We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels Excelsior
Ranked #25 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Serra, ES
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Before I stayed in this hotel I was in Venice and Verona so I had the opportunity to compare all the hotels that I stopped by. This hotel was terrible for my girlfriend and I. Room not cleaned , poor breakfast, the receptionist at the front desk were impolite and they charged me mistakenly one extra day and when I realized that and tried to get my money back they just ignored me. I do not recommend this hotel for anybody I was unlucky when I booked this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    761
    184
    39
    33
See reviews for
224
593
85
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

March 14th 2013 - ok - we only stayed the one night but this hotel ticked all the right boxes. We arrived into Bologna Centrale from Milano late morning - a short walk over the road and you are at the Star Excelsior - being only 11.30am we expected not to be able to check in. No problem - a room is ready - checked in in 3 mins and up to a very spacious room on the 2nd floor.We walked around Bologna for what seemed hours but as the rain persisted we came back to the hotel for a glass of wine and a siesta before dinner. The service here is impecable - a great nights sleep - breakfast - included in the 90 euro rate was relaxed and fresh - coffee was perfect. If Bologna Centre is your destination then this is the hotel - Prof D

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet - the front rooms may suffer from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent a few nights at this hotel for business. It is comfortable, very well placed (you simply cross the street and are at the train station). Rooms are large and clean. The two issues I noticed are: first, the parking area is not easily accessible due to a very narrow entrance. Moreover you need to go back and forth from the parking to the hotel reception to get a stamp on the parking bill (wasting some minutes). Second issue: the TV in the room does not have Sky channels (but for a very narrow selection of channels). This is subjective, but personally I would have appreciated to have Sky sport channels available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carnicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My main gripe is that we were given a smoking room with the most awful smell of stale cigarette smoke. Without unpacking we complained at the desk and were told that we should have asked for a non smoking room when we booked in. No replacement room was offered or given. My second gripe is that I was expected to pay for wi-fi access in the room although it was free in the lobby.

This is a typical corporate hotel near the railway station but a moderate walk to the centre of Bologna. Rooms are large but decoration is gloomy and tired. The large bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with friendly and efficient service.

I visited the hotel on a terrific deal but failure to change our room was inexcusable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bastapasta24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for the first 2 days and last day of our trip in Italy. It is in the perfect location as its right across from the railway station and literally a 15 minute walk into the city center. The hotel staff at the check in desk are extremely helpful and nice - they made reservations for 2 very delicious restaurants in Bologna for us on our first night and last night there. The free breakfast is also delicious and the coffee is made to order and so good. The breakfast has everything from eggs, bacon, cheeses, croissants, breads, yogurt, yogurt toppings, fruit, juice, pastry's, etc. We had booked a room with wifi access and the last day of our trip when we returned to Bologna we had booked one without. It was a bit of a pain to go down to the lobby to use the free wifi (its only 30 minute increments of login access) but they let us use it as long as we wanted. I think hotels at this stage in the game should just include free wifi for all so that would be my only suggestion. But other than that I would fully recommend people to stay here during their stay. The beds were comfortable, the room and bathroom were nice and clean and upgraded, and the pictures online are true to what they look like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy/uk/hungary
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

super great location in fornt of the railway station. clean, efficient srvices.
breakfast is rather poor compared to expectations.
wifi free yet a little annoying as you shall log in again every 30 minutes

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaritang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

i'm stayed here several times over the last several years, usually in late december. Staff has always been very helpful, knowledgeable, willing to resolve problems, etc. Rooms are good, worn but still in great shape. breakfast has a wide range of choices, including eggs (scrambled), bacon, cheese, filled croissants, etc. laundry facilities are about 7 blocks away but an easy walk. located next to the train station so it's easy to head to Venice and/or Florence or several other local towns/cities as you wish.

Room Tip: ask about the room your assigned. those in the back look over a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.0 mi away
UNA Hotel Bologna
UNA Hotel Bologna
#26 of 103 in Bologna
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bologna De La Gare
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bologna Centro
Mercure Bologna Centro
#51 of 103 in Bologna
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#18 of 103 in Bologna
758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Excelsior

Property: Starhotels Excelsior
Address: Viale Pietro Pietramellara 51, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#19 Business Hotel in Bologna
#25 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Starhotels Excelsior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Excelsior in Bologna. In this beautiful ancient University city, our contemporary chic hotel is considered to be one of the best. The location opposite the railway station is conveniently close to the Fiera as well as the historical heart. Our Italian style is an alluring combination of clean, fresh interiors throughout the lobby, library and restaurant, and cosy traditional bedrooms.In our city centre Bologna hotel there are 193 rooms and suites; a well-equipped fitness room; lounge and bar for relaxing, Avorio restaurant serving traditional Bolognese food; and five meeting rooms seating up to 380 delegates in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Excelsior Hotel Bologna
Starhotels Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing