We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favoloso!”
Review of Art Hotel Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Orologio
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I lived in Italy and Sicily for five and a half years but that was a long time ago and we always wanted to return for a visit. We had the opportunity to return in May 2014 with our friends and wanted to show them something special. I contacted my friend Sybil Haynes of Dolce Vita Adventures (http://www.dolcevitaadventures.com) and she was able to arrange the accommodations for us at the hotel

From our check-in on the first day of our stay to our final check-out, the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that we would always remember our visit. We had a 7 am tour departure the day after our arrival and the staff provided us with a full buffet breakfast prior to our departure. The breakfast was normally served at 7:00 am but they cheerfully honored our request.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

We would not hesitate to book the hotel for future visits

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DickM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima Recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e un ringraziamento anche al Sig. Sybil per averci consigliati! Torni presto a trovarci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 499 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

With only one night in which to maximise our time in Bologna we needed somewhere central to stay. We lucked out with a relatively low rate as we were booking quite late and this hotel was perfect location; only a few metres away from Piazza Maggiore and the small streets full of fresh food shops, and a couple of minutes walk to the Two Towers (I recommend climbing the tower for good views of Bologna - there are 400 steps, of which the first 20 or so are quite enclosed and claustrophobic but it opens out after that.)
Everything about the hotel was fine (the room, the breakfast, the staff) but nothing exceptional as such - it's the location that makes this hotel stand out.
If you're going to be in Bologna a while and aren't in such a rush or if you're looking at the full rate, perhaps stay a little further out for a lower cost. Though I would be happy to stay here again and I would recommend it to friends.
The only disappointment was that the hotel used my card to hold the amount of the room, and then charged me when I checked out. But this had the same effect on my card as if they had charged me twice and then refunded one amount 5 days later. Fine in theory but it left me short of Euro in the meantime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPhileasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la sua cortese recensione. Il nostro hotel oltre ad avere una posizione centralissima è anche un hotel molto elegante e con servizi di alto livello. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square. The breakfast was one of the most amazing speads I've ever seen. Unfortunately we had to leave early for the second night and didn't get to eat it. Definitely try the croissant with pistachio cream! It was nice to have a shared sitting and dining room as my husband was unable to tour the city and I could bring food back for him.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square (we liked r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per il bellissimo commento che ha scritto sull'Art Hotel Orologio e sulla nostra prima colazione a buffet. La prossima volta provi anche la brioche alla crema di nocciola, è squisita!
Un saluto da Piazza Maggiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Orologico from May 12-15 after I returned from a cruise to Rome. The hotel could not be more central to all the sights in Bologna and is very reasonably priced. I appreciated the fact that the room was very clean and a nice size. Best of all was the view from my window to Piazza Maggiore. The rooms are very colorful but tasteful and they are painted in bright colors. Mine was lime green. The rooms have beautiful wooden floors and marble bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent with cappuccino and multiple choices of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, cereals and delicious cakes and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel and also would encourage a visit to Bologna which is a charming city not yet overrun with tourists, but with great food and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione che ha scritto sul nostro Hotel e anche su Bologna: la nostra città è davvero ricca di storia e piena di bellissimi scorci da scoprire. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ideally situated just off the main square, Piazza Maggiore, and close to great choice of restaurants in nearby vegetable market streets. Bedrooms are well appointed and breakfasts are excellent. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectortherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la bella recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e sulla prima colazione a buffet. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast!

I there in April 2014 and would strongly recommend anyone to go there. Myself, I'd love to go back! The location could not have been better!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014
Google Translation

Siamo davvero orgogliosi che abbia apprezzato il nostro hotel. Un saluto dal centro storico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed only for a night, so perfect location to travel around the entire center of Bologna. And parking available very close to property. Clean room and beautiful view - we stayed on the 4th floor facing Palazzo D'Accursio and Piazza Maggiore off to the right. What a beautiful view at night. Breakfast was great as well - very large selection and everything was fresh and high quality. Highly recommend this property.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank ChingoChinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,574 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
554 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
841 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 10, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $119 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing