We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once inside, lovely hotel!”
Review of Hotel Maggiore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maggiore
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Once inside, lovely hotel!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed only one night, and were a little shocked upon arrival because the area is not very impressive. However, once inside, everything is great:

- the decoration is very tasteful, warm and comfortable
- the hotel aims to be environment friendly, which is very important, for example by using squeeze bottels for soap rather than small packs of toiletries which are often thrown unused
- although the room was small, it was clean, neat and nice, and when we opened the shutters the sunlight poured in and reflected in all the mirrors
- the breakfast was a buffet and very good
- service as expected, nice and quick, without any surprises, and they offer to bring tea/coffee with kettle for free
- finally, location turned out perfect for us, because it has a free parking while the buses to the center are just around the corner, quick and easy, and the hotel even sells tickets if you can't be bothered to go to the shop which is also around the corner (a bit cheaper: €1.30 instead of €1.50)

All by all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Bologna.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agipower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelMaggiore, Proprietario at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, May 21, 2015
Google Translation
Gentilissimo,

grazie mille per la sua graditissima recensione.

Speriamo di riaverla di nuovo presto nostro ospite.

Un cordiale saluto ad ancora grazie

Michele Angelo Paola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    301
    65
    19
    4
See reviews for
114
164
43
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was definitely the smallest I've ever stayed in, but it was very clean, comfortable and air-conditioned (and since this was my first stay in an European hotel, I may have been expecting something more comparable to American accommodations). I was delighted at the friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the staff as I do not speak Italian and was highly stressed since I was travelling alone and the airline lost my luggage. I enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the restaurant the first night, but was not able to repeat the experience since the restaurant apparently didn't keep regular hours (or else I just wasn't able to figure out what they were!) The breakfast was also very good. This hotel is conveniently located near the bus stop which goes downtown. This is not a luxurious hotel, but it is perfect for the budget-conscious traveler and it is obvious that the owners and staff take great pride in providing excellent service and accommodations to their clientele.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

good food for breakfast, even good vegetarian .
good hos[itality
clean rooms
away from maddening crowd , yet near the action
so , good place to stay and if you need to move to venice
good to find a comfortable week end

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsachdev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice hotel, spacious and clean rooms, big bathroom, not far from the city center, well connected by bus, also not far from the airport,free parking, good price. There are some shops nearby, also the bus station, 50-100 m from the hotel, I will recommend it for those who want to visit Bologna and to stay in a decent, clean and comfortable budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a fair number of budget hotels and this was one of the best, if not the best. It was perfectly clean, the staff was helpful and friendly, the location excellent for access to city center and the parking very convenient. The price was terrific and the value was exceptional. We stayed with our two kids and while the room wasn't very large it was perfect for our needs. I would return to this hotel in the future if ever flying out of BLQ given its close proximity and easy access (our flight left at 6 am and given the PAIN at the airport -- huge security line and no mercy for families with kids -- we arrived not a moment too soon!). Great Hotel. Great value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica12631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel looks just like an old block of flats, but then, on the inside is very nice and clean, professional staff, good breakfast; our room was not so large, but considering the money we paid, everything was fair. Good connection with the city center and they have free parking and wifi. Large supermarket just behind, so, I would definetely consider it for my second staying in bologna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeaSatmarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescaEmilia, Direttore at Hotel Maggiore, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review : it is a pleasure to know that our efforts are appreciated from our guests. Best regards and come again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Found with our gps.....clean well-appointed.....very helpful desk clerk!!!! cars in a secure area....local reasonable good restaurant within walking distance. excellent breakfast with fresh fruits,cheeses,meats,eggs, pastries,juices etc. hotel was reasonably priced..

Room Tip: we were on the outskirts of Bologna...tours are offered of city center on certain days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Grand Hotel Elite
#48 of 103 in Bologna
1,197 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Ramada Encore Bologna
#15 of 103 in Bologna
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#21 of 103 in Bologna
1,872 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 103 in Bologna
2,171 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 103 in Bologna
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maggiore

Property: Hotel Maggiore
Address: Via Emilia Ponente 62/3, 40133 Bologna, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Maggiore)
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bologna
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#22 Family Hotel in Bologna
#31 Business Hotel in Bologna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maggiore 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maggiore Bologna is a welcoming place and we deeply take care of our guests. Our aim is to make you "Feel at Home". The slender eight storey building which houses the hotel rises up in a very unusual place, a connection point between the city centre of Bologna and the Emilian productive areas, a lively and hardworking area rich in Italian excellences and multiculturalism. The hotel is in a central location, out of the controlled traffic zone, next to the Ospedale Maggiore, at 1.5 km from the historic centre (easily accessible by bus or by bike), at ten minutes from the airport, the Ducati headquarters, the Unipol Arena centre, next to important companies and important scientific and cultural centres such as the Opificio Golinelli and the MAST. It is easily accessible from the motorway and the main communications routes and we offer a free parking service. Core of our idea of welcoming are the central location, our friendliness and the attention to every detail. As well as wanting you to "Feel at Home", we also commit for a sustainable mobility. Among our facilities you'll find a free parking service, a shuttle service, a bycicle rental service, both for traditional bikes and e-bikes, bus tickets at our reception desk. Finally, we'll be very happy to give you information on events not to be missed and places to see in the city and province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Bologna
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing