We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to Cle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

2 minute walk to Bologna Centrale which happened to be extremely convenient as we were using this place as a base to travel to Milan and Modena/Maranello. Our room was HUGE with a big bathroom. Breakfast included downstairs which was really convenient and actually saved us 10-15 euro per day, right off the bat. Room included mini bar and fridge, TV, programmable safe, and coffee and tea maker. It's mostly a corporate place for business travelers so the staff are multilingual and everyone was very friendly. Good value at the edge of town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Overall good hotel with professional staff, clean spacious rooms, good restaurant and bar and reasonable prices. The hotel is directly opposite the rail station and a 15 Euro taxi ride from the airport (about 5 miles). There is parking but the entrance is very narrow; ok for the small hatchback but I was thankful I didn’t get an upgrade. For a quick sandwich and beer turn right out of the hotel for one block to a group of small street café.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coughton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Affordable accommodation across from the railway station. Would not recommend bringing a car due to the entrance to parking through two small columns. Staff and breakfast is very good. Rooms seem to be sound proof which allows for good sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall we had a reasonable one night stay the room and bed was very comfortable. The hotel is 15 min walk to the historic city centre and main shopping area.

Not having free internet access in the room was a problem, they did provide 30 min access in the lobby or you could pay for it in the room, this was not clear when we made the booking.

The bathroom had a number of problems which should have been sorted before we were given the room.

When we visited their car park was out of action and we had to drive 750 m to the nearest and then walk back with the cases as there was no where to stop and unload the cases. The charge for the car park was 18 euros for 24 hrs.

Room Tip: Bok a delux as this includes internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roucire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Absolutely fantastic in every respect, from the staff to the pillows. It was hard to leave the room it was so comfortable, stylish, and welcoming--this in the gorgeous and culinary masterpiece that is the city of Bologna. I will also say that it was by far the best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel by far. No doubt that ill be back and I couldn't recommend it more highly. Excellent value as well!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank global_teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location is good as it is in front of train station and airport bus terminal, breakfast is not bad.
Hotel staffs are mostly showing good hospitalities, but you never can trust everything.
Building itself, room, carpet, bus rooms are very old, and can't be satisfied if you stay at many new and more luxury hotels. In spite of good location, wifi and internet access is still not free, and they charge you for the same amount of fee for every single device such as iPad, iPhone, laptop...it is not fair and worth at all for paying US$300 at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfltok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 102 in Bologna
1,702 reviews
0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#22 of 102 in Bologna
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,582 reviews
0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 102 in Bologna
2,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#16 Family Hotel in Bologna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: $104 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing