the main square, Piazza Maggiore, and close to great choice of restaurants in nearby vegetable market streets. Bedrooms are well appointed and breakfasts are excellent. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectortherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e sulla prima colazione a buffet. Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast!

I there in April 2014 and would strongly recommend anyone to go there. Myself, I'd love to go back! The location could not have been better!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Google Translation
Siamo davvero orgogliosi che abbia apprezzato il nostro hotel. Un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,968 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Property: Art Hotel Orologio
Address: Via IV Novembre 10, 40126 Bologna, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing