We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A perfect choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Staying in Bologna only for a couple of days, we wanted to be central to the city, but found a lot of the very central hotels were quite expensive. The Best Western City hotel was great value and a nice straight 20-30 walk into the centre. It was an easy, straight, safe route, and made us feel less guilty for eating loads of wonderful food once we got there!

The hotel had all the convenience of a well-known branded chain, along with free internet access, often not a given in Italian hotels. (and access to a printer downstairs, which was very handy when we wanted to print off boarding passes before heading to the airport) The desk staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and had just about anything if you needed it - including a sewing kit when I needed to mend my handbag lining.

The room was spacious, with windows that opened onto a very quiet courtyard. The mini-bar had space to store our own food/drink (handy, as there was a supermarket just around the corner) and the bed was large (if a little firm). The bathroom was well-stocked with toiletries, but the shower was a little uncomfortably small (difficult to bend over if you drop something) and there were not shelves or other spots to set your toiletries etc on).

The breakfast was amazing. Although there were scrambled eggs and bacon, these didn't look all that appealing. However, the range of other food was deliciously satisfying! Different kinds of breads and rolls, hams, cheeses, yogurts, fruits, cakes and pastries, and who knew there were so many different kinds of croissants!!

Room Tip: there's a printer at PC at hotel reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    301
    132
    23
    9
See reviews for
99
213
35
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

We only stayed overnight to be able to get to airport by 5 am however we were thrilled when we arrived late night to find this lovely hotel with a REALLY nice bathroom and shower/tub fresh with robes and slippers and towels! The bed was very comfy although it was one of those "joined" king beds. The room was just right and we slept great. The night desk staff was helpful at 4:30Am in helping us with a cab and promptly checking us out.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doubledutch313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at the Bestern Western City Hotel on via Magenta in Bologna for four nights in March 2011. The location was about a 10 minute walk from the train station, which felt great after the long trans-atlantic flight and train from Milan. We loved that there were 2 grocery stores, each about a block from the hotel, for picking up a few snacks, supplies, wine, etc, to enjoy in the room during our stay.
The room itself was: very very clean, much smaller than US hotel rooms- but totally adequate, very warm in the room. In fact, the room had a window which you could open and we slept with it open every night even though it got to the low 30s every night. The fresh air was so nice, and it was so quiet outside.
We walked into Central Bologna in about 15 -20 minutes every time, but buses were readily available just a half block from the hotel. We enjoyed window shopping along the way, taking a new route each time. We never felt unsafe in any way.
The staff spoke limited English, and we didn't speak any Italian, but we did manage to communicate just fine.
The breakfast looked wonderful, but we got a great rate for the room only so didn't use the breakfast bar. It was 9 euros if purchased separately.
CNN international was the only english channel on the tv, and watching QVC in Italian was so much fun!
I would highly recommend this hotel -- just far enough outside of the city center to give you a taste of how the real people of Bologna live, but close enough to enjoy the action whenever you wanted.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAYCEE19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cityhotelbologna, Manager at BEST WESTERN City Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear "KAYCEE19"
thank you very much for your feedback!
We hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Regards,

M.Locatelli
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

The hotel is a good 30min walk from the centre of Bologna but is great value for money, clean, with friendly service and good facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramborao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

One of the cheaper hotels in Bologna, but very good value for money. I stayed with my husband for 6 nights, while attending a conference. I chose the hotel because of its location mid-way between the conference centre and town. It's a good 20-30 minutes walk to the centre of town, and just over 10 mins to the train station. Other reviewers had mentioned a bus, but we enjoyed walking. The room was reasonably generous in size, with a large bathroom. The wifi reception (free) was quite poor in the room at times, and we often checked emails in the reception area. The staff were friendly, and their English was good. The breakfast choice was amazing - pastries galore, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, scrambled eggs and bacon. The staff would make coffee as well. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, although if I was to stay in Bologna purely on holiday, I might try to be closer to town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

I booked my partner and myself into Best Western City Hotel Bologna
based on trip advisor reports which highly rated this hotel.

On arrival the hotel lounge was warm and inviting, with friendly staff, comfortable seating and a nice bar area. However when we went to our room it was smaller than we'd expect for a King size bed, which in fact was two beds pushed together, and it was cold. I asked reception if they could turn the heating on but they said there's an environmental initiative to reduce energy costs controlled by the local council. I wouldn't mind but I paid well over the going rate to stay here because the Trade Fair was in town, e.g. 167 euros for Tuesday night when the normal rate on average is around 80 euros. As for the breakfast, you're better off picking a place of your choice as it's very limited at the hotel and not worth the extra money.

I could not find any evidence that the local council controlled when hotels could turn their heating on.

The air conditioning unit only blew out cold air, so it's great if you're there in the height of summer, but you should be able to set the temperature to whatever you like within reason. We were offered a blanket but we were not cold in bed, the room was cold and you couldn't switch the fan off in the bathroom, which was a bit ironic as they want to save energy.

Considering the hotel is near the Trade Fair, Central Station and City Centre you would have thought it would be ideal for business people. However I wouldn't recommend it for that purpose as you can't get wifi in your room. Funny thing was I could see four other wifi signals (all secure) but not the hotels. Wifi in the lobby area is great but you wouldn't want to discuss your business in public.

In summary:

Positive;
Nice hotel with easy access to the City Centre, i.e. any 27 bus or 20 minute walk.

Negative;
Not suitable for business if you require wifi in your room. Breakfast is poor and very limited. Rooms are cold and smaller than you'd expect, especially if you book a King size.

Overall I would go again but avoid the Trade Fair period, which greatly over inflates the price, and book a double room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

my partner and I stayed at the best western city for 5 nights.Although our expierience was overall good ,there were a couple of things that I felt let the hotel down,ie,the breakfast was poor,(luke-warm water for tea,and powdered eggs for scrambled eggs),although the breakfast was continental,there wasn't a lot of choice.My second gripe was the temperature of our room.We found it very cold.My partner complained,and after 3 days the heating was turned on,but only for a few hours,which made it a little uncomfortable to sit and read etc.we have travelled frequently throughout europe,and have generally found the best western hotels to be excellent value for money,however,because of the trade fair,my partner paid( double the average going rate),but because it was my 50th birthday,we had no choice but to pay it!.On the plus side,the hotel was spotless,in a good location,lovely bedroom,and bathroom,and bedding and towels changed daily.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italiaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Savena
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tower Hotel Bologna
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#23 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN City Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN City Hotel
Address: Via Ambrogio Magenta 10, 40128 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#28 Business Hotel in Bologna
#34 Family Hotel in Bologna
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western City
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing