We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maggiore
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savhotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aemilia Hotel(Bologna)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$478
$376
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$402
$392
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$92
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$195
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
253
340
76
22
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
340
76
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busbusiness tripcity centreclose to the airportstayed only one nightbudget hotelexcellent breakfastclean roomscentral bolognanice hotelospedaletrattoriastation
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 696 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed last night at the Best Western Hotel Maggiore Bologna. The service was excellent and it was nice to be able to talk to someone who understood what I was saying. It was very comfortable and a good nights sleep on great pillows after 2 weeks on the ship on lumpy ones. A wide variety for breakfast and the best cappuccino I have had in Italy.

Room Tip: I had room 18 and found it to be very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelMaggiore, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks a lot Helen!

It's really a great pleasure to read your message!
We are overall happy that you enjoyed your stay and that it was confortable for you.
We hope to see you again soon to drink a capuccino together.

Have a nice day, we wish you all the best for the future.

Best Regards
Angelo e Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel, travelling across Italy. I was very satisfied with the service - people were kind and helpful. Our room was pretty big and tidy. There were everything we needed. The bathroom was very clean and comfortable.
The location of the hotel is perfect - close to the railway station and city centre. By one bus you reach the historic centre of Bologna (the journey lasts about 15 minutes maybe more).
Near is also a supermarket and not expensive restaurants.
I can totally recommend this place to stay in not only for one night.
*You have to pay city tax in the hotel - but it's only 1 euro for a person.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelMaggiore, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thanks a lot for your review !
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at hour hotel and we hope to see you again here soon.
We are doing our best to make our guests feeling "just like home", so we appreciate very much your review!
We would be happy to stay in contact with you, please search for us on twitter and facebook.

Have a nice day and thanks again!

Best Regards

Angelo e Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel was excellent. Much better than a three star. Beautiful decor , good facilities , helpful staff. Little unusual themed objects placed in every common area.
We were getting an early morning flight and were looked after very well at a very early hour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelMaggiore, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Mr. Frank,

thanks so much for your review!
we are really pleased and honoured to had you as guest and we hope to see you again soon in Bologna.
We wish you all the best and we send our best greetings to Ireland to you and your family!
Please, if you have time, you can stay in contact with us within facebook and twitter

Have a nice day and thanks a lot again

Angelo e Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

we stayed for one night at this hotel on May. It was one of the cheapest 4 star hotels in Bologna at that period and we did not mind that it is located 3 km away from center. It was our second visit to Bologna.The center can easily be reached in 10 minutes with the bus and the bus stop is very close.The area is not beautiful or scenic- quite the opposite i would say but it depends on what your priorities are when you travel and the type of hotel you are willing to pay. . We needed a clean room with nice breakfast, free parking and easy access to the city center.Everything was just like that. Moreover, the room offered amenities that some upscale 4 star hotels have: mini bar, working desk, sewing kit, environmentally friendly hotel.The personnel was really kind and helpful and breakfast was more than adequate with a little kids corner!.The decor of the hotel is dated but not worn out, just like 70's...Not my style but it was quite funny!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ioanna31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelMaggiore, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon in Bologna.
We wish you all the best and we invite you to stay in contact with Best Western Hotel Maggiore within our facebook and twitter accounts.

Have a nice day

Best Regards

Angelo e Michele - Best Western Hotel Maggiore Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I cannot understand how this hotel can get 4/5 or even 5/5 in TripAdvisor reviews! If it was not for the friendliness of the staff I would have rated it even one lower than what I'm doing now.
The hotel lays 3km away from the city center in a fairly rough neighbourhood, next to the general hospital on a very busy ring road. So day and night sirens wailing and emergency helicopters landing.
The hotel is outdated, "tastefully decorated" said one reviewer, don't make me laugh. I'm sure the deco was once up-to-date, like somewhere in the 70's. Rooms are small, have no safe and are incredibely hot. Thank God there is airconditioning! ... ow but he hardly cools and it sounds like a drill at work. Let's open the windows then ... Oops forgot about the ring road, the sirens and the helicopters.
To pass the time you can then have a brows on the internet, if it not constantly shutting down that is. Only in the lobby the internet is fair, but also there connection is lost constantly, very annoying!
Forget about going to the gym or restaurant because it isn't there.
Finally; breakfast time ... In the basement, hot, crowded with everyone trying to take something from the three meter display crammed into a corner where only two people can stand at one given time. My goodness I'll be happy when I'm back at home. "Best Western Hotel Maggiore, come a casa" Just like at home? Don't try to insult me please!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Owner at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014
Google Translation

Buona sera Mr. X , visto che non abbiamo il piacere di sapere il nome dell'ospite che abbiamo fatto tanto arrabbiare ! Ovviamente siamo molto dispiaciuti per il suo disappunto ma che dire ..... non abbiamo mai mentito a nessuno e su niente . Siamo una struttura classificata a 3 stelle che compie 50 anni e che , essendo molto amata e curata , porta bene la sua età e viene costantemente aggiornata e migliorata ( come tanti ospiti ci riconoscono ) - Siamo a 3 km dal centro storico , non abbiamo palestra , abbiamo il servizio ristorante dal lunedi al venerdi , la nostra colazione è servita in un locale luminoso e finestrato ed è normalmente molto apprezzata per la qualità e varietà di prodotti , il nostro slogan è "Come a Casa" con tutti i limiti ed i pregi della Casa ( non villa o relais ) .
Se vorrà tornare a trovarci cercheremo di farle cambiare idea , nel frattempo le inviamo un cordiale saluto
Angelo , Paola e la squadra del Best Western Hotel Maggiore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews