We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great breakfast and terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It is maybe not new but comfortable. Stand on the terrace, we can see nice street view in the morning and in the evening. Staffs are friendly there. The cocktail from the bar are great. We can easily find all our visiting point nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
There are newer reviews for Starhotels Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night and was very disappointed. This was the worst hotel we stayed in during our trip. The room reeked of smoke and had not been renovated in some time and looked like it was from the 1980's. The carpet was worn and there were odd spots on the walls. The couch was stained and torn. The internet access was difficult to access and then limited. Breakfast service was poor. Check in and check out took too long.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What do you expect from 4 star hotels?

Gorgeous facilities, high quality and efficiency in many senses, I guess.

This hotel, according to me was poor for the following points:
- mannerism reception staff
- lack of cleanness in the room (dusts and hairs)
- cheap breakfast food
- lazy breakfastroom staff

I think it is wiser to reserve without breakfast, especially if you do not want to wait for 20 minutes for your capuccino. There are a certain number of waiters, but unless you don't ask them for 3 times, they do not serve you a hot drink. In addition, cheap quality coldcuts, cereals, juices and yogurts are not worth tasting. If you just need a cup of coffee and croissant, it is better to opt for many bars outside.

Good luck for your stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtraveller447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The building is located in front of the train station. The hotel is very clean, staff very kind and the brk is at the standard level expected from this kind of hotel category. The room was spacious and the parquet gives a very warm and comfortable feeling since the moment we stepped in. I would definitely come back here in a next visit to Bologna.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank AdrianoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived at night and it was really amazing to get off the short airport bus ride and end at the train station, right across the street from the hotel. Tired travelers had only to walk for a brief minute and there we were. Our room didn't disappoint, at first. It was immaculate. Starched linens, nice amenities (but strangely no conditioner), good quality towels. But then there were the quirks, all of which eventually worked out but why did we have to ask how to plug in our phone charger (and why on earth is it near the tv instead of bedside?). Why didn't the one hour free internet actually work? Why did the house phone have nifty buttons for reaching all the various departments in the hotel, none of which worked. So someone had to come up to our room to show us that it did work.........if you ignored the buttons and dialled 9. Why not put a note by the phone and a sign by the phone charger plug (which looks like all the other plugs but is apparently different). Then the shower! We really tried to be careful but, nonetheless the floor got soaked each and every time. It was also a SOT and the tub is deep so climbing in is a bit of a gymnastic feat. Scary. Breakfast was very nice. Very fresh and delicious. But the service was amateurish.....to be kind. You needed to ask for coffee and a refill was never offered unless you asked. But the crew of young staff were falling all over each other to clear the plates, even if you happened not to be finished. I've never seen so many busboys and girls doing so little and they were all inept. Where's the training? But, the really major issue is that the meal service ends with breakfast. If you should come back to the hotel after a long day's touring there is nowhere to eat, in the hotel or in the neighborhood. And the neighborhood is sketchy.......train station sketchy. So would we stay there again. Not sure. The convenience of the train (which also made getting to our early morning flight simple since we could see the 5 am airport bus pull up and not go out of the lobby until we had to) is a definite plus. I would have liked to give this hotel 5 stars but I just cannot.

Room Tip: we liked our room which face the train station. it was quiet but interesting.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Booked 2 rooms and stayed 1 night here September -13. Very good location near the train station in Bologna. Hotel was clean, however the room was a bit older than in pictures. Our rooms had floor carpets, which we are not overly enthusiastic about. Breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A great location near the train station and close to everything by walking, the hotel is clean, the staff efficient and friendly and the rooms spacious and with great views. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade and staff helped us secure a room at their hotel in Rome where we got another nice upgrade. Aldo S. at the front desk was very helpful, professional and friendly giving us directions and help when we needed it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#26 of 102 in Bologna
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#39 of 102 in Bologna
1,595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 102 in Bologna
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#19 of 102 in Bologna
768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $131 - $528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing