We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very charming Italian Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Hotel Orologio
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very charming Italian Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Orologico from May 12-15 after I returned from a cruise to Rome. The hotel could not be more central to all the sights in Bologna and is very reasonably priced. I appreciated the fact that the room was very clean and a nice size. Best of all was the view from my window to Piazza Maggiore. The rooms are very colorful but tasteful and they are painted in bright colors. Mine was lime green. The rooms have beautiful wooden floors and marble bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent with cappuccino and multiple choices of meats, breads, cheeses, fruits, cereals and delicious cakes and pastries. I highly recommend this hotel and also would encourage a visit to Bologna which is a charming city not yet overrun with tourists, but with great food and sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima recensione che ha scritto sul nostro Hotel e anche su Bologna: la nostra città è davvero ricca di storia e piena di bellissimi scorci da scoprire. Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    176
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
198
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Ideally situated just off the main square, Piazza Maggiore, and close to great choice of restaurants in nearby vegetable market streets. Bedrooms are well appointed and breakfasts are excellent. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectortherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bella recensione che ha scritto sul nostro hotel e sulla prima colazione a buffet. Torni presto a trovarci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent location, very friendly staff, amazing breakfast!

I there in April 2014 and would strongly recommend anyone to go there. Myself, I'd love to go back! The location could not have been better!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Google Translation
Siamo davvero orgogliosi che abbia apprezzato il nostro hotel. Un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only for a night, so perfect location to travel around the entire center of Bologna. And parking available very close to property. Clean room and beautiful view - we stayed on the 4th floor facing Palazzo D'Accursio and Piazza Maggiore off to the right. What a beautiful view at night. Breakfast was great as well - very large selection and everything was fresh and high quality. Highly recommend this property.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChingoChinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in January, we were met on arrival at the Hotel by friendly staff and were given a lovely room overlooking the Piazza. The room was a large room with windows opening onto the view which the Hotel is in a little side street very close by the main Piazza.The room was both comfortable and quiet with windows that shut out the noise from the Piazza. The bathroom was of a generous size with good quality bathroom soaps,shampoo etc.
The breakfast was one of the best we had in our 6 weeks in Europe, the breakfast room as is all the Hotel designed in true old fashioned Italian style.........which we adore. Beside the breakfast room there is a large sitting room that we often had a Prosecco each evening before heading out for dinner....very comfortable and a great start to the night. Bologna is the food mecca for Northern Italy so you can't miss not having a dining experience of sheer delight...Papperdelle alla Bolognese just to name one .....the Trattoria just around the corner from the hotel serves fabulous Italian dishes in true authentic Trattoria style, not expensive and great choices.
Shopping in Bologna was the very best in Italy ..better then Rome, Florence. The arcades are wonderful to walk along and such stunning architecture we walked every day for 5 hours along the arcades...........a joy. The Art Hotel Orologio is a wonderful comfortable hotel for your stay in Bologna.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room..........and if possible on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiulianaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la bellissima descrizione che ha scritto di Bologna, dei portici di cui andiamo molto orgogliosi e della nostra cucina. E la ringraziamo anche per i complimenti che ha fatto al nostro hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

just an adorable hotel in perfect location for Bologna -- we borrowed the pushbikes and enjoyed a spectacular day sigghtseeing. I loved the old fashioned decor and so close to the shopping precinct and some delicious restaurants just off the piazza. It was wonderful to find a breakfast with more than white rolls, sliced ham, cheese and a yoghurt-- here I enjoyed delicious fresh peaches and great cappucino.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Orologio, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per la splendida recensione che ha scritto. Torni presto a trovarci, un saluto dal centro storico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights and were very happy with the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. Clean, friendly, great breakfast. Bed and linens were very comfortable. The collection of antique clocks was a nice touch. It is steps from "the piazza" with Gianbologna's Neptune and fountain and walkable to all the sights. This was our first time in Bologna- a very beautiful city!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellenwoodoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#11 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#5 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Property: Art Hotel Orologio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 10, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing