We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - Close to the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - Close to the train station”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is just across the street from the train station. Could not be more convenient. It has very clean, spacious rooms. Very comfortable beds.
You can a couple of blocks to main street, and most of the sites.
Breakfast is good as is the service. I would stay there again when in Bologna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havana-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    750
    179
    38
    33
See reviews for
220
585
84
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Bologna is one of our favorite towns in Italy and this hotel is our go to hotel due to the location across from the train station, closeness to the Piazza, restaurants, and shopping. The rooms in the hotel is just tired and old and in need of updating. The restaurant and sitting areas are very nice and that's where we go to read and catch up on email, which is very slow due to just poor wifi. That said, We have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights because it was conveniently located opposite the central railway station. Our room was quiet (as requested) and spacious, but there was a bad carpet stain which should have been dealt with. When the hot water ran out, we were told it was "as hot as it gets", so be aware that only early users get hot water. The furniture in the room was comfortable and of good quality, but the feel downstairs at reception was office-like - grey, functional and characterless. You could have been anywhere in the world - there's not a touch of Italian style.

The railway station locale is grey, grotty and tense - something the hotel can do little about. There's lots of traffic noise, and beggars too. However, the hotel is a useful base for tourists travelling by train to Ferrara and Ravenna, both World Heritage towns.

Breakfast was good - lots of choice, and a cup of coffee made to order.

There are two excellent restaurants within walking distance. One is Trattoria Da Romano: exit the hotel and turn left. Walk straight ahead for about 400m and you're there. It seems to have been around for years: there were local patrons, and no wonder as the food is superb, the very best we had on our entire Italian holiday.

The other excellent restaurant is a pizza place called Il Veliera, on Via Milazzo. Its atmosphere is bustling and its interior unique: model sailing ships adorn the walls. Good prices, great pizza.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked to be able to reach the train station quickly the following morning after arriving in Bologna by plane. Could not get any closer - just a walk across the street. We had booked an upgraded room and it was lovely and spacious. Very clean. Bathroom very large. Large comfortable bed. And a large breakfast to send us off. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We chose to book an upgraded room because of some unsatisfactory reviews we had read on Trip Advisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Arrived just after 10:00 am to book in and leave our luggage - Suzy B at Reception said 'your rom is ready now so you can go up'. Fantastic service as many hotels I've been to won't give you your room on principle until the check in time. We also had some drinks in the bar before and after dinner and the service there from the two guys was exemplary. Easy location, lovely rooms, great staff - what's not to like?

Room Tip: Booked thru booking.com and it was all fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The location is amazing, we were slightly worried about the noise before we left being so close to the station but it was very quiet, with the quadruple glazed windows. The room was very spacious & had everything that we needed. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety, something for everyone, full continental, hot food, fruit ect. All the staff we encountered were lovely and reception were very helpful, check in & out was quick. Hotel was clean and presentable and welcoming to the regular traveller. A very useful part of the hotel is the free computer with internet access that was available in the lobby, a massive bonus for us! Will be returning to Bologna and the Starhotel for another lovely stay.

Room Tip: We choose a room on the Upper floors, great for the views over parts of Bologna & nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. Very pleased, no problems, reception most helpful. Because we arrived early morning our room wasn't ready, no problem, we were checked in & allowed to leave our luggage. On our return later in the day we found it had already been taken to our room! Good service.
The room & bathroom were spacious & clean with all the facilities expected from a 4 star hotel. Soundproofing very good with minimal noise from the corridor & next door room.
Breakfast as mentioned by previous reviewers was very good in a nicely presented area.
It took about 20 mins walk to the main eating & sightseeing area, but being opposite the train station is good if you are thinking of sightseeing further. We went to Parma & Ferrara which we enjoyed.
I would happily recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jensanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#25 of 103 in Bologna
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#39 of 103 in Bologna
1,509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#52 of 103 in Bologna
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 103 in Bologna
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Property: Starhotels Excelsior
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing