We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel Orologio
Nearby Hotels
Metropolitan Hotel(Bologna)
$190
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savhotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aemilia Hotel(Bologna)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$132
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Hotel Commercianti(Bologna)
$243
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Touring(Bologna)
$132
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$315
$291
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$397
$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
284
218
32
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
218
32
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squarepiazza maggioreupgraded to a suiteperfect locationfirst floorsmall suitelovely hotelmarble bathroomsister hotelcentre of bolognaflights of stairssitting areapastrieslovely roombuffet breakfastthe ground floorreasonable size
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 542 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

With only one night in which to maximise our time in Bologna we needed somewhere central to stay. We lucked out with a relatively low rate as we were booking quite late and this hotel was perfect location; only a few metres away from Piazza Maggiore and the small streets full of fresh food shops, and a couple of minutes walk to the Two Towers (I recommend climbing the tower for good views of Bologna - there are 400 steps, of which the first 20 or so are quite enclosed and claustrophobic but it opens out after that.)
Everything about the hotel was fine (the room, the breakfast, the staff) but nothing exceptional as such - it's the location that makes this hotel stand out.
If you're going to be in Bologna a while and aren't in such a rush or if you're looking at the full rate, perhaps stay a little further out for a lower cost. Though I would be happy to stay here again and I would recommend it to friends.
The only disappointment was that the hotel used my card to hold the amount of the room, and then charged me when I checked out. But this had the same effect on my card as if they had charged me twice and then refunded one amount 5 days later. Fine in theory but it left me short of Euro in the meantime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPhileasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la sua cortese recensione. Il nostro hotel oltre ad avere una posizione centralissima è anche un hotel molto elegante e con servizi di alto livello. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square. The breakfast was one of the most amazing speads I've ever seen. Unfortunately we had to leave early for the second night and didn't get to eat it. Definitely try the croissant with pistachio cream! It was nice to have a shared sitting and dining room as my husband was unable to tour the city and I could bring food back for him.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms - I would recommend getting one that overlooks the square (we liked room 10). Some have tubs also though, so if that is important to you, check the rooms out first. Room 15 has a tub, but no view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhimsyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per il bellissimo commento che ha scritto sull'Art Hotel Orologio e sulla nostra prima colazione a buffet. La prossima volta provi anche la brioche alla crema di nocciola, è squisita!
Un saluto da Piazza Maggiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Orologico from May 12-15 after I returned from a cruise to Rome. The hotel could not be more central to all the sights in Bologna and is very reasonably priced. I appreciated the fact that the room was very clean and a nice size. Best of all was the view from my window to Piazza Maggiore. The rooms are very colorful but tasteful and they are painted in bright colors. Mine was lime green. The rooms have beautiful wooden floors and marble bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent with cappuccino and multiple choices of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, cereals and delicious cakes and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel and also would encourage a visit to Bologna which is a charming city not yet overrun with tourists, but with great food and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione che ha scritto sul nostro Hotel e anche su Bologna: la nostra città è davvero ricca di storia e piena di bellissimi scorci da scoprire. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ideally situated just off the main square, Piazza Maggiore, and close to great choice of restaurants in nearby vegetable market streets. Bedrooms are well appointed and breakfasts are excellent. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hectortherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la bella recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e sulla prima colazione a buffet. Torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast!

I there in April 2014 and would strongly recommend anyone to go there. Myself, I'd love to go back! The location could not have been better!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014
Google Translation

Siamo davvero orgogliosi che abbia apprezzato il nostro hotel. Un saluto dal centro storico!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews